Nazeing Brook - Nazeingwood Common
Nazeing Brook rises in several places in this area and flows west towards the River Lee
Post to the west Nazeing Park
The area covered by the common stands on higher ground than the surrounding area. It is said to be managed through a unique arrangement through a 17th settlement. It was originally part of the forest emparked by Waltham Abbey in the 13th. It was also used for pasture with the exclusive rights for Nazeing people living in nominated properties around the area. In the 17th a dispute arose with the lord of the manor and about commons rights. This was settled in 1651 when James Hay, Earl of Carlisle, kept 100 acres for himself but handed another 420 acres to trustees who would act for the tenants who used it, 101 of them that time. This was confirmed by an Act of Parliament under the Protectorate in 1657. In 1778 William Palmer of Nazeing Park promoted an Act of Parliament to regulate the common and from thenceforth trustees preserved the defined rights and commoners were forbidden to sell or let their rights to others. A Pindar was employed whose work is recorded in minute books. By 1876 there were 51 houses in the parish with commons rights and tis continued until 1940, when it was ploughed up for food production. In 1947 Nazeing Wood Act provided that the freeholders of the 101 qualifying properties should continue to be entitled to pasture animals on the common, but that land not required for this could be let for farming, or recreational use, at the discretion of the trustees.