Friday, 24 April 2020

South Norwood


Post to the south Woodside
Post to the east Birkbeck
Post to the north Anerley


Albert Road
This road is the earliest built here, first listed in 1855, and although the Croydon Canal was no longer in use it influenced the alignment of the road. From the junction with Portland Road looking the curve of the road reflects the line of the old canal which was to the north of the houses. It is named after Albert, the Prince Consort.
74-76 Stanleybury. Very large three-storey semis. Built for William Stanley, who moved to 74 in 1867. William Stanley’s works in South Norwood was complimented by his local philanthropy. His site is now a close of modern flats. Accidentally demolished.
67 small trading estate and MOT centre.  At one time this was home to a theatre transport specialist.
St.Mark. This was the first church in the area and is the parish church by G. H. Lewis. The nave was built in 1852 and the church was extended in 1862 and in successive years until 1890. It is in Kentish rag. Pictures show a house with a cross patterned front on the west side of the church and this has been replaced with what looks like a community building from the 1950s.

Apsley Road
Apsley Road Playground. This site was bought by the local authority in 1946 and had been a house. It was laid out as a children’s playground in 1951. An air raid shelter to the rear was demolished in 1973.

Belgrave Road
Estate of local authority blocks behind the High Street

Cambridge Road
Tunnel under the railway to Love Lane

Carmichael Road
48 there is a small workshop behind the house which had on the wall "Richards, Sign Writer, Carriage Painter, Etc.". Richards was here from 1889 as a "Sign Writer and Wheelwright" until the 1930's.

Clifford Road
Railway coal depot. This was on the triangle of land between Portland and Clifford roads and the railway.
1 In the 1970s this was Photo speed Lithographic Ltd and Shown on maps as a Printing Works in the 1970s.  Buildings to the rear may have been those of Coldrey's Steam Bakery in the 1930s, becoming Broomfields in the 1950's. Previously A. Creesy, coachbuilder had the premises from the mid 1880s until the Great War and who made car bodies in 1906.
3 South Norwood Islamic Centre. They are in the workshops to the rear of 1.  In the 1990s a group of local Muslims started looking for a building which would cater for needs of local Muslims, This site was procured in 2000 and the Centre was established soon after as a place of prayer.
19 building shown on maps as St Mark’s Hall, latterly a double glazing business. Now demolished
21-23 Alexandra Hotel. Became an engineering works, the offices and now demolished.
South Norwood Congregational Church. This was a temporary ‘tin tabernacle’ with an adjoining Hall which opened in 1867. . In 1907 it was purchased by the Catholic church. The chapel, a so-called tin tabernacle, and dedicated to St Chad. Later an industrial building was erected here which had a number of uses, including that of a spice mill in the 1930s.  This was demolished around 2010 and there is now a modern block of flats on the site.

Coventry Road
When the road was built in 1860, it was called Victoria Road, to complement the older Albert Road
St. Mark Church of England Primary School.  This is now an ‘academy and part of the Reach2 Academy Trust in the Diocese of Southwark. The school was built in 1969s by the Borough Architect's Department
School building of around 1860, 'vaguely Tudor' with diapered red brick, altered. From map evidence this was in use as the school until the 1960s. There is a plaque on the wall with nothing written on it!
17 Victoria Arms Beer house. This dated from around 1853 and was demolished in 1973. It was a Watney house       
3a Car repair business and panel beater with behind it a building variously used as stables, a smithy, and a Wesleyan chapel.  – The two-storey building is in flint and is a larger building.  It appears to have been in later industrial use as the Acme Button Co...
3 a pair of flint cottages with brick dressings. There is a similar building at 37 Portland Road

Cresswell Road
Morland Nursery. This lay in the middle of the square of roads with an entry in the area of Brierly Close. It was started in the early 1870s by Mr Bause (confusingly the address given then is Portland Road) who had managed a nursery in Anerley and specialised in ferns. It appears to have closed in the 1960s.

Crowther Road
34 South Norwood Primary School. This opened as Station Road School in 1872 but without any boys.  A boys' school opened in a different building to the girls and infants in 1875. The school was reorganised in 1931 and senior pupils went elsewhere. In 1937 new buildings were opened.

Croydon Canal
The canal was authorised in 1801 and ran south from a junction at New Cross with the Grand Surrey Canal to what is now West Croydon Station which is on the canal basin. It was never a success and closed in 1836 and much of the alignment was used by the London & Croydon Railway Company, for the railway between London Bridge and West Croydon station, which is on the site of the canal basin. This included their use of the atmospheric system.
After crossing an almost level area the canal had to cross South Norwood Hill. So as to avoid the need to build locks it had to go round this staying on the 150f contour.   Horses were needed to pull the barges so there had to be a towpath and this ran on the south side of the canal. By 1861 all that was left was a narrow strip of land next to an isolated section of the old canal.

Cumberlow Avenue
The large site at the end of the road, now the Harris ‘Academy’ was originally Pascall’s brickfield and then a dairy farm. It was later purchased by William Stanley for the building of his house, Cumberlow, which was now been demolished
Boyden & Co.  Tile factory. This works was purchased to enable construction of the Harris academy. Previous works here had been a Bottling works and the Cosmo Dental Co., who made acrylic teeth.
Stanley Trade Schools. Now demolished for the ‘academy’.  In the square to the north.
Stanley's Film Club. This was established in 2015 ad Stanley Halls, where it became a weekly community cinema. N 2017 it relocated to the Harris Academy, rebranding as Screen25

Doyle Road
This was previously called Farley Road
36 this was a small nursery run by a florist until the early 1900s.

Eldon Park
The road follows path of the Croydon canal which was filled in 1868. The road name reflects the type of area that was being developed:  exclusive residences tucked away from the main road close to a railway station.  Several lengths of canal bank, which had been lined with trees, survive as property boundaries and there are descendants of some of the original trees.
10 Tobacco factory with land at the rear
Stanley House. Henry Tinsley moved his works here in 1907 and entered into a partnership with another instrument maker named Snell - telegraph apparatus, condensers, standard cells, potentiometers and 'bridges'. Snell however died after one year of the partnership, Henry produced many innovative and pioneering instruments her but in 1916 moved to Werndee Hall.

Goat House Bridge
This bridge is on the A213 leading from Penge/Anerley towards South Norwood. It passes over the Croydon bound railway between Anerley and Norwood Junction.
The name ‘Goat House’ is shown in 1678 on a map as a clearing in the woods. In 1797 here was a farm called Goat House in the Sunnybank area. I the 1860s a hotel was built called Goat House and the bridge took the name
Goat House Bridge Woodland Garden.  On the corner south of the bridge is a garden made up of shrubs found in the Great North Wood. They were planted by local people and the British Trust for Conservation Volunteers (BTCV).

Great North Wood.
The Great North Wood once extended over the high ridge of land between Deptford, Sydenham Hill, Streatham and Selhurst. It supported woodland industry, timber for ship building, charcoal as fuel, bark for dyeing leather and thinnings for baskets, brooms and woven hedges for a rapidly expanding London. The Wood was mainly composed of oak and hornbeam trees, with some ash, hazel and holly. In damper places willows thrived. There are still places where the Wood has recovered such as in parks, peoples' back gardens and along the railway embankments.

Hambrook Road
A footpath at the end leads to a tunnel under the railway going to Marlow Road

Harrington Road
Harrington Road Station. 1998. between Birkbeck and Arena on the Croydon Tramlink
Site of the tram station was once called ‘Blind Corner’.  This is thought to be the site of a small settlement and farm, and there is a widening of the road here where the farmyard was
65-67 Albert Tavern.  On the site of a pub which was bombed.  Cricketing memorabilia

King's Road:
Croydon Canal route would just touch the southern corner of the road
Camille Close is built on some of the alignment of the canal and of its successor railway,
St Marks Mission. Converted into housing
The Croydon canal is thought to have crossed the road where the cottages next to the mission are

Lincoln Road,
The road follows the line of the canal and the trees would have been on the banks of it.  It was filled in in 1868. Several lengths of river bank survived as property boundaries   between the houses.

Love Lane
At one time a through thoroughfare but now a footpath link.After the junction with Waverley Road this continues as footpath to meet a tunnel under the railway going to Cambridge Road
Norwood Spur Railway crossed at the junction with Cambridge Road to where it joined the route from Crystal Palace, this is now the Tramlink. Now Croydon Tramlink Beckenham Junction branch joins the Railtrack line south-west of Birkbeck station and the two systems run adjacent until the tram terminus alongside the main line.
30 Scout hut. “The Den” 23rd Norwood Scouts, formed in 1909. The building is described as a Mission Hall in the 1930s

Manor Road
The triangle of land between the railway and Manor Road is the site of where the Croydon Canal was widened for Norwood Wharf.  It later was a site for railway sidings. It is now the site of houses and flats called Leybourne Court. Manor Road seemed originally to go to the grounds of a big house.  This may have been called Canal House
Jolly Sailor Station.  Just past the junction with Portland Road is the site of the Jolly Sailor Station on the west side of the railway. There were also buildings here connected to the atmospheric railway.  Slightly further up were a group of railway cottages which may have been built for the canal
This was the first station at South Norwood, opened in and was called ‘Jolly Sailor’ but renamed Norwood in 1846. It was about 80 yards to the north of the railway bridge. In 1859 it closed, and replaced by the present station. It was subsequently been demolished
Where the canal crossed the road is the site of three houses. At their rear the canal went through what are now gardens to Sunnycroft Road.  This stretch appears to have had water in it up to the 1890s.
Manor Works. This is now GEN Vent, metalworkers – they make garage doors. This probably sits on the sites of the jolly sailor station and railway cottages.
14 originally Manor Cottage, it was converted into the Liberal and Radical Club in 1890. It became the South Norwood Liberal & Working Men’s Club and was extended in 1900. Now, partly demolished, it is converted to flats
Parking area at the back of the club. Trees along the side of the car park are on the site of the Croydon canal southern bank

Marlow Road
Slight depression in the road may mark the course of a contributory stream to Pool River flowing down from near Goat House Bridge.

Pembury Road
Charles Dickens Court. Retirement housing. This is on the site of Abner Creasey's Coach Building Company – A. Creasey (Locomotors). This had been established as a coach building business in Clifford Road in 1888 and moved to Pembury Road before 1913.

Penge Road
2 Goat House pub. Said to be named after a marking on an old map when goats were kept here. This was the first site on the east side of the road over the bridge after Sunnybank. A Charrington's pub, It was latterly taken over by Fullers and closed in 2004. Demolished.
Croydon Canal route.  The point at which the canal crossed the main road, now Penge Road, is unmarked. The route of the canal then cuts across to the southern corner of King's Road
Goat House Bridge. The bridge makes a severe skew kink in Penge Road. In order to get up South Norwood hill, rather than make a detour like the canal the railway company dug a cutting over 40ft deep.  This meant they had to skew the bridge round at an angle of 30° to shorten its length. Thus they interrupted the original straight road as laid out by the Enclosure Commissioners.
81 Freemasons Tavern. With ornate carriage entry to the rear. Closed in 2003

Portland Road
Portland Road was one of the oldest tracks across Norwood Common. It was retained by the 1800 Enclosure Commissioners and given the name Woodside Road. Portland Road was South Norwood’s main shopping centre until the when the railway station was removed from Portland Road and a new railway station built in 1859 at Norwood Junction Station. The new station changed the commercial centre of South Norwood from Portland Road to the High Street
Croydon Canal Crossing. From the railway going down Portland Road the ground slopes down South Norwood Hill.  Near the railway bridge itself it is flatter and it is here that the canal and the road met. The road crossed the canal on a simple swing bridge standing where the railway line does now.  It was looked after by a canal company employee 'Old Grumble'.
Railway Bridge Rail crossing. When the atmospheric system was installed the road needed to be lowered to get enough headroom.  The London & Croydon Railway was built on an embankment, here and crosses Portland Road above the original canal bed and the road at some height.  The first railway bridge in 1838 was of cast iron, with a span of 20 feet. It is assumed to have carried only the two original tracks but after 1841 it needed to carry in addition trains belonging to the London & Brighton Railway and the South Eastern Railway. It was rebuilt, in 1859 when the station was moved and could then take seven railway tracks. One of these tracks was used only for shunting and was lifted. There were site safety concerns on this and The Board of Trade refused to sanction the erection of any further such bridges from 1883 in addition Croydon Corporation wanted the road widened.  Following another accident a new bridge was built with a span of 42 feet and a footpath was built.
1 Portmanor. This pub was originally called ‘The Signal’ dating from the early 1860s. It was an Allied Brewers pub, later owned by Punch Taverns. It closed following dispute with Punch Taverns over CCTV. The pub was expected to reopen in 2014, it is still closed but has now been demolished
37 This is a shop front on a flint building with some sort of plaque above the cable.  It appears to be a very, very similar building in structure and design to the flint cottages in Coventry Road which connect to a possible chapel.  There seems to be, or to have been, a connection at the rear between them which must date from before 1868.  Is this the entrance to the Wesleyan shown here in directories of the 1860s? The space between the buildings is full of various sheds and other structures.  Some of these seem to have been used at one time by Percy Frostick Percy, for a pianoforte warehouse
44b Regent Cinema. This was between Crowther and Doyle Roads. Initially as the New Electric Theatre it opened in 1911. It had a long passage led to the auditorium which was built at the rear of other buildings. It was closed soon after opening and then reopened again months later. After three years it closed again and reopened after another three years as the Electric Theatre and soon after re-named Mascot Cinema. A few years after that it was La Rosa Cinema, but within a year was back to being the Electric Cinema again.  It closed again two years later and re-opened in 1934 as the Regent Cinema, but closed in 1935.  In the Second World War it became a restaurant and then a kitchen for school meals. In 1963, it was converted into the Socco-Cheta Club with snooker and television. This closed in 2005. Corrugated iron shed
57 Duke of Clarence pub. Closed since 2010 following a drugs raid and losing their licence.  Dated from the 1880s.
89-91 Sullivan’s Scrap Metal. This was founded in 1966. The building was Thomas Jenkins printers in the 1970s
105 London City Mission Hall. The London City Mission first met in Norwood in 1880 in Birchanger Road, latterly in a tent. The Portland Road building was adjacent to ‘The Tent’ and opened in 1889. An extension was later built for a classroom, tea room and for the Girls’ Brigade.
110 The Central Hall Picture Palace.   Opened in 1910, on the corner of Portland Road and Stanger Road. In the late-1930’s, it was became the Central Cinema and in 1953, it was re-named Rex Cinema. It closed in 1956. The building became the Portland Room and more recently a furniture showroom.  It has now been converted into flats.  The prominent tower on the corner of the site is still in place but no longer lit.
167 Gladstone pub. 19th pub which closed in 2008.  It is now in residential use

Railway Lines
In the early 19th as railways using locomotives began to be built promoters put forward a scheme to link Croydon with London. The Croydon Canal was a failure and it was proposed to buy it and to use its course. Meanwhile The South Eastern Railway planned a line to Dover in 1837 which relied on using the proposed London and Croydon line from Norwood making the proposed line a trunk route. The consultant engineer was William Cubitt. In 1837 it was also agreed that The London and Brighton Railway could run a line to Brighton from a junction with the London and Croydon Railway at Norwood. The railway to Norwood opened in 1839 but using the Jolly Sailor station on a site to the north of Norwood Junction.  From 1841 the lines through Norwood were used by both the London and Brighton Railway and from 1842 the South Eastern Railway, but neither of them used the station
Atmospheric Railway. In 1844, the London & Croydon Railway was authorised to lay an additional line next to the existing track to test an atmospheric railway system. For this a pumping station was built at Norwood. The system created a vacuum in a pipe laid between the running rails. A piston in the pipe was attached to the train. The piston and the train were thus propelled towards the pumping station by atmospheric pressure. There were many problems and in 1847, the atmospheric experiment was abandoned.
Flyover. As part of the atmospheric system, the world's first railway flyover,   a wooden structure was built south of Jolly Sailor, to carry the atmospheric line over the steam line.  This appears to have been on the site of the current crossover and thus in the square to the south.
Brighton Main Line. This goes though the station and is the original London to Croydon Route from London Bridge.  However clearly it also takes trains from other places, on lines which have joined the main line at various points up and down the route.
The West End and Crystal Palace Railway. This had originated as a tourist line to Crystal Palace in the 1850s and was extended to Norwood in 1857. It now provides a service to Victoria.
Railway that crosses Penge Road north of Kings Road is the Farnborough Extension of the Norwood Junction-Crystal Palace line of 1857.  It continues from here to Birkbeck Station.
Norwood Spur. This spur left the line from Norwood Junction to London Bridge at a point shortly beyond the station. It ran between the London Bridge bound lines and Manor Road then veering east to Kings Road and covering the area of Camilla close. It met the line running to Birkbeck at Norwood Spur Junction roughly where the tunnel between Cambridge Road and Love Lane runs. It opened in 1862 connected Norwood Junction but had no passenger services after 1917 and closed in 1928. IK continued open with some special trains until 1959 and was not officially closed until 1966. It was lifted in 1969
Marshalling yard. The London and Brighton and South Coast Railway built a marshalling yard south of the station in the 1870s.  It lay on both sides of the line with 30 sidings roped in sixes and eights. In 1934 a Motive power depot with a turntable was added 1935. The yard was used less for freight from the 1980s and the site was eventually used for the Selhurst Depot.
Traction cable depot. This is on the site of the old motive power depot.

Regina Road
This was originally called Queens Road, a short cul-de-sac from Sunny Bank dating from the early 1860s which was extended in 1889 to join up with Lincoln Road.  The road no longer followed the route of the old canal but the Norwood Spur Railway paralleled the curve of the road. Queens Road was renamed Regina Road in 1939 thus keeping the link to complement Albert Road while preventing duplication of road names elsewhere.  Second World War bombing demolished 19th housing on the Goat House site and they were replaced by flats.

South Norwood High Street
(Edith admits that the street numbering here seems to follow a very unusual line)
River Willmore. This stream ran down the hillside to the River Pool, it had various contributory streams. One of these is thought to have started south of Goat House Bridge. And flowed in the direction of Marlow Road.
Harris Academy South Norwood ex-state school sponsored by a carpet salesman. The old school was vacated in 2005 and the whole site was demolished, with the exception of Stanley's original buildings ad should be "refurbish" them in a "sympathetic manner"
Thomas Pascall Brickworks. South Norwood is built on clay, which made it much easier to build a canal which was watertight. Even so, leakage of water from the canal was a constant problem. There were a number of brickworks and the largest was that of Thomas Pascall whose brickfields extended to behind The Albion public house.
24 this was a butchers shop until 1940 with a licensed slaughterhouse at the rear. Cattle were led in through the passage in South Norwood Hill. The slaughterhouse building remains, in other use. The tiled front of the shop where the meat carcases were hung is underneath the front of the current shop
26 Albion pub. Stables and outbuildings remain at the back. There was a fire station here in 1897, either in the stables or on the site of the shops next door.
27 Double-fronted shop. The central entry leads to old dairy buildings behind Welford's Surrey Dairies Ltd. present in 1913.
45 Astoria Cinema. This opened as New Gaiety Cinematograph Theatre in 1921. It had a straight Robert Hope-Jones 2Manual organ. In 1937, it was modernised to look Art Deco by Richard Seifert and was re-named Astoria Cinema. On the front was a half-circular glass tower lit from the inside. It closed in 1957 and became a motor parts store. Later there was a snooker hall and in the 2000’s it became the church of Higher Ground Assembly and the building was David House. It was demolished in 2008 and flats built on the site.
55 The Ship. This opened in 1853, over ten years after the canal closed, but the rear structure of the building appears on canal maps. It was built on the south side of a track way that linked Thomas Pascall's brick-works on the north side of the High Street with the canal wharf. This alleyway survived until the beginning of this century as access to a tile and brick-yard.
57 behind is a builder’s yard created around the old entrance to the Norwood Wharf. The triangle of land on which the coal depot was built was where the canal widened at Norwood Wharf.
The atmospheric station with a pumping engine house was here. This was an early English Gothic design with tall church like chimneys disguised as bell towers and called stalks which also acted as an exhaust vent for air pumped from the propulsion pipe.  Much of this building was transferred to Croydon waterworks where it remains.
59 substantial mid-19th century cottage with the shops added later. The opening to the rear ran down to the canal.
63 this is an inter-war brick building with a balcony and pillars. In the 19th there was a coal depot and small goods yard with two lines from a wagon turntable and sidings running up to the High Street.
64 Jolly Sailor.  . This is first noted in 1810 as the canal opened and it was the 'Jolly Sailor Beer House' on an uninhabited crossroads. They provided overnight stabling for the barge horses and a Tea garden for leisure boats. The original building was to the south of the present one and had a garden sloping down to the canal. ". The present building is about 1868.
Cast iron clock tower. This commemorates Mr. and Mrs, Stanley's Golden wedding. It came from the Croydon clockmakers Gillet and Johnston and was erected in 1907.

South Norwood Hill
Drinking fountain. This in the wall of 25.  It was installed in 1887 for Queen Victoria’s Golden Jubilee. It was made by Whiteheads of Kennington Oval and provided by the Metropolitan Cattle Trough and Drinking Fountain Association. The metal cup was removed in 1946
10 South Norwood Conservative Club.  The club was founded in 1912 and was visited by Winston Churchill and some snooker players. This may originally have been a bank
White Lion Pub. 1826-1871

Stanger Road
Werndee.  A large mansion of the late 19th.
Tinsley Precision Instruments. Tinsley in 1904. In 1904 Henry Tinsley started his business from a workshop at home making resistance boxes and galvanometers. In 1905 he made Weston Standard Cells and in 1907 moved to South Norwood to Eldon Park Road. After successfully manufacturing many new instruments there in 1916 he moved to Werndee Hall where there was space to expand became of military demand for his instruments. After the war the firm continued with many pioneering and innovative instruments. In 1983 the firm moved to the Old Croydon Airport Estate.

Station Road
The rest of Station Road is in the square to the west
A service road which keeps at the higher original level.
Norwood Junction Station.  Opened in 1839 as Jolly Sailor station this lies between East Croydon and Anerley and also Crystal Palace on Southern Rail.  It was originally built on the old main line of South Eastern Railway.  It was also a station on the atmospheric railway. In 1846 the station's name was changed to Norwood and the station moved to the present site. In the 1850s a line was added for trains to Crystal Palace. and later for the Norwood Spur.  There are seven platforms but not all are used.
Subway under the tracks. This said to be the world first use of reinforced concrete as a tunnel lining
Goods shed. Just south of the station forecourt, is the goods shed, built just a few years after the station opened in 1859 . It is now used as railway offices.
Footpath south and along by the railway.  The slightly curved footpath corresponds exactly to the west bank of the canal.

Sunnybank
This road originally led to cottages on the site of what had been called the Goat House on the edge of a common. When the canal was built it curved round the area and later it became known as Frogs Island. Developers renamed it Sunny Bank.
Canal - Although the canal had disappeared by the end of 9th trees from its bank survived as boundaries   .
9-10 a V2 hit the area in 1944 a water-filled crater, and demolishing many houses.

Sunnycroft Road
Canal House. North of Sunnycroft was Canal House which was a big 1840s house with ground covering north of the canal and bounded by Sunnybank and the railway. Owned by Mr. Peacock. An earlier house was nearer Sunnybank and had a pond off the canal. Canal in the grounds of both houses.

Westgate Road
South Norwood Sewage Farm. This was in what is now South Norwood Country Park in a space which would be adjacent to the south east comer of the road. Baldwin Latham designed tr19th sewage farm at South Norwood. South Norwood Irrigation Farm opened in 1865. The fields would lay wet for long periods of time and smelt very bad. . Despite this, the sewage farm was productive. Grass was sold as hay, as were mangold worzels for animal feed. Later improvements to the works included concrete channels, to direct sewage out and over the numerous fields, and later filter beds were built and the irrigation beds abandoned. By 1967 raw sewage treatment ceased at the site and it was no longer used

Sources
Celebrating South Norwood.  LB Croydon
Closed Pubs, Web site
Croydon Canal. Blog site
Friends of South Norwood Country Park. Web site
GLIAS Newsletter
Historic England. Web site
Industrial Archaeology Review
Jackson. London’s Local Railways
London Borough of Croydon. Web site.
London Railway Record.
Norwood Society. Web site
Pevsner. Surrey
Pevsner and Cherry. South London,  
Retracing Canals Croydon to Camberwell
Running Past. Blog
Tinsley. Web site
To Penge, 
What pub. Web sit

Sunday, 19 April 2020

Harlesden Stonebridge


Post to the west Park Royal
Post to the north Stonebridge


Acton Lane
Old substation.  This appears to be a railway electrification related building. Now in use by small business
Harlesden Station This opened in 1912 and lies between Stonebridge Park and Willesden Junction on the Bakerloo Line and also on London Overground into Euston. London North West Railway. The story is however more complicated than that. The first railway station nearby – about 50 yards away – was called Willesden and it was opened in 1841 by the London and Birmingham Railway on what became their main line to Birmingham and beyond. It had wooden platforms beside two tracks, a small wooden ticket office and a coal siding. It closed, reopened in 1844 and closed finally when Willesden Junction station opened half a mile away in 1866. On 15 June 1912 the London North West Railway opened a new station here called Harleston. This was on a ‘new line’ opened between Euston Station and Watford. Five years later the Bakerloo Line also began to use the new line tracks with trains coming from Queens Park as their Watford Extension.  These services run parallel with the West Coast Main line services into Euston.  The station buildings remain as those built in 1912 for the railway service – this is not a station with the styling of much of the London Underground. - Red brick blocks with long station canopies.
Road bridge - a long road bridge   carries Acton Lane across multiple railway tracks
National Grid site.  There are a number of installations on this site which is basically that of the demolished Acton Power Station.
Willesden Substation Site. This is a complex with a deep cable tunnel south to Fulham and a northern tunnel to Gibbons Road. The site supplies a London Underground traction substation and three Network Rail trackside supply points. It is the connection point for the Taylors Lane gas turbine power station
Switchboard. This was built for the now demolished power station in 1965.
Acton Power Station. The first 'A' station was built by the Metropolitan Electric Supply Company in 1899 on a nine acre site. It supplied a wide local area. From 1903 pulverised coal was used. In 1925 it was taken over by the London Power Company.  It had three vertical compound marine type steam engines which drove two-phase 1.5 MW alternators producing electricity at 500 volts, 60Hz.  . Coal was supplied by rail to sidings from the adjacent railway Water from the canal was used in the cooling cycle and then being pumped back. Ownership was transferred to the London Power Company in 1927 and following installation of new plant the final capacity of the station was 155.MW by the time it closed in 1964.    Acton Lane 'B' station, setup in 1950, had three cooling towers which would have been unnecessary at the Thameside sites. .  The turbine-hall had a precast ferroconcrete frame rather than steel which was expensive at the time of construction.  It was one of the last CEGB stations to retain steam railway locomotives to handle incoming coal.  The station closed on 1983 with a generating capacity of 150 MW. One locomotive was preserved at the Foxfield Light Railway, near Stoke-on-Trent called Little Barford it is said to e now at the North Norfolk Railway
The Grange and Grange Farm.  Large house and associated farm, probably l9th century. Eventually taken over by sports facilities and United Biscuits. The farm was the original Lower Place Farm.
Grand Junction Arms. Pub with canal side terrace and a stopping place for passing boats with moorings available. Was a Wells & Young's house, formerly Wells Bought by Young’s in 1939 after leasing since the 19th. .Now says it is the Ram Pub Co.  (i.e. Young’s). What had been a beer house became the ‘Grand Junction and Railway Inn’ in 1861 also sometimes called The Junction Arms.
Canal Bridge. Known locally as ‘The Red Bridge’.
Lancashire Dynamo & Crypto. The Crypto Electrical Company was formed in 1904 and made electrical motors in Bermondsey but by 1908 had moved to Acton Lane, London in 1912. They became associated with the Manchester based  The Lancashire Dynamo and Motor Company in 1919 and in 1932 they  merged as Lancashire Dynamo & Crypto Ltd, They then set up in Axton a works to manufacture and sell food preparation machinery and equipment..By 1967 they were part of AEI. The Acton works was still extant in the 1960s.
141 Anthony Ward Thomas. Removals firm on a very large site. They were set up in the 1980s and remain in business
192 Kings Kitchens. Kitchen planners. Large building here and still in business
194 Beckett Laycock & Watkinson Limited. They were there in the 1930s and were Makers of windows and door fittings for railways, ships, and road vehicles.  As Beclawat Windows the company still exists in Canada.
196 New Screw Works. H. G. W. Newey, Manufacturers of precision turned brass. This firm appears to have been in Acton Lane, probably from the 1930s until at least the 1970s.  The site is now under a trading estate.
186 Polarisers. They made windows, goggles etc incorporating ‘Polaroid – light polarising material’. The current occupants of 186 are Park Royal Office Furniture – but the building could well have been that present in the 1950s when Polarisers were there
184 Utilitas. This was a cleaning works present in the 1930s .Their building is now Frigo.
182 Trevor Howsam. Theatrical costume supplies.
182 Transatlantic Records. This was a British independent record label.  It had been established in 1961, to import of American folk, blues and jazz records. Later they recorded an eclectic mix of British artists. They appear to have been there since at least the 1970s
180 Machine Shop. This is a special effects company Established originally in Acton Vale in 1993
180 Maya Cosmetics. This was Maya House in the 1980s. They seem have made nail varnish.

Barrett’s Green Road
This was originally Acton Lane in the 1890s, but the route of Acton Lane was straightened, by 1915 leaving this as a loop off it.  Barretts Green was a green space on the original line of the road
Lower Place house was a 15th house owned by Sir John Elrington originally Lower Place Farm beside Barrett's Green. Maybe the site of a chapel built by Sir John where Thomas More’s daughters were married in 1525.   Farm land cut by the canal and then the railway. By the end of the 19th century a farm in Acton had become known as Lower Place Farm
Medivance Instruments Ltd. Velopex Medical equipment suppliers, this s a dental equipment specialist company offering dental diagnostic solutions, patient treatment equipment, veterinary diagnostics and portable dentistry products
Park Royal Studios. Photographic Studio Hire & Services
Swan Works Mabie, Todd and Co. manufactured the Swan pen here but were eventually bombed and the works badly damaged
Ambulance Depot. This had links to the Central Middlesex Hospital.
11 Park Lane Group. Shoe manufacturers. Footwear & accessories designed in London since 2000
Lower Place School. Constructed by the local authority in 1915 on a site next to the temporary school. In the 1930s it included a Lower Place School for Mothers. It closed 1977 and was apparently demolished in 1997.
Lower Place Temporary School. This opened in 1902 as a board school and was closed in 1915.
Houses. These were on the south side of the road in 1930s. They were demolished from the 1970s following decisions to- turn the road into an industrial area only
Steps down to the canal towpath from a green area alongside a restaurant near to the junction with Acton Lane.

Canal
This is the Grand Union Canal Paddington Arm. The Grand Union starts in London and ends in Birmingham with arms to places like Leicester, Slough, Aylesbury, and Northampton.  The Paddington branch runs to Paddington in central London leaving the main line of the canal at Bull's Bridge in Hayes. It is a long level pound of 27 miles without locks and is fed by water from the Brent Reservoir (the Welsh Harp, Hendon).
CEGB cable. There is an electric grid cable concealed beneath the concrete slabs of the tow path. It begins at the old power station site here and runs to the East End. The Central Electricity Generating Board used the canal for laying the cable ducts as it provided the most direct route across London as well as easier access for maintenance. The canal water is used in the process of keeping the cable cool.
Waxlow Road Pipe Bridge – this crosses the canal from the area of the McVitie factory
Feeder. Underneath a small bridge, is the canal feeder from the Brent Reservoir,
Harlesden Winding Hole. This is where the feeder stream joins the canal. A winding hole is a place where canal boats could turn round.
Grand Junction Arms Pub. Visitor Moorings
Lower Place Bridge No 9.this carries Acton Lane over the canal and is known locally as ‘The Red Bridge”
Acton Lane Power Station Bridge No 9A
Acton Lane Power Station Bridge No 9B
Transformer station. The Canal bisects the transformer site with associated high level bridges required for cross site cables.
Towpath – this is continuous along the south bank with moored vessels, seating and graffiti.  There are a set of fairly grand steps from Barretts Green road to the tow path. There is also a junction with
Steele Road

Blakemore DrivePrincess Royal Distribution Centre on a long central sidings. One of seven Royal Mail distribution centres which are responsible for handling customer sorted products such as Business Mail. It is the central hub in London for the transport of mail by road and rail. In 1999 there were around 20 train arrivals and departures and about 500 road vehicle trips, and it was handling 12 to 16 million items of post daily. However, although Originally built to integrate the movement of mail between road and rail, it is now mostly used as a road hub

Craven Road
Harlesden Station. This was opened in 1875 by the Midland Railway and was first called as ‘Harrow Road for Stonebridge Park and West Willesden’. . It was built when the road has been straightened in 1855 which meant that it was built fewer than two roads with the same name. It was on the super outer circle; this stretch of which is now the Dudding Hill line.  In 1876 it became Harrow Road for Stonebridge Park and Harlesden; in 1880; with variants in succeeding yeas. It closed in 1888 but was reopened in 1893 and in 1901 it was renamed Harlesden for West Willesden and Stonebridge Park. It closed to passengers in 1902 but the street level station buildings were not demolished until 1960s.  Some platform edges remain, although most were removed when the railway embankment was pinned to stop slippage in 2001. The Platform itself could be seen from Craven Road until the 1960s. The Booking office was used as a car park office.  The Dudding Hill Line remains in use as a goods only line.
Goods sidings.  These were slightly down Craven Road and remained in use for coal deliveries until the 1960s. The former goods office remained until 2010 despite a fire in 2009.

Disraeli Road
All houses pre-Second World War, after the war this road became purely industrial
Premier House.  Luxcrete with a glass bricked head office frontage Timber merchants.
Drakeglen House, Custom fabric and paper print – design it yourself.
Mission of the Good Shepherd. This opened in 1890. It was on the north side of the road, later taken over by Mission Engineering.
Disraeli Road Baths. Built by Willesden Borough Council

Hillside
This is a continuation of Harrow Road and in the past has been known as such.
St Michael and All Angels. Church of England set up from 1876 when mission meetings were held in rented rooms with a permanent Mission room in 1879. The London Diocesan Home Mission provided a new building in 1885 which eventually became a Parish church. Te church was but in 1891 in red brick in late 13th style by Goldie and Child. Various extensions have been made since. The church continues to flourish
Sun Disc. Sculpture on the corner with Brentfield Road. Desi
gned by Guy Paterson and Geraldine Konya. It is a steel circle cut out to show all sorts of shapes, people, animals etc. Installed in 1994
Stonebridge Evangelical Centre.  Originally set up by London City Mission who had had various buildings in the area since 1903. All were replaced in 1972 by a new chapel ere
32 Orange Tree Pub. Closed and demolished. This was a laree double fronted half timbered building.
Bridge Park Hotel. This was the Stonebridge Park Hotel and appears to be closed. It is a mid 19th public house.
Canal feeder.  This waterway crosses the road to the west of the Stonebridge Park hotel.
177 Coach and Horses, The pub included a gymnasium. Rebuilt to the designs of M T Saunders, in brick, render and half timber reopening in summer 1908. Demolished in 2002
Palace of Varieties. In a separate but adjacent building to the Coach and Horses. A building may have been in use as early as 1860, but it opened 1901.  It was rebuilt with the pub in 1908. By 1909 it was a cinema. It was closed by 1922 and was altered later. Later it suffered subdivision, the demolition of the dressing rooms and an alteration to the front. It is now part of a garage, but some elements of the theatre remain to the rear
Stonebridge Recreation Ground.  This opened in 1902 on land that was part of the District Council's Sewage Farm. By 1906 most of the sewage farm belonged to the Council and was laid out for cricket and football plus a playground. During the Second World War a honeycomb of air raid shelters under the ground protected several thousand people. Later entertainments for children were provided and in 1957 an open air theatre was built. Recently New gates designed by local children as part of a summer workshop commemorated community leader, Yetunde Bolaji.
The Pavilion. With National Lottery funding it offers sports hall, artificial grass pitch and floodlit sports pitches.

Lower Place
This is a name for what is now part of Park Royal.  It was named from a large house – or a farm - probably he manor house of East Twyford and marked on maps in the late 18th and early. The name appears to refer to the low-lying situation on marshy ground in the flood plain of the River Brent.

McNichol Drive
Coriander House. Charlie Bingham’s –this is posh ready-meals founded in 1996.
Concept House – this is a site for offices and small business. The gate into the site has a design of hares and shields – was it salvaged from somewhere else?

Milton Avenue
Housing at the west end covers the site of an engineering and other works present until at least the 1880s
Small grass patch with a seat, railings and a view of rubbish bins, apparently managed by London and Quadrant.
W.J.Bond, Cabinet makers – making ‘gramophone’ cabinets. They had been on site since 1920 and remained into the 1940s.
G.Blunt, Library furniture manufacture. 1920s.
Canal feeder. This stream crosses the road from the west side of Johnson Road and runs to the railway over a section of landscaped grass
The western end of the road continues as a footpath to Stonebridge Recreation Ground.  It passes alongside school buildings

Mordaunt Road
This area redeveloped since 1994 recreating the street pattern of the original early 20th housing on the site. This had been replaced by the 1960s Stonebridge Estate, now demolished

Morlands Gardens
Altamira. This is a 19th rustic villa in the Italianate style by Henry Edward Kendall Jr built in 1876. After the Great War it was too big for a family home. By 1926 it was the Services Rendered Club (aka the Altamira Working Man’s Club), with ground floor extensions to enlarge the bar and other facilities. In 1994 it became the Stonebridge Centre for Adult Education, and now Brent Start. There are plans to demolish it and build flats and a smaller education centre.

Oliver Road
This road contains a large gated trading estate which appears to have been built on land which was allotments until at least the 1970s.

Railway lines
London and Birmingham Railway. This opened here in 1837 from Euston.  The route from Euston is currently the southern section of the West Coast main line.  The first station at the site was called Willesden and was opened in 1841 and closed in 1866.  This important line connects London with many major cities of England, Wales and Scotland. It is one of the busiest railway routes in Europe carrying both intercity and suburban passengers and freight.  It is the main rail freight corridor linking to the Channel Tunnel and is thus a strategic European route
London and North Western Railway. This line opened here in 1912. It is currently managed by the Bakerloo Line on London Underground. Originally new electrified tracks were built alongside its existing main line between Watford and Kilburn by what was by then the London and North West Railway. The lines between Willesden Junction and Watford opened 1912 - 1913, together with new stations including Harlesden. Bakerloo Tube services were extended there to Willesden in 1915 and from 1917; the tube service was extended to Watford Junction using these lines.
Princess Royal distribution Centre on long central sidings
Willesden Brent sidings are a marshalling yard and stabling on the eastern side of the West Coast Main Line between Stonebridge Park and Harlesden Stations on the Watford and Bakerloo Lines. London and North Western Railway sidings, built between 1873 and 1894. Willesden F sidings to the south
Siding to McVities factory off to the south and a siding to what was Acton Power Station.
Dudding Hill Line.  This runs north/south on the eastern edge of this square and is not connected to the through east/west lines or to Harlesden Station. A previous Harlesden Station on the line is ling closed. The line runs between Acton and Cricklewood. It has no scheduled passenger service, no stations, and is not electrified. It is used for freight only. It opened in 1868 as the Midland and South Western Junction Railway. There was a sidings to Acton power station

Shakespeare Avenue
Stonebridge Primary School, this is an early 20th board school, in a Queen Anne style.  There have been some additions since and there are also small workshop outbuildings.  It was also once known as Stonebridge County Primary School. It opened in 1900 as a board school for boys, girls and infants. It was reorganised in 1932 and again in. 1955. The building were modernised and extended in 1978.
Day Centre to the main school
London Welsh School. Ysgol Gymraeg Llundain. The London Welsh School's origins were language classes in 1955 for which a dedicated school was set up two years later. In 2000 the London Welsh School was to leave the Welsh Chapel in Willesden but were relocated in the annex of a primary school. In 2015 the school moved to Hanwell.

Stonebridge Park Estate
Developed by the architect H.E. Kendall Jr. between 1872 and 1876, to provide “smart new villas for City men”.  About sixty villas were built around the nearby station n Craven Park, on the Midland and South-Western Junction railway, which opened in 1875.

Steele Road
At the northern end of the road it joins the canal towpath.
Lower Place Business Centre
Children’s home built c.1915

Stonebridge Park,
Canal side Industrial Estate.  Many of the factories bordering on the canal have canal side terraces.

Waxlow Road
Mcvities. McVitie's is owned by United Biscuits. The name derives from the original Scottish biscuit maker, McVitie & Price, established in 1830 in Edinburgh. They later developed large manufacturing plants south of the border, including Harlesden opened in 1902 and originally called the Edinburgh Biscuit Works. McVitie's produces chocolate digestives, Hobnobs, Rich tea.  All three were originally created in 1925 in McVitie’s Harlesden factory. In 2014, United Biscuits became owned by Turkish company Yildiz. Harlesden works is the biggest biscuit factory in Europe – bakes 125,000 tonnes of biscuit and snacks every year, and around one sixth is exported. a single storey brick fronted unit with saw tooth north lights in the roof survives from the 1930s as does also as brick building parallel to the canal.
Heinz. Henry John Heinz sold horseradish sauce in Pittsburgh from 1869. A British subsidiary was established to manage Heinz imports from America in 1886. In 1914 Salad Cream was introduced the first product that Heinz created for the UK market. Heinz UK sales quadrupled between 1919 and 1927. And a 22 acre Greenfield site was opened in Harlesden, London in 1925. The works was on the canal side with private rail sidings. In the first year, 125 workers produced 100,000 tons of food and it became one of the largest employers in the area. In 1924 they used 8 railway wagons of Welsh coal every day for the boilers and converted 8,000 gallons of water to steam every hour. There was a unit converting Welsh plate into tins. In the 1920s tinplate came by rail and they distributed soup from the sidings.  The factory had a long water frontage and sported the number '57'. They used the canal as a supply route to bring in beans and raw materials from the London Docks and for the transport of canned products until the 1960's. Closed in 2000 it is now the Premier Park Trading Estate
Townsend Industrial Estate
Canal feeder. This passes across the road slightly to the west of the fire station
Park Royal Fire Station. Built in 1958 to the 'Middlesex' design, this is a 2-storey fire station with bays for two fire appliances. It has a 4-storey drill tower in the yard, which is a landmark through much of the area,
Gormley House. This belonged to Gormley Stone Marble Granite Ltd. It is now a general office block

Wesley Road
Our Lady of Lourdes Catholic Primary School. This opened in 1973 as a voluntary aided Roma Catholic school for boys and girls. They were inn part of the building formerly occupied by Wesley Road School
Wesley Road School. Opened in 1910 as local authority school for boys and girls. Reorganised in 1932. After the 1944 Act it became a secondary modern and new buildings where provided in 1956.  It closed in 1969.

Winchelsea Road
Taylor and Tucker, art metal works. They made ornate metal work domestic item – grates, bath taps, light fittings, etc. in the 1890s. They had a Soho office and showrooms.  Following a fire they went out of business

Sources
Acton electricity
British History online. Willesden. Website
Canal Plan. Web site
Canal walks
Connor. Forgotten Stations
Disused Stations. Web site
Field. London place names, 
Firth, Bill notes 
GLIAS Newsletter
Grace’s Guide, Web site
Greater London Authority. Web site
London Borough of Brent. Website
London Encyclopaedia
McCarthy.  Railways. London North of the Thames 
McVtie. Web site
Middlesex Churches, 
National Grid. Website
NW10 Moonies. Web site
Open House. Web site
Pevsner and Cherry.  North West London
Walford.  Village London 
Wikipedia. Web site. As appropriate

Tuesday, 14 April 2020

Hangar Lane


Post to the north Alperton
Post to the west Brentham




Bispham Road
Road of houses, probably late 1930s. The end of the road has flats, probably 1970s or 1980s. One block of flats appears be called Mountrath and this must be a reference to the previous building here, with that name, run as an animal hospital by vet W.T.G.Hodgin.  By the 1950s this had been supplemented with a piggery.

Brumwill Road
This now appears to be Quill Street

Brunswick Road
Junction box - green electricity cabinets.  This is near the junction with Brunswick Gardens. It is in cast iron and installed in the 1930s. Still in use

Chatsworth Road,
Also Ashbourne Road, The Ridings, Heathcroft and Connell Crescent
Haymills Estate. Estate built in 1928 with buildings in concentric crescents.  - One side semi circular. Built by Haymills with Welch Cachemialle Day and Lander as architects. Definitive inter war superior suburbia, if boring, with no discernible community or service buildings. The underground station was part of the same design.  This was previously part of the grounds of Hangar Hill House, laid out as Hangar Hill Golf Course from 1901-1930, after which the site was sold and developed as the estate.
Hangar Hill Golf Club.  This was founded in 1901. It was an 18-hole course designed by Tom Dunn, with also a 9-hole course for ladies. The mansion was the club house. Membership fell during and after the Great War.   It was reported in 1926 that the lease on the Hangar Hill course had been sold. It was understood that the land would be used for housing.  The club however appears to have continued

Clarendon Road
Central grass strip. Water pipes running between Fox Reservoir to the River Brent are marked by the strip. It also marks a public footpath which ran in 1911 from the Great Western Railway station at Brentham Halt to the top of Hanger Hill.

Connell Crescent
Sewage Pumping Station .Alley way next to no.11 leads to a Sewage Pumping Station built by Ealing Council. It is now owned by Thames Water and discharges clean water into Twyford Abbey ditch

Coronation Road
Although this road no longer appears to be marked as such it present as a footpath. It once ran as a road up to Twyford Abbey Road alongside the recreation ground to meet Western Avenue and an underpass. IT had been built to provide access to the Royal Agricultural Showground which here – in the square to the east.
Coronation Gardens. This is a strip of land which lies o the east of the railway line and in the London Borough of Brent.  It is shown on old maps as a playground and then as Coronation Gardens. It is not listed as a park in ether Brent or Ealing.  The Guinness Sports Ground lay on the east side of Coronation Road (in the square to the east) and it is now an office complex and grounds owned by Diagio and it may be that they own this strip of parkland.  It is now considered an area of wildlife life importance and ‘former shrubberies .... have been allowed to naturalise’.  The playground still apparently exists but may be closed.

Fox Lane
It was named after Edwin G Fox, Chairman of the Grand Junction Waterworks Company. This footpath runs north through the park as far as Greystoke Cottages and then on to Sandall Road.
Hangar Hill Park.  Ealing Town Council purchased the land for this park in 1905 as part of an agreement on a sewage works. The park was completed by 1907 with railings, entrance gates, paths, seats and shrubberies and children’s’ play grounds. There are also springs.   Undulating ground near Hanger Lane is thought to have been a Second World War trench air-raid shelter.
Oak woodland. This is in the west part of the park. There is leylandia as well as horse chestnut and oaks and ornamental shrubs, there is a hexagonal wooden shelter.
Nature Reserve. This is on the west side of Fox Lane and ancient woodland once part Fox Reservoir. When the reservoir was in use the site was closed to the public and the woodland grew undisturbed. After the reservoir was closed and filled in the site was a flower- meadow but was later used as playing fields in 1982. From 1983 the London Wildlife Trust manages Fox Wood and the meadow and it was declared a Local Nature Reserve in 1991. It is an important amenity space, which lies just behind the Brunswick area.
Fox Reservoir. This was built in 1888 for the Grand Junction Waterworks with a capacity of 50m gallons. It was on the site of Mount Castle. It was taken over by the Metropolitan Water Board, when that was set up in 1902. It was drained in 1943 to prevent it being used for navigation by the Luftwaffe, and in 1949 the land was bought as open space by Ealing Council.  The remaining basin was filled in 1969-72.
Mount Castle, This is said to have been an Elizabethan watch tower also calls Hanger Hill Tower. it was a viewing point for the Anglo-French Survey (1784–1790), which linked the Royal Greenwich Observatory with the Paris Observatory via a chain of trigonometric readings, led by General William Roy. Hanger Hill Tower was its northernmost observation point, and from it sightings were made to the Greenwich Observatory itself
Greystoke cottages. Large semi -detached cottages in red brick set in green space in Hanger Hill Park Golf course. They were probably tied housing for the 'Grand Junction Waterworks' staff.
Hangar Hill Park Golf Club. A beautiful undulating parkland golf course with a brook running through the middle of the course. From the highest point you can see Wembley Stadium.

Greystoke Gardens
Flats built post-Second World War in the gardens of Greystoke Lodge

Hanger Hill
Shown and named his on a map of 1710 and shown in 1822, as former wood called ‘Le Hangrewode’ – a ‘hanging wood’ is a wood on a steep slope.

Hanger Lane
This was once a country lane extending northward from Ealing Common it now forms part of the North Circular Road south of the gyratory. North of the gyratory it turns North West and the North Circular turns north eastwards.
69 Fwanees. Lebanese restaurant set up in 2010.  They appear to have added the roof extension and external stars around 2018.
Pioneer Works. Wolf Electrical Tools. Wolf Tools was founded by S. Wolf in 1900, opening their Pioneer Works in 1935.  They first produced large cast woodworking power tools and achieved a Royal Warrant. They produced their first DIY electric drill, in 1949. In 1978, they employed 850 people, some disabled.  In the 1980s they were bought out by Kango Tools Ltd and the Wolf name disappeared in due course. Imitations of their products were also made under license by a firm in India. The site is now an American fast food retailer.
Virol factory. Virol was produced experimentally in 1899 by Bovril and became a separate company in 1900. Production ended during the Second World War and in 1971 Bovril itself was taken over. It was dark and thick, Virol Bone Marrow” contained bone marrow from ox rib and calf bones, whole eggs with the shells, malt extract and lemon syrup. It claimed to strengthen the body and should be taken by children and invalids.
Fox & Goose. This is now a hotel and is a Fullers house. The origins of the pub go back as far as 1680 and the front bar dates from 1790. The building has been extended several times, the latest being the addition of the hotel block. It remains a traditional hotel with a large pretty patio garden and is a typical English pub. . It has a history of music gigs - . The Who played here as The Detours, and in the 1950s, every Friday night. Was Ealing Jazz Club run by Steve Lane with the Southern Stompers
Coronation cottages.  These were on the corner with Brentham Park. They were built by Ealing Town Council, for the coronation of George VI as almshouses...
Twyford Abbey Halt. This opened in 1904 between Perivale Halt and Park Royal stations by the Great Western Railway. It was west Hangar Lane near to what is now Hangar Lane Station. It closed in 1911 closed. It had a short timber platform, corrugated iron ‘pagoda’ hut, oil lamps, name board and no staff.
Greystoke House. Greystoke House was built on Hanger Lane for John Carve JP towards the end of the 19th. The land belonging to the house was sold in the early 1930s probably to Percy Bilton, a local developer and construction began in what is now known as the Brunswick area. But it is said that in the grounds of Greystoke House and the pastures of Greystoke Farm a “superior suburbia” had been created. The Greystoke name survives in Hangar Lane in various blocks of flats and side turnings
Hanger Hill House. Built in 1790 this was the home of the Wood family until 1874 when it was let out. It became a golf club house in the early 20th.  Woodland on the east side of Hanger Lane north and south of Chatsworth Road may be a vestige of its grounds.

Hangar Lane Gyratory
This is the world-famous Hanger Lane Gyratory System, where main roads meet and where the London Underground's Central Line Station is in the middle. It has been reconstructed twice but is still prone to congestion. Until the early 20th Hanger Lane was a road through countryside and simply crossed the railway on a bridge. In 1928 it was joined by the new Western Avenue with a simple crossroads while Hangar Lane itself was upgraded.  In 1936 it was joined by the new North Circular which created a five-way junction in which the railway bridge stood between three major roads all set to be widened. A scheme opened in 1963 providing an underpass to take Western Avenue underneath the junction. IN the late 1970s the roundabout, was installed and it took its present shape.  However for large parts of the day it is unable to handle the quantity of traffic in 2007 it was voted Britain's scariest road junction
Western Avenue. This is now the A40 main arterial road. It was a new major arterial route from White City to Uxbridge built in the early 1920s providing a bypass to the then A40 Uxbridge Road. It was numbered to A40 between 1939 and the new road was routed alongside the railway and crossed Hanger Lane at a crossroads to the south of the line. In the early 1960s it was taken on two lanes in a tunnel under Hangar Lane and slip roads were built.
Hangar Lane. After Western Avenue was built here, in the late 1920s, the part of Hanger Lane north of the railway was upgraded into an arterial road as a link from Western Avenue to the Harrow Road. Then in the 1930s the section of Hanger Lane to the south of the junction became part of the North Circular Road. Before 1936 it had reached Western Avenue at Hanger Lane. It connected to Western Avenue north of the railway bridge, forming a difficult five-way junction in which the railway bridge was a critical link between three major arterial roads.
Hanger Lane station. Opened in 1903 it lies between Perivale and North Acton on the Central Line. The Great Western Railway had opened Twyford Abbey Halt east of this station in 1904 which closed in 1911 and then Brentham station was opened to the west and that finally closed in 1947. In 1947 the Central Line came from North Acton going to Ruislip as part f the New Works Programme. This station was opened as "Hanger Lane" for the Central Line trains.  It had been designed by Brian Lewis in 1938 but held up by the Second World War.  At first a temporary station was built and Lewis' design only opened in 1949. The ticket hall is in an area in the centre of the gyratory system. It is reached by subways under the gyratory but the station is actually above ground. Planned tower was never built to save money.
Nature reserve – in the centre of the roundabout along with the station

Norbreck Gardens
This terrace fronts directly onto Western Avenue

Quill Street
This was previously Brumwill Road. It is the main road on a small trading estate
Kiwi Factory. This is the brand name of an Australian shoe polish made since 1906. In the UK, Kiwi was for many years made in Burwell Road. They manufactured and sold to much of Europe and the Middle East. In the mid-1970s the factory was closed with production switched to France

Ritz Parade
This was previously Cinema Parade
Premier Inn .On the site of the cinema
Ritz was built and designed by Major W.J. King for London and District Cinemas Ltd. It was the centre of a parade of shops and had a brick tower with glass tiles lit from within and had lantern light at the top.  Facilities included a cafe. It was taken over by Odeon Theatres in 1944 and re-named Odeon in 1946. It was sold to Classic in 1967 and re-named Classic Cinema. It was later the Vogue Bingo Club with films at weekends. From 1972, it was the Tatler Cinema Club screening adult pictures but by 1974 it was the Paradise Cinema showing Asian films. It closed in 1980 and demolished in 1983. It was replaced by offices called Orbit House later converted into a Premier Inn

Royal Parade
Big parade of shops built before the gyratory

Twyford Abbey Road
Playground which stood at top of coronation gardens. May or may not be closed

Westgate
Was Bentham Halt Road
Westgate House. Office block being converted to flats/
Manhattan Business Park
Brentham and North Ealing Station. Brentham for North Ealing and Greystoke Park Station. This was built by the Great Western Railway on their main line.  It closed in 1947 when it was made redundant when the Central line was extended to West Ruislip and Hangar Lane station was available.. Built as a halt for the Brentham Gardens Co-ownership Estate which had been set up by Vivian.  It was opened when Twyford Abbey Halt was closed.

Sources
Cinema Treasures Web site
Clunn. The Face of London
Field . Place names of London 
Grace’s Guide. Web site
Kiwi Polish. Web site
London Borough of Brent Web site
London Borough of Ealing. Web site
London Encyclopedia
London Gardens Online. Web site
Middlesex Churches 
Progress is fine. Blog site
SABRE. Web site
Stevenson. Middlesex
Walford. Village London
Wikipedia. Web site. As appropriate

Sunday, 12 April 2020

Hampstead

Posts to the east  South End    Belsize Park  South End and Gospel Oak

Post to the south Swiss Cottage


This area consists of many roads where most buildings are listed and many have been lived in by a succession of famous people.  This blog is supposed to be about workplaces and public buildings – so the amount of detail on architecture and celebrity has been drastically limited.

Akenside Road
Named for Mark Akenside poet and doctor lived at Golders Hill

Arkwright Road
Camden Arts Centre.  Camden Arts Centre was built as Hampstead Central Library and designed by the Arnold Taylor and extended in 1926.  It was opened in 1897 by its funder Henry Harben Deputy Chairman of the Prudential Assurance Company. The structure survived bombs and a V2 in the Second World War while used as an ARP post. In 1964 a new the Swiss Cottage library opened as part of a modern library service. Hampstead Arts Centre was opened here in 1965 with classes in painting, life drawing, pottery, printing and design. Refurbished 2004 by Tony Fretton. There is also a garden, bookshop, and café.
1 Senior House of St.Anthony’s School (fee paying, Catholic ‘preparatory’)
2 house used by Devonshire House School. (fee paying, ‘preparatory’)
4 built for the artist F.W. Topham and there is a plaque to him on it.  Used by Devonshire House School (fee paying, ‘preparatory’)
6 built for writer Henry Arthur Jones Used by Devonshire House School (fee paying, ‘preparatory’)
13b modernist house by Godfrey Samuel and Valentine Harding, a member of Tecton. Brick with concrete floors and glass bricks at the front. Built for Cecil Walton headmaster of University College School.  Inside is a fireplace in flints.
21 home of Tobias Matthay 1858-1945. Matthay was a radical teacher of the piano. A plaque on the house was installed in 1979.

Back Lane
The road existed by 1745
5 Radius Works. Charities Advisory Trust

Belsize Court Gardens
Mews area named for the gardens of 18th Belsize Court, previously known as the White House, which lay slightly to the north of here in Belsize Lane
1 modernist house

Belsize Crescent
The Belsize area was developed from the 1840s by Daniel Tidey. He sublet an area to the north to William Willett who built this crescent of villas 1868-1875

Belsize Lane
32 St.Christopher’s School. On the site of Belsize Court School, which used Belsize Court. It was founded in the 1880s.  This is yet another fee paying  ‘preparatory’ school for girls.

Belsize Place
A footpath follows and old route through the area and links through to Lyndhust Road crossing the line of the Midland Railway which is underground here.
Belsize Court Garages. Red brick range built by Willett as livery stables

Bird in Hand Yard
This is a narrow alley associated with the Bird in Hand pub. It has brick walls on either side. Tram services started from here and the yard is said to have had stables for the LGOC horses. It had a covered entry from the High Street.

Church Row
Built 1710-1728 and considered one of the finest Georgian suburban streets in London. The original houses had no mews or stables.  Most houses are listed and many have had famous residents.
Tollgate.  Until the late 19th the access to Frognal at the north end of the road was barred by a tollgate.
St.John’s Church .1745-7 and not clear which St.John is intended. The medieval church had a wooden tower for the Benedictine monks of Westminster - the then owners - so that they could look up to it. The old church was in need of repair by the 18th and   Henry Flitcroft, who was a local resident, offered to rebuild it in 1744. The parish rejected his designs and turned to another parishioner, Palladian architect John Sanderson.  This building has a plain brown brick outside with the tower at the end to save money. The upper part of the tower rebuilt by Samuel Steemson in 1759, with battlements and a spike added in 1782-3.  However this is a pretty church demonstrating the social life of Hampstead in the early 19th.  Inside are box pews and umbrella stands. It became a parish church in 1860. A competition was held in 1874 for a new building, which led to a campaign to save the 18th tower.  One result of this was that William Morris took to campaigning against ‘restoring’ churches.  F.P. Cockerell was the winning competitor, and his work in 1877-8 turned it round. The Vicar was a friend of Byron – but following a dispute an evangelical vicar was appointed in 1832. In 1910 the congregation bought the Freehold. There are carved Hanoverian Royal Arms and Commandment Boards in the gallery and much other art work. The church has a long musical tradition which it maintains with a professional choir and high-profile concerts. The current organ was installed by Henry Willis in 1884.
Churchyard. This is a Garden with iron railings and wrought iron gates from the 1747 sale of Canons at Little Stanmore. The churchyard is enclosed by 19th wrought iron railings with a dwarf brick wall. There is long grass and mature trees.  At the west entrance is an 18th wrought-iron gate from the 1747 sale of the Duke of Chandos' mansion Canons. The northern entrance has wrought and cast-iron railings an original Sugg 6-sided Westminster lantern and a lamp-holder with ladder bar incorporated in the railings. The brick churchyard walls date from the 18th.  There are lots of tombs including that of John Constable 1837, John Harrison, Norman Shaw and Hugh Gaitskell as well as those of famous show business people and many more.
St John's Churchyard Extension An additional plot of land was purchased on the other side of Church Row in 1812. There are many monuments including one by Eric Gill and others using Coade stone
9 Hampstead Reformatory for Girls. Following the decision by the Rescue Society to close its reformatory at no 28 a new institution was founded here. It opened in 1860 and the inmates of 28 moved in. It closed in 1876 and the building was used by the .Field Lane Industrial School for Girls, from Clerkenwell. In 1893 some of the building had to be reconstructed and the school closed in 1901.
28 Reformatory for Girls. This opened in 1857 for ‘openly immoral’ young women. It closed in 1860.

Copper Beech Close
Modern housing on an infill site which appears to be built over the twin tunnels of the Midland Main Line out of Euston.

Daleham Gardens
The earliest houses here date from the 1880s
Air vent – an air vent to the Midland Main Line tunnels below are marked on maps for the north end of the road, east side.
33 Gloucester House. NHS Day Unit

Daleham Mews
Stable buildings tarted up by posh architects. Built up from the 1880s.
Old people flats

Denning Road
38 Denning Hall. Built as a mission hall in 1883, associated with St. Stephen’s Church, Rosslyn Hill. Later converted into artists' studios and as housing.

Downshire Hill
The western end of the street was originally called Albion Grove and was developed from 1813. Site of Red Lion Hill brickfields. Most houses in the road are listed and most have had famous residents – many of them successively.
1b Keats GP Group Practice. Built as a postal sorting office by the Office of Works in 1891 an apparently later used by the National Assistance Board.
14a former school of St. Johns Church. This was apparently built in the early 1830s at his own expense by John Willcox, who owned the church and with whom there were disputes and a court case. It was financed by subscriptions and a parliamentary grant. It was closed and transferred to St. Stephen’s elementary school in 1874-5. In the 1920s it was used as a studio by sculptor Sydney Carline and others, and appears to continue in studio and residential use today.

Ellerdale Road
The area belonged to the Greenhill estate and was built up in the early 1870s with grand gothic villas, many of them by T.K. Green
6 Institute of St Marcellina. This is an Italian Sisterhood providing accommodation for foreign students.  Also called Hampstead Towers.  It was Norman Shaw’s own house built for himself and daringly progressive.  Built in 1874-6 by W.H.  Lascelles for Shaw himself, who lived there until 1912.  The house is tall and appears craggy.
24 King Alfred's school opened in 1898 here to practise modern theories of education. The school had no religious or political affiliations; discipline depended on the pupils' co-operation and competition was discouraged. It moved to Hendon in 1919.

Finchley Road
Finchley Road and Frognal Station. This opened in 1860 and now lies between Hampstead Heath and West Hampstead Stations on the North London Line. It was originally called Finchley Road Station on the Hampstead Junction Railway and the entrance was very humble. Tunnel from Hampstead Heath on North London Railway 1879s
Arkwright Mansions. These flats were part of a housing development for J.E. J and E. A. Cave, in 1896. The building was opened in 1900. There were lead covered spires on two of the dormers, besides a dome over the corner tower, which have survived.  Work started at the Arkwright Road end and the building quality reduces down the length of the building, so cost must have been a factor.

Fitzjohns Avenue
The road was built as a link between Swiss Cottage and central Hampstead on land sold by the Maryon Wilsons to developers in 1875 and named after an estate of theirs in Essex.  It opened up a large area between here and Finchley Road for development with large houses. From the 1920s houses were divided into flats
Source of the Tyburn.  This is marked by a  disused drinking fountain at the junction with Lyndhurst Road said to be near the site of Shepherd's Well.. This is marked as 'Conduit' on a map of 1814. The well when closed was 24 feet wide and lay about halfway between the fountain and the opposite corner of Akenside Road. The water is said to have clean and pure.
116 Monro House. This was  The Royal Sailors' Orphan Girls' School and Home.  It was founded by Major Powys in 1829 at Frognal House. In 1869 it moved to this new building designed by Edward Ellis. In 1871 two rooms were a school for 60 girls of all ages, learning for a future as household servants. It seems to have closed in 1957 and transferred to a similar organisation in Hull. The building is now flats for pensioners owned by LB Camden.
Air vent for the tunnel of the North London Line which runs under the road is marked on maps to the north of the Lyndhurst Road junction.
47 St Mary’s School. Fee paying private Roman Catholic School. Established here in 1926 founded by the Congregation of Jesus. The house dates from 1880 designed by George Lethbridge for L.M. Casella plus a 20th chapel. The house is in orange brick with decoration in high quality gauged and rubbed brickwork. There is a brick boundary wall in stepped sections with cast-iron railings and wrought-iron gates. This was an extremely expensive house to build and its quality is apparent. Casella was the inventor of the clinical thermometer.
66 Havelock Hall, a Baptist Training College.  In the 1930s used as an annexe to Westminster Hospital
66 Marie Curie Hospital for Cancer and Allied Diseases had been founded at 2 Fitzjohn's Avenue in 1929. These buildings, except for the new wing and the shelter, were totally destroyed by a high explosive bomb in 1944. And they moved to the Westminster hospital annexe for temporary relocation. Following repairs and improvement, the 50-bedded Hospital was opened by Queen Mary in 1946.  In 1965 it was decided to move the Hospital in its entirety to a ward at Mount Vernon Hospital, where the equipment of a modern radiotherapy department would be available and The Marie Curie Hospital closed in 1967. The Hospital buildings were demolished in 1969.  The site has been redeveloped and now contains an apartment block fronting Akenside Road. , was replaced in 1969 by flats built for the Medical Research Council.
69 Devonshire House ‘Preparatory’ school, plus nursery. The house was built in 1877 for C. Kemp Wild.
73 alterations of 1901-3 by Voysey for P. A. Barendt
75 Uplands. This is a Gothic style house built in the 19th by T.K. Green for P.F. Poole, RA. It is in purple brick with black and white bands plus a carved monogram "PFP RA". Outside are stepped brick walls with timber gates.
77 Field Court. Housing for the local authority by Pollard Thomas & Edwards built 1977. This is made up of nine houses and twelve flats in a tall, block with pitched roofs intended to echo its 19th  neighbours.

Flask Walk
Source of the Fleet. One source of the river Fleet was near Flask Walk.  And a pond existed at the east end of the walk in 1762, possibly fed by the tributary spring. The engine pond was here for the use of fire engines.
The road is an 18th development of a country lane. Archway from the street which fell down in 1911
14 Flask Tavern. This was the ‘Lower Flask Inn’ or the ‘Thatched House’ selling bottled spa water from the Hampstead Wells. The Upper Flask was in Hampstead Hill and the clientele of the Lower Flask were considered socially inferior. The pub is now a 19th creation having been rebuilt by Cumming and Nixon in 1874, since when it has been known as ‘The Flask’. It has the original glass and mahogany partitions, bar counter and fittings, cast-iron fireplaces with tiles and "Victorian chromolithographs". A vaulted brick-built cellar was discovered in 1990. It has been a Young’s pub since 1904.
65 Subscription library set up in 1833 Hampstead Pubic Library of General Literature and Elementary Science. In 1885 a reading room was installed and the working classes let in by a side door
Public Baths of 1888 built by Camden Baths and Washhouses. The Wells and Campden Charity which was a major local landowner and the site was chosen for being near the original Chalybeate spring on Well Walk. It had 9 baths, a laundry, and drying-room. Closed in 1978 and now residential.
Village green.  This is the old village green, with grass and a number of trees. It used to be larger and in 1712 the Hampstead Fair took –place here.Watch house and site of stocks at the side of the telephone kiosk. The watch house was moved here from, Heath Street by 1795. It had two’ dungeons’ for the miscreants and was demolished soon after 1839.  By the early C20th the Green was owned and maintained by Hampstead Borough Council
Two Type K6 telephone kiosks on the village green.  Designed by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott in 1935, fabricated by W MacFarlane of Glasgow.

Frognal
First recorded in the 15th as a ‘customary tenement’ – an estate held on the basis that local custom must be adhered to. It was a community in its own right in the 17th and 18th. A manor farm and cottages were scattered along the road, which winds uphill. It grew from a single house and as other houses were built they took on the ‘Frognal’ name. ‘Frognal’ means ‘a nook of land frequented by frogs', and the area was well watered, with a cattle pond fed by a brook.  The road itself appears to follow a stream flowing into the Westbourne.. It became a village in the 17th from a single house and as other houses were built it took on the ‘Frognal’ name which had been used from the 14th.
Frognal Hall, Manor farm and buildings. These were near the junction with Frognal Lane together with a group of other houses. It was set back from the road in 1½ acres, adjoining the churchyard, and probably existed by 1646
66 classic modernist house by Connell, Ward 1937, built of concrete with plastered walls, and non structural blue brick. The entrance is at the first-floor level while the top floor is partly on stilts and planned as deck. Built for solicitor, Geoffrey Walford and designed by Colin Lucas.
99 St. Dorothy’s Residence. This offers accommodation to young ladies coming to study in London and run by the Sisters of Saint Dorothy. The building is called Frognal House. It is mid-c18 built on the site of the original Frognal House. De Gaulle lived here during the latter part of the Second World War
103 Upper Frognal Lodge.  Coach house to Henry Flitcroft's house Frognal Grove. c1745-50.  .  Home of Ramsay MacDonald, first Labour Prime Minister, 1925-37;
105-111 Frognal Grove. Approached by Lime Walk, which is a right of way. The house is subdivided into four semi-detached house. The core is 1745 by Henry Flitcroft.  There is also a former stable, adapted by A. & P. Smithson in 1960. 
39 this was the home of illustrator Kate Greenaway 1886-1901. It is a building by Norman Shaw and there is a plaque to Kate.
41 house, in the International Modern style by Alexander Flinders, 1966-8.
University College School.  The School was founded in Gower Street in 1830 as part of University College, and here in 1907.  UCS was founded with a liberal philosophy. It has three separate schools: the Phoenix School takes boys and girls aged 3-7. The school opened in 2002.  The Junior Branch educated education for boys aged 7-11. The Senior School caters for boys aged from 11-18.  Sixth form. The school took girls from 2008.  The buildings are from 1905-7 by Arnold Mitchell and originally planned for 500 pupils.  It is brick with a stone frontispiece and cupola.  There is a great hall restored by Michael Foster after a fire in 1978.  There are additions from the 1059s.1970s and subsequently.

Frognal Close
Now close in international modern style designed by Ernst Freud, son of Sigmund.
Site of Frognal Priory. In 1815 until 1817 Manor Lodge in Frognal was occupied by John Thompson (a retired auctioneer. he kept some of the land and in 1818 built a house later called Frognal Priory plus a lodge. The house had Gothic crenellations, Renaissance windows, Dutch gables, turrets, and a cupola. Thompson filled it with furniture he said had belonged to Cardinal Wolsey and Elizabeth I. It was demolished in 1876.

Frognal Gardens
Laid out in the grounds of the Old Mansion. Alexander Gray bought the Old Mansion on the east side of old Frognal c. 1889, laid out an L-shaped road, Frognal Gardens, through the grounds, and commissioned James Neale, a former pupil
18 Frognal End. Built for Sir Walter Besant 1836-1901 –'novelist and antiquary lived and died here'. A later resident was, Hugh Gaitskill. Labour Party leader

Frognal Lane
Once called West End Lane and is a continuation of the road which still has that name.

Frognal Rise
This is one of Hampstead’s oldest roads connecting Holly Hill and Branch Hill. There are a number of large 18th and 19th houses here.
Mount Vernon Hospital for Tuberculosis and Diseases of the Lungs.   The Hospital took over a house called Mount Vernon and work began here in 1880 to –build the North London Hospital for Consumption and Diseases of the Chest designed in a 17th French renaissance style and fronting on Frognal Rise.  The western block with 34 beds opened in 1881.  On the first floor was a female ward, with the men on the second floor and facilities in floors above.   The central block with entrance hall, a dining room was opened by Princess Christian in 1893 ad she paid off the debts on the building.  In 1902 X-ray apparatus was installed and high frequency electrical currents were used for treatment.  The eastern block was completed in 1903 for 45 patients. In 1913, because of financial difficulties everything moved to Northwood and the Hampstead building was sold to for a National Institute for Medical Research. In the Great War at first it became the No. 1 Canadian Stationary Hospital.  But the changes needed to make it fit for purpose took two months. The following day the unit was sent overseas.  In 1915 it became The Military Hospital, Hampstead and huts were built in the grounds.  In 1916 it became a special army research hospital for the study and treatment of cardiac cases.  In 1917 it became the Royal Flying Corps Central Hospital and an Air Medical Investigation Committee was established here to investigate the problems associated with flying. The National Institute for Medical Research - renamed the Medical Research Council remained in the buildings until 1950 and until 1972 it was used by as the National Institute for Biological Standards and Control. The buildings have now been converted into flats.
Mount Vernon House, built in 1800, which had been the residence of the Hospital Secretary, became the Nurses' Home.

Frognal Way
Road which continues as a foot path from what was the hamlet of Frognal to St John’s church
66 Sun House.  Modernist concrete house by Maxwell Fry. 1934-5, an object lesson in facade.

Gainsborough Gardens
Only the southern portion of this estate is in this square
The area was part of the site of Hampstead Wells spa. In 1698 6 acres of swampy ground, were donated by the then Lords of the Manor of Hampstead, the Gainsborough family, hence the name of the gardens. The Wells Trust was set up to administer this gift. Gainsborough Gardens was the pleasure garden area of the spa with a bowling green and an ornamental pond with boathouse.
Gated private estate. This is an oval crescent around a central garden laid out  and developed by the Wells and Camden Charity Trust, set up to administer the Gainsborough gift, and overseen by their surveyor, H.S. Legg. The central garden was the site of the Spa’s ornamental pond, including an ice house. The estate was built following the ethos pioneered at Bedford Park and also steps to limit expansion onto Hampstead Heath and the preservation of Parliament Hill Fields - attributed to CE Maurice who lived here and was married to the sister of Octavia Hill, founder of the National Trust. English Heritage says that the area’s prominent in the history of the protection of open spaces’.
Ice Well.  Domed, south facing 18th ice well under a mound. Brick built entered through a brick tunnel in a timber shed. Has been used as an air raid shelter. Ice probably came from the lake to use in ices in the Long Room.

Gayton Road
The entrance to the road was the entrance to the White Hart Inn and some of the road is on what was the yard of the pub

Golden Yard
Cluster of cottages at the back of Heath Street, once owned by a family called Goulding. Said to be a 16th sand pit.

Greenhill
Raised roadway paralleling Rosslyn Avenue and providing a frontage for flats.  This may have been a roadway serving Mount Grove House

Hampstead High Street
Street of tall late 19th shopping terraces. Once called Kingswell Street, the name changed in the Middle Ages to Hampstead Street or Hampstead Hill.
88 Stanfield Hall – to the rear of Stanfield House, in Prince Arthur Road. Headquarters of the Rosicrucian Society. Previously Fourth Ch. of Christ Scientist from 1953 and Closed in 1978
85 Stanfield House.  Once the home of Clarkson Stanfield 19TH, theatrical scenic artist, marine and landscape painter, Royal Academician and has had a variety of uses, including a school. It is currently used by Turning Point, a charity dealing with problems of alcohol and drug abuse
North London Hospital for Consumption and Diseases of the Chest. This opened in what is now Stanfield House in 1860. Stanfield may still have been resident when the patients arrived and may have had TB himself. The Hospital treated the poor and Patients came from all parts of the United Kingdom –The dry, bracing air of Hampstead was considered to be beneficial to recovery. Stanfield House was sold in 1864 and the Hospital then leased it back. Work began on the new hospital in 1880 and the patients were transferred from Stanfield House to the new building at Mount Vernon.
"The Hampstead Public Library of General Literature and Elementary Science -this was a Subscription Library moved here from Flask Walk in 1884.  This was on the ground floor of the house which was altered for the library. In 1966 the library was closed and the stock WS dispersed.
2 Trinity Presbyterian church. This was first built in 1844 for Scottish inhabitants and they used the Temperance Hall in Perrin's Court. The congregation then moved to Well Walk Chapel in 1853, and in 1861 bought 2 High Street. They built a new church which opened in 1862. It was demolished in 1962 and Shops were built on the site and the hall was converted into Trinity Close.
9a Hampstead Brewery. This was founded in 1720 by John Vincent. Later known as Harris & Co., Acquired by Reffells Brewery in 1931. The remains of the brewery are still standing at the rear of the property. The buildings stood, behind the King of Bohemia pub on Hampstead High Street and, by the end of the 1920s, employed 128 people. The site was refurbished in the 1970s and the adapted original buildings stand in Old Brewery Mews, designed by Dinerman, Davidson & Partners in 1973
10 King of Bohemia built here in 17th before 1680 and rebuilt in the 1930s. It was originally called The King of Bohemia's Head. It closed in the early 21st.  The King of Bohemia was the Elector Palentine and son in law to James I.
14 The Three Tuns Tavern
17 White Hart, This pub was trading by 1762 but is now long gone.  The entrance to Gayton Road is sited on the yard entrance
Penfold pillar box. This is outside no 23. It is of the Penfold type, c1866-79, a hexagonal box in cast-iron, with ‘VR’ on the door and ‘VR’ plus the Royal Arms above the mouth along with "Post" and "Office". It is no longer in use. In 1914 it was damaged by suffragettes. Smoke was seen coming from box - tar and oil had been poured in and set alight,
38/39 Bird in Hand. This pub dates from 1771, converted from a coffee house, and rebuilt in 1879. It is now Cafe Rouge and was previously a branch of Dome. There is a carved motif of a dove over the central door at first floor level. Said to be hidden sign ‘Alton Ales’.
Omnibus routes. Buses left from the Bird in Hand - Eight to the City in 1834. In 1856, most were acquired by the Compagnie Générale des Omnibus de Londres – this became the London General Omnibus Co. or L.G.O.C..
Hampstead station opened in 1907 it lies between Golders Green and Belsize Park on the Northern Line. It was opened by the Charing Cross, Euston and Hampstead Railway and taken over by Yerkes. Work started 1903. It was originally to be called Heath Street – there is some signage showing this at platform level. Its unusually shaped surface building is determined by the topography.  It was designed by Leslie Green Like other Northern Line's stations there are rows of arches and ox-blood glazed tiles.  It is the deepest station in London lying 250' below surface and the Second World War it was used as an air raid shelter.  Its lift shaft is 181 feet down, originally housing Otis lifts which were modernised by the Wadsworth Lift Company, and again in 2014 by Accord. The metal roof structure houses the lift equipment.  There is also a spiral emergency staircase with over 320 steps. Only the ticket hall and some isolated areas remain as original.  The central entrance was blocked in the 1980s and the ticket hall modernised in 1988. The beamed ceilings and clock remain and there are original finishes by the Permanent Decorative Glass Company.  .

Hampstead Hill Gardens,
This is a street with red brick artists' villas built 1875-83, or ’gentleman artists’ by Batterbury & Huxley, described as ’rosered villas’ with rubbed-brick ornaments.

Heath Street
Late 19th road but stands in an area mentioned in 19th charters. I he late19th road improvement and slum clearance led to development of the street
28 The Horseshoe pub. This pub was originally at 62 High Street, but moved here in 1890. It was then called the Three Horseshows. For a while it was a Wetherspoons. A brewing operation began in the cellar of the pub but by 2010, it was too big and moved out to become the Camden Town Brewery.
49 Hampstead Fire Station. Hampstead fire station, designed by George Vulliamy, opened in 1874 on the site of the former police station. For the Metropolitan Board of Works. It has patterned brick, and a comer clock tower, said to have been a watch tower but which has lost its pyramidal roof. There is a plaque on the building explaining all this.
64 Cinema. This was the Eldorado Cinematograph which opened 1909/10 but was not licenced until September 1909.  In 1913, it was re-named Hampstead Picture Palace, and also the Hampstead Electric Theatre. It was closed in 1916, and in 1917 it was the Tube Tea Rooms. It has since become a restaurant.
68 Horse and Groom. Closed and now in other use.  The name sign remains at first floor level.
79-81 Nags Head. For awhile this was The Cruel Sea and said to have murals on the walls. Now in other use’s
Baptist Church, in the 18th Baptists used a room in Holly Bush Hill but some left to set up an ‘Ebeneezer Strict Baptist Church’ in New End. The Heath Street building opened in 1861 and paid for by James Harvey, a London merchant the site had previously been a fruit and vegetable garden.
British School. This was connected to the chapel but eventually moved to a purpose built block in New End. It is said to have been ‘well regarded’. The building may remain as part of the chapel

Holly Bush Hill
This was in the 19th a pathway called Bradley’s Buildings
Romney House. This was the site of Cloth Hill designed by Samuel Bunce as a two-storeyed timber framed and weatherboarded house. The portrait painter George Romney bought the house in 1796. He wanted to build a studio with a museum of casts from the antique, where students would work under his supervision. The original house had a garden, a stable, and coach house. Romney built a new stable plus a "whimsical structure”.  He left in 1799, and in 1807 it became the Hampstead Assembly Rooms with a tea room, ballroom and card room. The Hampstead Literary and Scientific Society began here in 1833, the Conversazione Society followed in 1846 and met here. From 1886 the Constitutional Club met here.  In 1929 it was bought by Clough Williams-Ellis as his home and international writers were entertained here. The house was redesigned by 6a architects in 2012 and a staircase tower added. The stables became a pub. There is a London County Council plaque on the house
Green space –there are two small areas of green space maintained by Hampstead Borough Council, now by LB Camden. One is a narrow strip of land laid out as a shrubbery, and the other a small area of grass with some small trees with low post and chain boundary.
New Camden Court built 1887 by the Wells and Camden Charity but taken over eventually by the local authority,

Holly Bush Vale
Hampstead Parochial Schools. Boys’, girls' and infants' schools of 1856, having previously been in other premises from an organs charitable school. c. 1862 and 1887;
Everyman Cinema.  The building dates from 1888 as an assembly room to commemorate Queen Victoria’s Golden Jubilee. It later became the Hampstead Drill Hall, and base for the Hampstead Regiment and Films were screened in the basement room the 1890’s. It opened as the Everyman Theatre in 1920 presenting plays by new playwrights and closed in 1933. It reopened as a cinema and was redesigned by Alistair Gladstone MacDonald, and equipped with a Western Electric sound system. From 1934 it showed foreign films which could only be seen there. It closed in 1940 and reopened in 1943 and from the end of the War it returned to showing foreign films. In 1954 it opened an art gallery in the foyer. And Sunday concerts were held. Despite a down turn it survived and was refurbished in 1984 with grants from the Greater London Council and Channel 4 TV. In 1986 a cafe/restaurant was opened, A Saturday morning children’s cinema club was introduced and cine-variety presentations ad live concerts held. Later a second screen was added and there is also a private screening room

Holly Hill
11 University College School Junior School, site of Holly Hill House This is the junior school of the school founded in Gower Street in 1830 as part of University College, London and moved here in 1907. It was founded to promote the Benthamite principles of liberal scholarship and education

Holly Mount
The Baptist Chapel is said to have originated in a building here built in 1818.  It later became printers with the Hampstead and Highgate Express. Since 1911 it has been housing and a studio
Holly Bush Pub. Said to be built on the site of painter Romney’s stables and opened in 1897. Romney lived to the rear at 6 the Mount or Cloth Hill, in 1796. When he moved away in 1799, he converted the stables into Prospect House and studio. His son sold it in 1801 and it was converted into assembly rooms and the stables into the pub.   This was a Beskins House and more recently Fullers.
18 this was the Holly Mount Laundry in the 1850s

Holly Place
4 St. Mary's RC Church. Built 1816 and in the centre of a recessed terrace of cottages. This is one of the earliest Roman Catholic churches in London and is a. Monument to Abbe Morel, founded by French émigrés at the expense of the congregation at the time of the Napoleonic Wars.  The stuccoed front was added by W. Wardell in 1850: it has a statue of the Virgin in a niche above, and an open belfry plus bell.
1 St Vincent's Orphanage for Little Boys.  Soon after the church was built, two schools, for boys and girls, were set up next to the presbytery and supported by subscriptions. By the 1860s there was also an orphanage for boys. In 1871 a new priest had a new school built behind the church. The Franciscan Tertiary Sisters from St Joseph's College took over the school and orphanage and opened a convent at No 1. Eventually it had taken over all the buildings in the terrace south of the church.  In 1907 the school was condemned by the Board of Education and demolished. In 1911, the orphanage was closed and the convent amalgamated with Sisters in Canning Town.

Holly Walk
9 The Watch House. Hampstead police watch house built 1830. A plaque says "in the 1830s the newly formed Hampstead Police Force set out on its patrol and nightly watch from this house." They moved out after four years

Kemplay Road
Laid out by the British Land Company in the late 1870s

Lakis Walk
Built in 1973 an alley of houses, grey brick and exposed concrete by Gerson Rottenberg.

Lyndhurst Gardens
17 The Hoo. This is a large house designed by Horace Field from 1888-90, and altered in 1987-88. It is built of red brick with tile-hanging on the upper storey. The house is now occupied by the Belsize, Gospel Oak and West Hampstead Community Health Teams. The archives of the Royal Free Hospital are also held here. Fleet Counselling, who offer affordable one-on-one counselling services are based here
26 Maria Montessori Children’s House Nursery. It is one of William Willett's developments, designed by H. B. Measures: tall detached gabled house
Marie Curie Hospice. in 1948 Not long before the Hampstead-based Marie Curie Hospital was transferred to the NHS, a group of committee members decided to preserve the name of Marie Curie in the charitable medical field and thus fund raised and set up the Marie Curie Memorial Foundation − a charity dedicated to alleviating suffering from cancer today − today known as Marie Curie Cancer Care.

Lyndhurst road
This was part of the Rosslyn Park Estate, which belonged to Westminster Abbey.  Streets here were developed slowly from 1853, covering the grounds of Rosslyn House.
Tower Close. Built in 1982 by Pollard Thomas & Edwards, with a comer tower. Built on the site of Eldon House
Rosslyn House, this was one of four houses here built in the late 18th and named Rosslyn Lodge when it was the home of the Earl of Rosslyn in the early 19th.  It later became The Royal Soldiers' Daughters' Home, founded in 1855 to relieve the families of soldiers in the Crimea.
Olave Centre. HQ of the World Association of Girl Guides has a core of Rosslyn Lodge a small stuccoed villa built c. 1800, with ogee-topped turret and shallow bow. Extensions, tactfully white-rendered but dwarfing the original house, by John Dangerfield, 1980-91. The centre serves the ten million Girl Guides and Girl Scouts from 145 countries across the world. It is the largest voluntary movement dedicated to girls and young women in the world. Olave of course was the first Chief Guide.
Rosslyn Grove. Late 18th brick house, standing behind the church
Congregational church building now the AIR Recording Studio. The church originated in services held in an iron building in 1876 and was formed in 1880. Members of the church bought land on the Rosslyn Grove estate, selling part to finance the construction of the church. The new church was opened in 1884 and a lecture hall and school were added later. In 1972 the church became part of the United Reformed churches and closed in 1978. The building is By Waterhouse and centrally planned. It is in Purple brick and coloured terracotta decoration; it was changed inside and subdivided as a concert hall and recording studios in 1991-2 by Bernard Parker of Heber-Percy & Parker.
AIR Studios. The studio began in 1969 when George Martin left EMI to establish an independent recording complex. A sister studio, in Montserrat, opened in mid 1970′s but was forced to close after a hurricane.  In 1991 a new AIR Studios moved into Lyndhurst Hall. Sir George Martin opened it in 1992 with a gala performance of “Under Milk Wood” in the presence of The Prince of Wales.
19-21 Group of 3 houses, plus the old lodge to Rosslyn House attached at the corner. The houses were designed in 1897-8 by Horace Field; and the former lodge was built 1865 attributed to S.S. Teulon.
1-3 Lyndhurst Terrace. Gothic houses designed im 1864-5 by and for Alfred Bell, the stained-glass designer, and his father-in-law John Burlison, assistant to Gilbert Scott.

Maresfield Gardens
4 Cecil Sharp
16 for the Danish glass designer Arild Rosenkrantz, plain brick  |
20 Freud Museum. a broad symmetrical Queen Anne house. home of Sigmund reud and where he died. interior alterations are by his son, Ernst. In 1938, Sigmund Freud left Vienna as a refugee from the Nazi occupation and came to England. He resumed work a year later. His collection of Eyptian, Greek, Ottoman  and Oriental antiquities, his working library and papers, and his furniture including the desk and couch are here. These rooms were his laboratory, the site of his discoveries about the human psyche, and they offer insights into the nature of his achievements as the founder of pschoanalysis. The house was later the home of his daughter, Anna 1895-1982, whose development of her father's work is also part of the museum.
St, Thomas More RC church. 1968 elliptical. Undramatic.
58 1938-9 by H. Herry-Zwiegenthal for F Jolowitz, a modernist house of brick, with an angled projecting room carrying a bold pierced metal balcony

Netherhall Gardens
50 built at part of 61 Fitzjohn's Avenue in 1878 as a single house for the artist Edwin Long by Shaw.  Thanks to the architect's inexhaustible fantasy motifs and composition from his own house in Ellerdale Road low, comfortable, broadly composed, with Dutch gables, and below, in the middle of them, a project studio with large bow at the end.

New Court
Flats. Consists of two bleak five-storey blocks of artisan tenements, one of 1854-5, and a slightly more decorative one of 1871, the latter perhaps by T. G. Jackson, whose father, Hugh Jackson, a local solicitor, paid for the earlier one.
55, The Tower, 1880 H.F. Baxter by T. Wimperis.  Massive Baronial creation, stone balconies and tourelles; grand gate piers and gates
47 St Mary's Convent is by George Lethbridge for L.  Casella, c. 1880; much terracotta detail.
6, Three Gables, 1881 Shaw for Frank Holl, demolished
Flockhart's studio house for Pettie.  Now demolished.
6 1882-3 for Thomas Davidson, by Batterbury & Huxley, with a large studio   wing with big leaded-light window.  The best house in the hinterland.

New End
Area of gambling and souvenir shops in the early 18th.  Later dominated by the hospital.
Workhouse. The parish workhouse had been in Frognal but was moved here n 1891 because of conditions there. A large house was bought here and extended under Henry White. This remained until 1842 when inmates were moved to Edmonton and this building went into other use. In 1848 Hampstead became a Poor Law authority and sanctioned a new building by H.E.Kendall and these are the buildings fronting onto New End. It is said that the stone breaking cells are still extant. In 1878 the infirmary was extended and in 1883 a new circular ward block was built. In 1896 another infirmary block was added on the corner with Heath Street. In the Great War the whole complex was a military hospital and facilities were improved, with X-rays and an operating theatre – it was thought wounds healed more quickly the higher the altitude. From 1922 the buildings were back with Hampstead Guardians and renamed the New End Hospital.
New End Hospital. The workhouse infirmary was renamed a hospital in 1922. In 1930 it was taken over by the London County Council and became a general hospital, including space for children and a maternity department. There was also an Out-patients Department and a Casualty Department. In 1931 a Thyroid Clinic gained an international reputation for the treatment of patients suffering from toxic goitre and myasthenia gravis. The Hospital joined the NHS in 1948 and it became recognised as a hospital for acutely sick patients and a centre for endocrinology. By 1955 the world's most modern radioactive iodine isotope was developed in the basement. From 1972 when the new Royal Free Hospital opened New End Hospital became a geriatric hospital. The site was closed in 1986, despite much opposition.  The site is now a gated estate developed by Berkeley Homes, 1996-7.  The old ward blocks were converted and refurbished for residential use in 1996-1998. The the main frontage to New End has been preserved.  This area is own called Upper Hampstead walk
Rotunda. This is a hospital ward with attached an ablution and water tank tower 1884-5 by Charles Bell, an early example of a circular ward, with central chimney and square tower to one side, with 3 floors containing wards, with accommodation staff. The tower includes a cast-iron water tank. It had a ventilation system and was the first free-standing example of the circular "ward tower" in the country. The design gave improved air, light and ventilation with the advantage of only needing a small site.
Boiler house chimney. This was built in 1898 and Designed by Keith D Young, built by Frederick Gough and Co of Hendon. As part of New End Hospital. It is in Red brick with Portland stone dressings, tapering towards the top. It is the only surviving part of the boiler and laundry house
16 Heathside Preparatory School. Middle school. This is a boarding and day ’preparatory 'school with five other sites nearby. Following some problems with Ofsted the school is now owed by Dukes Education and has a new head. After its parent company of 27 years, Remus White Limited went into administration. This site also contains their head office
23 Duke of Hamilton Pub. This pub has strong community focus which fields its own cricket and rugby teams. Named after a Civil War Royalist, it opened in 1721 rebuilt 1930s. It was a popular meeting place for actors Peter O'Toole, Oliver Reed and Richard Burton. Reed would be seen for long periods at the pub on a daily basis. . In 2015, its landlord barred some 800 members of community group Hampstead Neighbourhood Forum after their successful campaign to make the pub an Asset of Community Value against his wishes.]The pub closed in July 2017, and was reopened in early 2018 as the "Hampstead Lounge & Jazz Club and the Hampstead Jazz Club is based in its cellar.
27 Mortuary.  This was –part of the hospital and was linked to the hospital across the road by a tunnel. It is where Karl Marx was laid out. It became the New End Theatre in 1974. It is now the Village Shul.
27 New End Theatre founded in 1974 in the converted mortuary. It had a number of successes which transferred to both the West End and Broadway and also showed world premieres of works by Jean Anouilh, Steven Berkoff, and Arnold Wesker. It closed in 2011 because of declining audiences
27 Village Shul. An independent Orthodox congregation of around 50 families
16c Hampstead Provident Dispensary. This was built by local fundraising in thanks for escaping the cholera epidemic. IT was founded in 1846 by the Rev Thomas Ainger as a sick relief club and dispensary. Initially they used rooms in the workhouse but in 1850 following collections in churches land was purchased at New End and a three storied building opened in 1853. In January 1879 they amalgamated with the Hampstead Dispensary in Heath Street and then both operating from the New End premises. From 1911 Following the National Insurance Act it declined in importance and closed in 1948 on the creation of the National Health Service. The building was sold in 1950.and is now a private school
Samuel Hoare's British School. Opened by 1811 in a building. Paid for by Hoare, who also paid master's salary and other expenses? After the Parochial school was united with National Society but without religious test, Hoare closed the school, it later became the Baptist chapel.
Ebenezer Baptist chapel. In 1825 a group of seceders from a Hampstead Baptist congregation founded Ebenezer Strict Baptist chapel in New End, at first meeting in a house.    The Ebenezer chapel opened 1827 in a former schoolroom. In 1938 the Chapel was compulsorily purchased for flats

New End Square
Built to accommodate visitors to the Spa
Burgh House.  Saved from conversion to offices in 1979. The house hosts regular art exhibitions, serves as a classical concert venue and is home to the Hampstead Museum.  The house was built in 1704 and was the home of the Hampstead Spa's physician, Dr. William Gibbons. The current wrought-iron gate carries his initials.  Until the 1870s the house was known as Lewis House after another resident. In 1858 Burgh House was taken over by the Royal East Middlesex Militia, and served as the headquarters and officers' mess until 1881. The house returned to residential use in 1884. From 1937 until after the Second World War it was empty and it was eventually bought and restored by the local authority. This included demolition of barrack blocks in front of the building. In 1947 it reopened as a community centre with a Citizen's Advice Bureau in its basement. Problems with dry rot led to another closure in 1977, local residents launched a "Keep Burgh House" appeal, as a result leased the house. In 1979, it reopened with the museum
40 this was once a pub called The Hawk. Opened before 1748. It was rebuilt in 1815, and closed in the 1840s or 1850s.
Well Walk Pottery. This was the workshop of Christopher Magarshack.  He made ceramics of all sorts, as well as woodwork and in later years stained glass.  The pottery had originated in 1957 when his family bought Sidney Spall’s Grocer’s Shop and opened it as a studio.

North London Railway
The North London Railway from Hampstead Heath Station continues south westwards mainly through a tunnel in this section.

Perrin’s Court
This is a private road, partly made of mews type buildings. It has a granite sett surface.
Temperance Hall. Used by the Presbyterian congregation in the 1840s.

Perrin's Lane
A very old lane which linked Hampstead village to Frognal. It was earlier called Church Lane Perrin was the land owner
2 Henry Holiday stained-glass painter, set up a glassworks here in the late 1891. He made stained glass, mosaics, enamels and sacerdotal objects.

Pilgrim’s Lane
The northern part of the road was once Worsley Road. The road is named after Charles Pilgrim who had bought the manor

Prince Arthur Road
2a this was a Christian Science Church

Railway – North London Line
The North London Line is in a tunnel here – as it has been in the two squares to the east. This was opened in 1860 . Excavations for it were cut in two depth stages- the first about half of the depth needed but three times as wide in order to make a working area for men and machinery. the centre of the trench was to be the final tunnel area.  The tunnel was narrower than most other tunnels although the reason is not known. The width of the line crossing Finchley Road is also narrow and it could be guesed that the reason was financial. It is also likely that constant pumping was needed because of underground water.  The tunnel was the subject of major works in 1995 to install overhead electric wiring for Eurostar.

Rosslyn Hill
Was at one time called Red Lion Hill after a pub which was on the site of the later police station. Named after Alexander Wedderburn, Earl of Rosslyn, and Lord Chancellor who was sacked from the Woolsack in 1861.
Mount Grove. This was the home of Longman the publisher, with an exhibition garden and many big trees. Also called the Rookery. The building of Prince Arthur Road shaved away a northern strip of the site. The cedar trees are said to have been kept but the rooks had cleared off
Hampstead Wesleyan Church. Built 1870 and demolished about 1934. This was on some of the Mount Grove site and was on the corner of Prince Arthur Road. They had previously been in South Hill Park from 1869 and bought this Site in 1870. The building was red brick by Charles Bell.  A gallery was added in 1878 but the tower was never built. The site includes a school, vestries, and a caretaker's house. The site is now flats.
65 Vane House. This was named after 17th Henry Vane who was an ex-American settler who became an administrator under the Commonwealth.  Eventually he quarrelled with Cromwell. He was executed on Tower Hill after the Restoration. The House demolished but RSA plaque of 1897 remains on a surviving gate pier 'statesman lived here. There were subsequently a number of distinguished residents and it was eventually bought by the Soldiers' Daughters' Home and demolished in 1972
65 The Soldiers' Daughters' Home. This was founded in 1855 with   the object 'to nurse, clothe, board, and educate the destitute female children  ... of soldiers’.  Initially they were at Rosslyn House. The girls did all the household work themselves, assisted in the kitchen, nursery and sick room, and so on. Following extensive fund-raising, they bought Vane House, to build permanent premises and a new building, was opened in 1858, by Prince Albert. The building for 200 girls was in the Early English style by William Munt. From 1924, the Home was maintained by the London County Council. But 1945 when the charity turned into an independent all-age boarding school and girls attended local schools. In the late 1960s, a modern building was constructed and the old ones demolished. A modern housing estate was built. In 1987 –now called Vane Close  -  the Home was renamed the Royal School, Hampstead, with girls being admitted from all armed services, plus civilian pupils.. In 2011 it was closed and in 2012 North Bridge House Senior School took over the Royal School site with an address in Vane Close.
Drinking fountain. In the wall of 65. This dates from around c1875 and may be associated with the Metropolitan Drinking Fountain & Cattle Trough Association.  It is in polished granite. And has a semicircular animal bowl at the bottom which says ‘"The merciful man is merciful to his beast".  The main fountain is a projecting semicircular basin with a slab which says "Jesus said 'Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again but whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst".  An also around the arch "Ask and ye shall receive: Seek and ye shall find".
48 Rosslyn Arms. This pub was established as the Red Lion and was rebuilt in 1869. It was then called the Rosslyn Arms. It Closed in 2012
40 Lloyds Bank Built 1891 by Horace Field, with a corner entrance
Red Lion Inn. This was a very old, maybe 14th, house.  It was leased from the Dean and Chapter of Westminster, on condition that a truss of hay was given for the horse of the mass-priest, who came up from the Abbey on Sundays... This inn is long gone.
26 Police Station. Desiged by, Dixon Butler in 1910-13. They had previously been on the other side of the road. It included a stable and harness room, railings and lamps. .This building is no longer n use by the police.
K6 telephone box: outside the police station this is a K6
Police station. The police moved here in 1868 to a site was next to the sailors’ daughters’ home. They moved across the road to no 26 in 191.
64-66 buildings of 1890s on the site of the Chicken House Inn. This may have been a 17th hunting lodge. There was a window and a plaque to say that the King and the Duke of Buckingham has slept there. It later became a pub and was demolished in the 19th. Originally it was a low brick building. It pub closed around 1754
Queen Elizabeth's House. This building had a local tradition that Queen Elizabeth once spent a night there. Various 19th historians who knew the building were very disparaging about this claim. Later it was taken over by a religious order that changed its name to "St. Elizabeth's Home." And ran it as girls’ boarding school – presumably one of the many that were in his area in the 19th.
Unitarian Chapel built 1862 by John Johnson in Kentish rag.  The aisle and chancel built 1885 by Thomas Worthington. The main entrance was moved to Rosslyn Hill in 1898 and a line of shops was demolished to achieve this.  Furnishings and monuments of high quality indicate the strength of Hampstead Unitarianism.

Rudall Crescent
Laid out in 1878
13a Penn Studios, with plaque to artist Mark Gertler.  There is a sculpture gallery at eaves level.

Shepherd's Walk,
Royal Mail Delivery Office
4a The Old Chapel.  This is an architect’s office

Streatley Place
A tiny passage between the workhouse site and New End School. It continues as a footpath through the old hospital estate and eventually gets to Back Lane.
New End Primary School. Built as New End Board School in 1905-6, by the London County Council Schools branch and designed by .T.J. Bailey. Pevsner says it is ‘one of his most remarkable buildings; squeezed onto a tiny hillside site, and handled in an exceptionally confident free Baroque manner’.  It is dramatically tall. It is said to have been built above a spring going down to the river Fleet.  Since 1951 it has been New End Primary school.
12 City Arms. This pub became the school house for New End School from around 1910.  It closed as a pub in 1905

Waterhouse Close
Waterhouse Close. Housing for the elderly by Camden Architect's Department, 1980-2.

Wedderburn Road
Another road named after Alexander Wedderburn, future Earl Rosslyn – Scottish lawyer and Lord Chancellor.
Wedderburn House. Small mansion block of 1884

Well Road
White Bear Place. The Old White Bear pub dates back to 1704, rebuilt 1930s and closed in 2014. It is the subject of a long-running campaign for it to be restored as a pub

Well Walk
Well Walk ran from the centre of Hampstead to The Wells. (Which are to the north of this square).

Willoughby Road,
On grounds of Carlisle House, sold to the British Land Co. in 1875,
Trinity Court. This was the Sunday School for the Presbyterian Church which stood on the corner with Rosslyn Road and converted in the early 1960s.

Willow Road
The road s built on the Line of stream going to the river Fleet. The source arose near Flask Walk. Until the early 19th the stream supported watercress beds
Retaining walls and brick arches include a brick stairway which went to Willow Buildings, 19th flats above.

Windmill Hill
Mount Vernon House originally called Windmill Hill House was built on the site of the other windmill between 1725 and 1728 by William Knight, a Hampstead timber smith.

Sources
Acorn Archive.  Web site
AIR studios web site
Beamon. The Ice Houses of Britain
Borer. Hampstead and Highgate
British History Online. Hampstead. Web site
British Listed Buildings Web site
Camden History review
Camden History review
Children’s Homes.  Web site
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Clunn. The Face of London
English Heritage. Blue Plaque Guide
Field. London place names
Hampstead Baptist Church. Web site
Hillman. London Under London
Historic England. Web site
London Borough of Camden. Web site.
London Encyclopaedia,
London Gardens online. Web site
London Remembers. Web site
London Transport. Country Walks
Lost Hospitals of London. Web site
Lucas. London
Mitchell and Smith. North London Line
Nairn. Modern Buildings
national Archives, Web site
National Archives, Web site
Pevsner and Cherry.  London North
St. Anthony’s School. Web site.
St.Johns Church. Web site
Summerson. Georgian London
The Underground Map. Web site
Wade. Hampstead Past
WAGGS. Web site
Walford. Highgate to the Lea
Wikipedia. As appropriate