Monday, 19 January 2015

Railway from London Bridge to Gravesend. Plumstead

Railway from London Bridge to Gravesend
The line continues straight eastwards

Post to the west Woolwich
Post to the east Plumstead
Post to the north Broadwater and Arsenal

Ancona Road
St. Patrick's Roman Catholic Primary School. This is an Infant and Junior School with a Nursery. It originated at Coupland Terrace, in an iron building in 1891 and was maintained from Parish funds. In 1893, the new church opened in Conway Rd, and the school was beneath it. A new building opened in 1909. The boys and girls department merged in 1930 to form one school, the infants became a separate school. In 1960 Commonwealth Hall at Abbey Wood was hired from the RACS until St. Thomas –a-Becket School to take the extra children. Up to 1962 St. Patrick’s had secondary pupils but then they joined pupils from St.Peter’s to form a new secondary school at Briset Road. In 1968 a New School was completed, initially Infant School and Offices. The current school hall is the old St. Patrick's Church
Ann Street
The area is now all 1960s local authority housing but the previous terraces were badly bombed in the Second World War. For instance – twelve people from three families killed in their Anderson shelters in October 1940.
104 Royal Standard Pub. This was on the south west corner with Glyndon Road.  This dated from at least the 1850s and was still there in 1956.  There are now planters on the site and a mosaic panel describing the Glyndon Estate
44 Bridge Tavern. Demolished in 1960

Blendon Terrace
Birds Nest Hole. This is a ravine between Blendon Terrace and Vicarage Park.
Plumstead Common Nature Reserve. This is behind Blendon Terrace and is a wooded area containing which had long been neglected as an unofficial dumping ground. It has now been cleared by local people. It is an area of oak woodland with holly. There are also new steps on the east and west sides of the reserve
St. Margaret’s Church. This was on the site of what is now Azile Everitt House.  The church was built in 1858 but had structural problems and was closed in 1966 and later demolished.

Brewery Road
The road was laid out after 1860 when the north side was the site of extensive brick works.  This may have been the brickworks belonging to Lewis Davis
Co-op shop opened in 1880 – one of the earliest to be opened by RACS. The store had a bell supplied by Gillett of Croydon. Its fate is not known
South Rise School. The school dates back to 1874 when it was a London School Board school. Initially it was known as Earl Street School and later renamed Earl Rise School. The school at first took boys and girls and there was a separate infants department. It was named South Rise School sometime after 1970.
Richmond Gospel Hall. This is a place of worship for Brethren. The hall is probably post Great War.
Chapel for the Peculiar People. This was on the south side of the road, near or on the junction with Waverley Road and dated from at least the early 1890s. The Peculiar People were an Essex originating sect which became very strong in Plumstead.  They are now the Union of Evangelical Churches which does not have a Plumstead branch.

Burrage Grove
Burrage Grove School. This was an early London School Board School built in 1874.  It was eventually closed and was used as an adult education centre – part of Thameside Institute and Woolwich College of Further Education. In due course this has become Greenwich Community College.
Burrage Grove Centre used for adult education by Greenwich Community College.
Heronsgate School. A branch of this Thamesmead base infants school, known as their Royal Arsenal centre, opened in 2012 in part of the old Burrage Road School.
Matchless Motor Cycle Factory.  The factory was built and owned by the Collier brothers who made Matchless motor cycles here from 1899 to 1966. They had begun manufacture in Herbert road and had won successive TT Races; a Matchless ridden by Charlie Collier won the first single-cylinder race in the first TT in 1907. Colliers produced pedal bicycles in the late 1800s and built their first production motorcycles in 1912 powered by their own units. Colliers designs evolved into the traditional diamond-shaped frame they added one of the first pillion seats in 1903 and chain drive in 1905. They bought AJS in the early 1930s and moved production south from Wolverhampton forming Associated Motorcycles Limited. In the 1960s, the Matchless four-stroke twin was replaced with the Norton twin and by 1967; the Matchless singles had ceased production.  It was later part of Norton-Villiers-Triumph and their machines were assembled at Plumstead using engines from Wolverhampton and frames from Manchester. In 1968 the Greater London Council issued a compulsory purchase order and the works closed in July 1969.  The main factory site was bordered by Plumstead Road to the north, Maxey Road to the east and Burrage Grove to the south with the race, packing, spares and repairs shops on the south side of Burrage Grove next to the railway line.  Burrage Grove was always given as their address.
54 Sunday School. This seems to have been connected to the Woolwich Baptist Tabernacle.  It was there until the end of the Great War but by the 1950s had gone.

Burrage Road
The name of the road relates to a local estate known as ‘Borowosh Maner’ in 1464 and derives from Burwash in East Sussex. This part of Plumstead was developed from 1849. Burrage Road led to the Manor house.
16-18 Lotus Club. This was the Co-op Club
Electricity box with embossed Woolwich Coat of arms – corner of Burrage Road and Burrage Place
23 Queen's Arms.  Says it is a sports pub
89-91 Crown and Sceptre pub. Long gone
158 Lord Raglan.  A pub of 1855
St.James with St. Paul’s Church. This is now converted to housing. The architect is unknown. It was built as a proprietary chapel for Burrage Town in 1855. It became a parish church in 1878. The date of closure is unknown but it was converted in 1966 to the Greenwich Young People's Theatre. This project originated in the 1960s When Greenwich theatre was set up and included a youth theatre. It moved into premises here in 1970. In 2010 the company left Burrage Road for the Tramshed.  The church had however acquired an Act of Parliament in 1968 in order to sell it but it was only sold in 1981 and again in 2003 when the theatre left. It was converted to apartments in 2005. Inside were wall tablets to the Pattison family of Pattison's Pit. 
St James British School. This was a school for boys and girls at the rear of the church in what is now Congleton Grove.  This dated from at least the 1860s.

Congleton Grove
This road is made up of what was Church Terrace or Church Street from Burrage Road and also the renamed southern end of Maxey Road, previously also Percy Terrace
117 The Congleton Arms. This was a Courage pub which was closed and demolished in the early 1970s. A room upstairs was used by the local Masonic Lodge along with a number of provident societies.

Conway Road
St Patricks Roman Catholic chapel. Built in 1893 as a permanent school and church which were built at the corner with Griffin Road. The architect was Alexander Henry Kersey, the vendor of the site. The church was formally opened in 1892. This brick building has a first-floor chapel with a school room below. By 1960 it was too small and the Catholic Church moved to a redundant Anglican church nearby. This building is now used as a weekday and school chapel. A  Presbytery is attached.

Dawson Close
This was previously Charles Street – but it was a continuation of Dawson Street, now gone, to the east.
Dawson's Brickfield. This was between Maxey road and Richmond and Pattison Roads. There were two brickyards – run separately by a father and son – and they also had yards at East Wickham and in Dartford,

Durham Rise
The western section of the road lies along the southern boundary of the Kent Water Works site.
Earl Rise
St John's Church. Evangelical Anglican church. The first church here was built in 1883 and demolished in 1953 after damage in the Second World War. This church was built inside the ruined walls using parts of the transept and chancel walls and some of the original windows. It has a rectangular nave and there are two extensions attached for the vestry and a library. The church hall is to the west and it shares the main entrance to the church. 
Mosaic Panel the wall of a block of flats which front onto Glyndon Road.

Elmley Street
River Heights. Tower blocks built 1970 with 24 floors

Glyndon Road
Glyndon Road Brickfield owned by Lewis Davis in the early 19th. This was south of the western end of the road
Glyndon Estate This was a redevelopment done in 1959. It had worthy environmental aims with the elimination of through roads and ten acres of open space.
6 William Barefoot produced early Woolwich Labour Party publications here, including the Pioneer
40 The London Lei Zang Si Bhuddist Temple. This was previously the Prince Rupert pub.  Originally it was the Park Estate Tavern it dates from the 1880s.
179-359 River Heights. Tower Block. This is a tenant managed co-operative
Amalgamated Engineers Club was here before the Great War. This was on the south west corner with Villas Road on an area which is now parkland.
Primitive Methodist church here in the 1890s. This was on the south east corner with Robert Street.

Griffin Road
2a this long low building is now in use as a restaurant.  It seems originally to have been a cow house – presumably for a local dairy.
East Plumstead Baptist Church. The church dates from 1880 however the site is shown as allotments on the 1914 map so the current church is later. It is a red brick church - with staircases either side on the Brewery Road frontage leading to first floor halls. There are crenulations and a spire. There are considerable buildings to the rear and doors going into other halls and rooms.   It also supports many organisations, including a pre-school and is a busy centre.

Heavitree Close
Old People’s Dwellings
Coronation Garden. The garden was provided by the Woolwich Borough Council to commemorate the Coronation of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II 2 June 1953

Heavitree Road
Reservoir. The Reservoir was built for the Woolwich Plumstead and Charlton Pure Water Consumers Company in 1854 but this later became the Kent Water Co. A plaque above the access doorway is for 1854 –although it is thought this may be the year the roof was added. The reservoir itself may date 1840. It may therefore be longest serving brick built 19th reservoir in London. There are two tanks separated by a common wall and which are divided by a raised walkway along the central dividing wall and linked by arched openings in the upper part of the wall. Cast-iron beams support brick jack arches. The walls are of yellow brick masonry set in a lime mortar. The brick floors fall to a central drain in each tank.
Plumstead Alms-houses were built in 1896. This part of the almshouses was destroyed in the Second World War II but later rebuilt.
Majendie Road
Vivien Majendie was the a 19th explosives expert and Chief Inspector of Explosives based at the Arsenal.

Maxey Road
Maxey Road once ran up to Plumstead Common but has been curtailed with 1960s local authority developments. The east side ran alongside Dawson’s brick field
Windsor Castle. Pub dating from the 1880s and demolished in 1971. It was a Courage house.
Windsor Castle Hall. This was a hall attached to the pub. It was a cinema 1909- 1915.
Plumstead Baptist Tabernacle. Dating from 1861 and in use until 1930. This stood on the corner of what was then Dawson Street. They appear at one time to have had a very active cricket club.

Mount Pleasant Road
Built on the site of Plumstead Road Schools

Orchard Road
Orchard Road, is now a side turning but was once the name for the northern end of Ancona Road.

Plumstead High Street
24 Rose and Crown Pub. Closed and now in other use as a restaurant and a hairdressers
Plumstead Road Schools. London School Board School opened in 1879 and included a separate infants’ department.

Plumstead Road
The north side of Plumstead Road on this stretch was entirely taken up by the wall of the Arsenal.   There were however gates – Plumstead Gate was opposite the end of Charlotte Street – but these, like the rest of the Arsenal, are not shown on most maps.
47 Lord Panmure Pub. Closed and demolished.
52 Essex Arms. Pub, closed and demolished.
69 Clarence Arms. Pub, closed and demolished.
91 Dover Castle. Pub, closed and demolished
131 Railway Tavern pub. Closed and demolished.
131 Greenwich Islamic Centre. Sharia mosque in a modern centre, with educational and sport facilities. This was built in 1996 following meetings in local houses and is on the site of a derelict pub. 
132 Fountain Pub. Closed and demolished.
Plumstead Station.  Opened in 1859 it lies between Abbey Wood and Woolwich Arsenal stations on Southern Eastern Trains. It was built on the North Kent Line in 1849 following the huge 19th population increase in Plumstead. The station buildings stand on an over bridge at the country end. These buildings are three-storeys high because the platforms are below in a cutting. The main building appears to be modest and single-storey with some fancy brickwork and tall chimneys. At platform level the trackside fa├žade has three arches, looking like a viaduct, and behind these were the offices and facilities. This design is unique to Plumstead. Both platforms also had a canopy with valances similar to those at Dartford At first there was no footbridge, passengers having to cross the line via the road but a  lattice footbridge was installed in 1894 and had a roof for a while. There were three platforms one being an up line facing bay connected to sidings and including a water tower and crane. This was removed in 1926 electrification for electrification and only the tower and crane were left. The track bed of the bay line was in-filled to platform level and a wooden waiting shelter erected there. In the 1960s this shelter was removed along with footbridge roof and the platforms were rebuilt in concrete.

Polthorne Grove
Polthorne Estate. Much council housing of the 1960s of mixed heights, Lyons Israeli Ellis for the G.L.C. 1962-6. 

Signal Box for Plumstead Station was at the western end of the platforms and was opened in 1892 to the South Eastern Railways in- house design.  It closed in 1926
The entry point for the North Kent Line to access the Arsenal was known as the Hole in the Wall. It had been originally made in 1824 for a horse drawn tramway. Inside the Arsenal was eventually a huge complex of light and heavy rail lines and systems. There was a single-track connection from the Plumstead goods sidings and this was eventually removed in 1967.
Sidings were provided for the connection to the Arsenal. There were there nine Goods sidings were east of the Plumstead road bridge. Some of these were later electrified and these have been retained.
Railway cutting between Woolwich and Plumstead.  Sycamore woodland with bramble and elm.  Lots of birds and animals.

Sandbach Place
Foxfield Primary School. This was built in the 1980s on a site previously occupied by housing as an amalgamation of Foxhill School and Bloomfield Road School and is currently being partly rebuilt.

Southport Road
This was once called Station Road

St Margaret's Grove
Shree Kurtch Satsang Swaminarayan Temple.  This is in the old drill hall building which was derelict. The temple committee bought the land in 1986. The murtis were ordered from India and arrived by sea. Before the temple, satsangis held sabhas at each other’s homes and at festivals large halls were hired. Eventually the temple was ready and the murtis were moved to their rightful place. The temple was inaugurated in 1988 and His Holiness 1008 Acharya Shree Tejendra Prasadji Maharaj was present.
St. Margaret's School. There is a plaque on the school which says it was Plumstead Central School with funding from the War Department and voluntary sources. The original School building dates back to 1856 with additional classrooms and buildings added in the 1970s.

Vicarage Park
Spiral Garden. A new garden built adjacent to the Azile Everitt block

Vicarage Road.
Deadman's Lane was later Vicarage Road and it was also at one time Bramblebury Lane
Bramblebury House, The Old Vicarage. House which was built between 1790 and 1793. It was the home of Captain Dickinson, Supt. Ordnance in 1811. It was built on the site of a previous mansion called Bramble Briars, part of the Clothworkers' Estate which stretched from Vicarage Park to Plumstead Common Road and since sold off for housing. After the closure of St Margaret's Church it was sold and eventually vandalised, and the interior fittings stolen. But the original interior has been totally lost and it is now flats.

Villas Road
Woolwich College.  In 1921 this was founded as Woolwich College of Further Education. In 1998 it amalgamated with Greenwich Community College .The build is by the Greater London Council by architect Frank Kinder and completed in 1967. There has been considerable building and additions since.

Walmer Terrace
Plumstead Radical Club. The Club was founded in 1887 at first in a small building on the corner of Southport Road and Walmer Terrace. The term 'Radicals' fell into disuse with the rise of the Labour Party. Membership grew and by 1891 the Club moved to the present site. It joined the C.I.U in 1892. The 1950s saw increasing membership and bar takings, with the Club becoming more popular than ever. The stage in the concert hall was demolished and a new bar and band rostrum replaced it.
89 Lord Derby. Closed and now in other use

Waverley Crescent
53-57 Plumstead Almshouses. There is a plaque saying they were set up by Colonel Hughes MP in 1896.

Waverley Road
Water Works. A water works was set up in 1861 called the Plumstead, Woolwich, and Charlton Consumers' Pure Water Company using a process of water softening developed by Doctor Clark for which a plant was set up on Shooters Hill.  A well was constructed, and the necessary plant was put up by the Company, which, however, afterwards became bankrupt, when the plant was bought by the Kent Waterworks Company in the early 1860s. The company engineer was Samuel Collett Homersham MICE. The well was at was then known as Rose Street (Waverley Road) and there were three further reservoirs from which water  and was pumped up to the higher level Heavitree Road reservoir, which acted as a service reservoir. The North Kent Water Company took IT over but was amalgamated with the Kent Water Works in 1864, which in turn became part of the Metropolitan Water Board. The site has been redeveloped with housing.

AJS. Web site
Aldous. Village London
AMC. Web site
Bygone Kent
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Clunn. The Face of London
Field. London Place Names
Foxfield School. Web site
Glencross. Buildings of Greenwich
Greenwich Antiquarians Transactions
Greenwich Industrial History blog
Greenwich Industrial History. Newsletter
Kent Rail. Web site
London Borough of Greenwich. Local List
London Encyclopaedia
Lost Pubs. Web site
Lotus Club. Web site
Matchless. Web site
Military railways in Kent
Nature Conservation in Greenwich
North West Kent Family History Society. Web site
Norton Villiers. Web site
Plumstead Common Environment Group. Our Common Story
Plumstead Common Environment Group. Web site
Plumstead Radical Club.Web site
Shree Kurtch Satsang Swaminarayan Temple. Web site
Smith. History of Charlton,
South East London Industrial Archaeology
Spurgeon. Discover Greenwich and Charlton
Spurgeon. Discover Woolwich
St. Margaret's School. Web site
St.Patrick’s Church. Web site
St. Patrick’s School. Web site
Woolwich Antiquarians Journal
Woolwich Architecture Trail

Saturday, 10 January 2015

Railway from London Bridge to Gravesend. Woolwich

Railway from London Bridge to Gravesend
The line continues in an eastward direction

Post to the west West Woolwich
Post to the east Plumstead
Post to the north North Woolwich and Woolwich

Angelsea Road
The road is named after the pub on its corner with Woolwich New Road and dates from the 1850s.
Chrisma New Testament Church of God. This was Woolwich and District Synagogue and is a white modernist building built in 1962.  It was previously the site of St Andrews’ Presbyterian Church built in 1873 which was taken over by the Jewish congregation in 1924 and replaced in 1962. The synagogue closed in 1998.
Carmel Chapel. This was a Strict Baptist chapel of 1866 built by John Vaughan. By 1908 it was used by Unitarians and then Oddfellows, and was later St.Peter's Youth Club. It was demolished and the site is now housing.

Anglesea Avenue
Built on a market garden area

Angelsea Mews
Built on the site of Field Cottage, built in 1887 and used, and expanded, by a succession of building firms.
5 Ram Darbar. Hindu Temple. Field Cottage was bought by the South East Hindu Association and the temple built on the site in 1996 and made to look English rather than Indian,
5a Angelsea Medical Centre. Built 1999

Artillery Place
The Royal Regiment of Artillery was founded by Col.Albert Borgard at Tower Place in The Warren in 1716. The site was too small and the Board of Ordnance purchased farmland here in 1776 from Richard Bowater. In 1802-06 the Board purchased rights to the use of Woolwich Common and from thenceforth expansion led to increased enclosure of it. The Regiment was there to defend what became the Arsenal, the Dockyard and the Dover Road but it was not part of the army for whom barracks were not then usual. By 1810 there were Barracks, the Barrack Field, the Gun Park and the Royal Military Repository and many more buildings have been erected since.  The Regiment left Woolwich for Larkhill in 2007 to be replaced by the Kings Troop Royal Horse Artillery in 2012.
Royal Artillery Barracks. This is said to be the longest Georgian facade in England and it is all that remains of the original building. Behind it were buildings to house 4,000 men and 100 horses in 1772. The eastern section was built 1775-82 by an unnamed staff architect, the western section in 1802 by James Wyatt. It was eventually one of the largest barracks in Europe.  The barracks behind the facade were modernised in 1967 and can now house 1,700 people.   In the centre is a triumphal arch, surmounted by trophies, a lion and a unicorn.   There have been numerous changes and additions since – Women’s Royal Army Corps Quarters, REME with a computer, and so on. There has recently been major rebuilding with the departure of the Royal Artillery and the arrival of the King’s Troop.
Mess. The projecting colonnade in the frontage of the barracks is the Palm Court, or entrance lobby, to the Officers Mess. It leads into the Hall, with the Mess Room on the left and a staircase to the Music Room. The Mess Room was built in 1802, and extended in 1843 – ‘the most magnificent in the kingdom’. The central chandelier – now at Larkhill - is thought to be have come Carlton House (demolished in 1829). At the end of the room was 'Armed Science', a statue by John Bell – also now at Larkhill. The two rooms contained a large collection of portraits of monarchs and artillery commandants – including General Sabine by George Frederick Watts. There is a stuffed tiger in the ladies.
Royal Artillery Theatre. This had been the Barrack chapel, but later became a theatre and an other ranks recreation room. Burnt out in 1903 it was rebuilt as a professional theatre open to the public and managed as such. After the Second World War it was used for boxing and demolished in 1962
Silver Room.  Built in 1967 for permanent display of the mess silver. The collection includes many astonishing pieces –  assume they have all gone to Larkhill.
Royal Artillery Barracks Parade Ground.  Originally paved with red gravel brought from Shooters Hill.   
Rapier Dome – a geodesic dome built in the late 1960s for the Air Defence Regiment, Royal Artillery – it was used for training in anti aircraft missiles, and was latterly a store.
Bhurtpore Gun. A brass gun cast for Emperor Aurangzeb of India in 1677 and captured at the siege of Bhurtpore in 1826.  Decorated with lions and tigers.  It has now gone to Larkhill along with other guns which were on display
Crimea War Memorial. A bronze statue of Victory by John Bell standing on the front parade of the Royal Artillery Barracks.  It dates from 1860. .
Ancient stone from Luneburg Heath, Germany, where Germany surrendered on 7th May 1945. Now moved to Sandhurst.

Woolwich Baths. Designed by Henry Hudson Church in 1894. The original structure had 52 slipper baths, a wash house and a laundry as well as two pools. To cope with the need for water there was an artesian well with a pump and engine house and there were three boilers for hot water to the baths and the library. It was renovated several times and closed in 1982.  It was passed to the Polytechnic and was used by the Students Union.  It is now offices and rehearsal facilities.

Belford Grove
This was previously called Back Lane.
St. Martin’s Mission. This was a mission in a shed from 1879 to 1906. It was later demolished.

Beresford Square
Beresford Gate. This was the entrance gate to the Arsenal but which is now isolated from the main site by the intervening through road built to its north in the 1980s. The gate was built here in 1828 by Col John Jones in a new space created with the agreement of the Woolwich Town Commissioners. It is in brick, with footway openings, lodges and decorative piles of shot – as well as replica mortars which were specially cast. The gates themselves were made by Halls of Dartford. The lodges were used for police, and in time a floor was inserted and other rooms built and used as waiting rooms and so on.  The gatehouse was supposed to have been demolished when the Arsenal closed but it escaped this and is now owned by Greenwich Council and has been renovated and used as offices.  
Woolwich Market. The market charter dates from 1618 and it has had various sites around the town. Traders eventually moved to Beresford Square and would not go elsewhere and in 1897 it became the official site. By 1880 it had been laid out by the local Board and a urinal and a tollhouse had been built by 1890.  There were underground lavatories in 1912.  It was eventually pedestrianised in 1984 and portals were erected on the side roads with historical references
The Woolwich Ship. Sculpture by Tom Grimsey installed 1999 but has since been removed.
Holy Trinity Church. This stood at the corner with Beresford Street.  It was set up by a local group who thought there should be an Anglican church in the town centre. A chapel was built in 1833 by John Hopkins.  It was designed to be entered from Beresford Square and it became a fashionable church. It was eventually consecrated in 1852 but road widening for traffic meant that some of the grand frontage was removed and it was closed in 1960 and demolished in 1962.
1 Century Cinema.This opened in 1913 built on the site of a bookshop. It was operated by the Arsenal Cinema Co. set up by retired Royal Artillery officers. It was built by R.Allen of Allen and Eley.  It had four dressing rooms for artistes who could appear on the 8 foot deep stage. In the early-1930s it was expanded, and was operated by the Selwyn Cinema circuit and then taken over by the Granada Theatres in 1952, and re-named Century Cinema. It closed in 1961 and was demolished in 1968. There is an supermarket on the site.
3-4 Supermarkets with shops and offices replacing the Salutation Inn and slum housing.
5 this is partly on the site of the Salutation Inn. This had been on a site in Greens End to the south but was rebuilt here when the ropeyard closed in 1833.  It was eventually replaced by shops in 1892.
15-18 Ordnance Arms. Built in 1889 by James Chapman on the site of the old pub but much bigger and with some shops. Structural iron columns divide the bars and there was a first floor club room.

Bloomfield Road
36 Duke of Cambridge.  Pub of 1856, with Truman’s green tiling on the ground floor. Closed, demolished and replaced with housing
Nightingale Primary School. This was built in 1978 by Alan Sivell on a domestic scale, with home bays and quiet areas around central practical spaces.  It is named for Florence Nightingale who was responsible for hospital design and training facilities in Woolwich.
The School House. This is two sites, one in Bloomfield Road, the other in Sandy Hill Road.  These flats were originally a school built in 1899 by Thomas Jerram Bailey, Consulting Architect and Surveyor to the London School Board. The Secondary School was on this Bloomfield Road site.  On the front elevation is inscribed: 'School Board for London, Bloomfield Road School, Plumstead'. It was called Bloomfield Road School, or Woolwich Secondary School for Boys and was a Secondary Modern, becoming a comprehensive. In the 1970s it merged with Shooters Hill School and moved to become Eaglesfield School on the Red Lion Lane site.  The buildings on this site were then taken by the Woolwich Polytechnic Upper School but this closed before 2000. It was then bought by a housing developer and turned into flats.
69 Franz Fanon House. Housing and community care hostel managed by Ujima Housing Association, together with a terrace of 6 houses, also described as an NHS Hospital. This was built in 2000 by Walter Menteth Architects.  It is on the site of a former print factory, Precision Presswork Limited

Brookhill Road
The road is in the valley of the medicinal stream from Shooters Hill. The road was built in 1806 by the Board of Ordnance. 
Board of Ordnance land. From 1808 the land on the west side of the road was owned by the Board of Ordnance. By 1810 they had built a mortuary and other buildings along the road and by the 1860s the site was largely stabling. To the north were married quarters for artillery men, known as The Cambridge Quarters or Cambridge Cottages.
Connaught Estate. In the 1950s Cambridge Cottages were cleared and the Metropolitan Borough of Woolwich bought the site. The London County Council insisted that it should be used for housing. By 1966 the site,  which had been stables but by then the Motor Transport Lines, had been cleared and acquired by the London Borough of Greenwich. Housing was built on both sites. 
Pattison’s sandpit. This lay between Brookhill Road and Anglesea Road. Some of the area was also known as Waterman’s Fields.
83 Walpole Arms.  This was a successor to the Fountain Tavern, which was built in 1843 with a garden, and concert room. The pub was built in 1857 with a billiard-room replacing the concert room. It was probably built by C. G. Dyson for Charringtons, and was named after the new road opposite which was itself named for Col.Walpole. The pub closed in 2005 and is now New Walpole House with five flats managed by ASRA and a beauty shop below.

Calderwood Street
This was formerly called William Street, renamed for Polytechnic governor, William Calderwood.
Corner site with Powis Street.  On this site had been a house adapted into a bank in 1840. The area was developed in the early 1970s and a Littlewoods' shop built here fronting onto Powis Street.
Woolwich Radical Club. In the 1880s this faced the end of Thomas Street and had previously been an auction house. It is now part of the area developed in the early 1970s which includes what is now the Vista Building.
Sainsburys store. This was part of the area developed in the early 1970s. This opened in 1973 and was then the largest in London. Above it  are six storeys of car park.
Masonic Hall. This was behind some buildings on the west side of the street and had, in 1800, been an Ebenezer Chapel. It later became an auction room, and is now part of the multi story car park complex and Morgan Grampion House
Morgan Grampion House. Later known as Miller Freeman House. This is a modernist block of 1972 by Sir John Burnet, Tait and Partners. It was converted to housing in 2002 and is now called The Vista Building.
Market. A market was built on the south side of the street between what is now Calderwood Street and Bathway after 1809.  It was laid out by the Town Commissioners with sheds round an open yard inside a wall. Traders did not like it and did not use it and by 1824 it was a sacking factory.  Once Town Halls had been built either side of it, it became the borough works yard. And eventually was the site of the library.
First Old Town Hall. A single storey town hall was built in 1840 by the Town Commissioners, west of the ex-market. It was sold to the police on completion.
Woolwich Library. This is on the site of the first short lived Town Hall. It was built by Henry Hudson Church, and has a central bow window. It opened in 1901, adoption of the Libraries’ Act having been resisted by the Woolwich Board of Health.  There is a panel with the engraved names of the, by then almost defunct, Board of Health. The library included reading rooms and newspaper rooms, all of which were variously rearranged over the years. It closed in 2011 and is in use as council offices.
Old Town Hall. A classical building of 1842 used as the town hall until 1906.  It was built on the east side of the ex-market. There is a rear extension along Polytechnic Street. It is a simple vestry hall with a hall and board room over an apartment and offices. There is a lamp holder over the entrance. From the start there were calls for more space – it was used by the Woolwich Board of Health, the county court, and the coroner’s office as well as other civic functions. It was extended in 1892 but was still inadequate for the new Metropolitan Borough.  It was eventually replaced in 1906. From 1927 it was used as an infant welfare centre and later for a variety of other organisations.
Island Business Centre. Woolwich Polytechnic which became the University of Greenwich. The Polytechnic was founded in 1890 by Quintin Hogg, working with George Diddin, an Arsenal fitter, as Woolwich Polytechnic and from 1969 became known as Thames Polytechnic. It was the first to be established in the country after the original Regent Street Polytechnic. Originally the Polytechnic used a house built for John Hudson in 1808 –and around this the Polytechnic grew.   Within the Calderwood Street buildings can be found the remains of this house embedded in other buildings.  By the 1970s this main campus complex occupied a large space between Calderwood and Wellington Streets. It catered for young people studying for careers in the Royal Arsenal, with the various military organisations as well as other local industries.  The complex contains buildings of different periods in a variety of architectural styles. The original Polytechnic building of 1891, by the Woolwich architect, Henry Hudson Church, is in Calderwood Street with the inscription 'Woolwich Polytechnic Young Men a Christian Institute' (but there were always female students) over the original entrance.   An original gymnasium and hall became a lecture theatre in 1989. Also added was an art department along with physics, chemistry and engineering laboratories – and eventually libraries, refectories, and much else. At the corner of Calderwood Street and Thomas Street is the baroque entrance of 1915, behind is a foyer, a rotunda in a well, with circular balustrades elegant glazed dome, built in 1915 by architects Figgis & Mumby. At the corner of Calderwood and Polytechnic Streets is the Main Hall, built in 1935 added by J.C. Anderson.  In Wellington Street is a modernist building of 1964 by the London County Council Architect’s Department – inside at the back a lecture hall sits as a cantilevered box.    What has become the University of Greenwich left the site in 2001, sold it, and the site is now in commercial and other use.  The word ‘Polytechnic’ remains written on a high gable and only visible from the reception suite in new Wellington Street offices.
Sikh Temple. Gurdwara. Built in 1816 this was originally the Methodist Chapel for the Royal Artillery.  It has a large classical portico and a series of round headed arched recesses and is said to have been inspired by Wesley’s City Road Chapel.  The building was sold in 1977 to the local Sikhs who have adapted it.
2-5 This is planned to be a Sikh residential care home
Soldiers Institute and Sunday School. This was built in 1899 next to the chapel. It had a schoolroom, bathrooms for soldiers, and rooms for private study. The Sikhs have adapted it as a community hall and a free kitchen.

Charles Grinling Walk
Charles Grinling was a Christian Socialist who lived in Woolwich 1889-1939.  The area was developed in the early 1950s by the Metropolitan Borough of Woolwich with the London County Council.

Conduit Road
Baptist Chapel built in 1861, closed in 1969, and merged with other Baptist churches in the area

Connaught Road
Modern flats on the site of the 1778 military hospital built by the Board of Ordnance.
Brookhill Children’s Centre

Crescent Road
Part of Burrage Town 1840s. 
42 St Peter's Roman Catholic Primary School. The school was originally in a building adjacent to the church in Woolwich New Road
62 Sir Robert Peel pub. Now in use Guru Nanak Bhai Lalo Khalsa School Skih supplementary school
Congregational Sunday school present in the 1860sh.  Later in 1900 there was a Free Methodist Church

Frederick Place
34 Freemason’s Tavern. Closed. Also called Bag O’Nails

General Gordon Place
The square had been officially opened in 1928 after the closing of the smoke hole.  It was named General Gordon Square after the hero of Khartoum who was born locally and following a petition about the naming.  Equitable House was built on one side and the road itself became a bus station but much of the site now covered by the square remained with roads, houses and shops on it. From the 1960s the area was seen as having development potential and 20 years of negotiations and compulsory purchases followed. In 1983 various schemes collapsed and it was decided to turn the area into a temporary public square - – and is now seen as permanent and it now serves as a focal point for the town.  It was relandscaped in 2009. 
Smoke Hole. This originated from the coming of the railway in 1849 and led to the area being known as "The Smoke Ole" because of the open cutting that ventilated the tunnel into Woolwich Arsenal Station. It was closed in 1926 when the line was electrified and following many petitions.
The Fortune of War. This stood in what was Cross Street in the 1840s and was rebuilt in 1906. Later it became a mosque which was demolished in 1982 as part of the redevelopment of the Square
Woolwich Equitable House. The head office of the Woolwich Building Society, built 1935, with art deco motifs and banking hall. Woolwich Equitable Building Society was founded at 145 Powis Street in 1847. The head office moved here in 1935, and then left for a new head office building in Bexleyheath in 1989. This building is by architects Grace and Farmer - and there is an owl above the entrance on Woolwich New Road.  Inside were many labour saving gadgets – centralised vacuum cleaning for one. There was also a basement car park.  When the Building Society was demutualised the building was sold by Barclays Bank and is now offices, restaurants and like things.
Duke of Connaught Coffee Tavern and Royal Assembly Rooms. This was a big fireproof building with the coffee on the ground floor and a big hall upstairs, used as a cinema at one time. In the 1960s it was a temperance billiard hall.  It was cleared as part of the abortive development scheme in 1980s – and allegedly some relics kept. A supermarket was built on the site in 1990 with inside a mural by Greenwich Mural Workshop ‘Food Production’. 
Tramshed. This was an electricity substation of 1910 for the London County Council tramways  probably designed by Vincent Harris to look good in a prominent area.   Inside was a ten ton overhead crane, switchgear and motor generators. It was bought by Metropolitan Borough of Woolwich from London Transport in 1962 and converted to a theatre under the auspices of Greenwich Theatre.  It closed, re-opened and closed several times and in between became a popular music hall and comedy venue. It is now used by Greenwich Young People’s Theatre.
Woolwich Flour Steam Mill. This is the site at the east end of which Equitable House stands. It replaced a Chapel which was originally Methodist and then Roman Catholic. It was advertised to be let in 1858.

Grand Depot Road
The road was built in 1777 to give access to the barracks without cutting across the front of them
Guard House. This stood at the junction with Woolwich New Road. It was built in 1809 and became a gymnasium and then a public toilet. Demolished 1969. A stench pipe remains on the site.
Grand Depot. This was south of Love Lane and east of Wellington Street. Barracks for the Royal Military Artificers – basically builders initially set up to service the dockyard. In 1795 their headquarters was in Woolwich.  In 1812 they were renamed Royal Sappers and Miners.  These barracks were built for them until in 1856 they were moved to Chatham.  Some of the rest of the area was used for storage and by the 1830s it was known as the Grand Depot. In 1856 the Royal Army Clothing Factory was here moving to Pimlico in 1860 although the building remained. The site was sold to the Metropolitan Borough of Woolwich in the 1960s and cleared.
Tesco.  Has won the Carbuncle Cup and cited as 'arrogant and inept'. It includes a 17 storey block including flats and a large indoor car park. Plans for shops along the Grand Depot Road frontage were dropped.  It was designed by Sheppard Robson and opened in 2013.
Peggy Middleton House. Office accommodation for London Borough of Greenwich. It was financed by the sale of Greenwich Town Hall! It was designed by J.M.Moore, Borough Architect and it was seen as the first phase of new council offices of 1973-7. Its exterior staircase was intended to accommodate a larger second stage. Peggy Middleton had been a Greenwich London County Councillor. It was demolished in 2011. 
Thomas Spencer Hall of Residence. This was a student hostel for Thames Polytechnic. Nine storey block very plain with bedrooms, bar and some sports facilities. Built 1969 demolished 2008.
Crown Buildings. This was sited about where the barracks of 1803 had been. Built in the 1960s by the Ministry of Public Buildings and Works.  Demolished 2011.
Woolwich Bus Museum. This was at the junction with John Wilson Street in the late 1960s. It is understood that the collection went to Brooklands.
20 Civic House. This was built on the site of the bus museum as a headquarters for the National Union of Public Employees. .
K2 type of red cast-iron telephone kiosk. Designed by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott in 1927. This type is distinguishable from the later K6 in that all panes of glass are the same size.
Royal Garrison Church of St. George. This suffered a V1 rocket attack in the Second World War but its marble and mosaic interior remains albeit open to the elements. It is now a memorial garden. It was built as a polychrome Romanesque basilica by Thomas Henry Wyatt commissioned by Sidney Herbert who was Secretary of State for War in 1863, and modelled on the church at his home in Wilton. It is in brick with red and blue vitrified brick and an apse with tiled patterns and a mosaic of St George. There was much lavish decoration, some of which survived. Over the altar is a memorial to all who have won the Victoria Cross.
Boer War Memorial – South African War Memorial. A red granite obelisk of 1902 to the 61st Battery Royal Artillery

Greens End
This was an area between the end of the ropeyard and Cholic Lane and now lies between General Gordon Square and Beresford Square and the Market.
Salutation Inn. This was on the sites of 3-5 and had gardens and maybe a playhouse. It was moved when the ropeyard closed.
18 this is an 18th town house converted into the Elephant and Castle Pub in 1848. It was enlarged in 1885 and enlarged in the 1950s by Courage. It also took in no 19, also an 18th town house.
20 redeveloped because of the Docklands Light Railway. It replacing a branch of Lloyds Bank which had a facade of 1905.
28 Duchess of Wellington. Pub in what was Cross Street in the 1840s. lLong gone.
Maritime House. This was Churchill House, developed by Chesterfield Properties on the corner with Thomas Street. This is a nine-storey slab block above shops and named after W. Churchill’s death in 1965.  It was used as Council offices and eventually as part of Thames Polytechnic.  In 2000 it was converted to flats and renamed

Gunner Lane
Married quarters for soldiers built in 1978 by the Property Services Agency. Some of these are now privately owned
Military Families Hospital – this had access from Gunner Lane. It had been the Female Hospital of 1862 evolving into the Military Maternity Hospital. Demolished in the 1870s.

Jim Bradley Close.
Housing on the site of the works of Pitter’s Ventilating and Engineering Co. later Pitter Gauge and Precision Tool Co. which closed in 1970. Pitter dated from before the Great War, when they were nationalised as part of the National Gauge factories, and had another factory, Acme Works, at Leatherhead specialising in aircraft parts.

John Wilson Street
This is the last bit of the South Circular Road coming to Woolwich Ferry. It evolved from Brewer Street, which became Charles Street. The London County Council in 1958 wanted a better access to the ferry. In the St.Mary’s Comprehensive Development plan it was dualled and the work done in 1963.

Kingsman Street
St.Mary Magdalene School. The current school was built in 2009. The first school was a national school in the old Freemasons Hall in Powis Street and this became St. Mary’s school on a small site in this area. Three were various extensions and new additions. In 1998 a nursery school was built close by and in 2011 the whole complex was rebuilt with Neill Werner as architect. The curate’s house opposite is now a car park.

Market Street
Once called Upper Market Street, this marked the southern boundary of the abortive market scheme of 1809.
Pitter's Ventilating and Engineering Works. In the Great War this became the National Gauge Factory. The works covered the area of Jim Bradley Close.
Zion Chapel. 1853
Town Hall. Entrance to the Public Hall.
Magistrates Court.  Built 1912 by John Butler. Two-storey building in red brick. On the pediment is the Royal coat of arms. It is now closed.
Police Station. The original police station was built here 1909 by police architect John Butler. There are offices, a charge room, a mess room, a billiard room and a library. There are sleeping and married quarters and a custody suite. It is now closed
Woolwich Health Centre.  Planned and built by Metropolitan Borough of Woolwich and designed by the Borough Engineer.  This was a combined maternity and child health clinic with faclities for rickets and TB. Air raid shelters and a pond were provided.

Masons Hill
Gurdwara. Sikh Temple, of the Ramgarhia Association. This building dates to 1889 and was originally the Freemasons hall and then the Woolwich Town & Social Club before being acquired by the Sikh Association.

Mill Lane
Housing built on what was Mill Hill Field. From the mid-1850s used for field practice by engineering cadets
Shipwrights’s windmill. Set up by the first co-operative society in England. An association of dockyard shipwrights set up a corn mill and bakery here in 1758. It was on an area called Conduit Field. It was burnt down in 1760 but rebuilt as an octagonal smock mill. Demolished by the 1850s.
Mill which may have been a water pump from 1805
11 Engineer House. A house of 1803, with a fanlight.  Built in 1803 it commemorates the association between the Royal Engineers and Woolwich. Royal Engineer Barracks were established in 1703.  By 1787 five companies of Royal Military Artificers were stationed in the town.  Formerly the offices of the Royal Engineers, it is now a community centre for military families
Garrison Dispensary. Brick buildings used as a hospital in the 1880s.

Murray’s Yard
Murray was a carriage contractor who ran 19th livery stables here. The yard has subsequently been used by Furlongs, and then by Woolwich Borough Council Electricity Department.

Mulgrave Place
Pond – this was built in the 1750s as a reservoir to provide water to fight fires and fresh water for army officers. It is held by a brick and earth embankment and has conduits to take the water down hill. It also fed the Royal Artillery Barracks and Arsenal steam engines via a pipe under Wellington Street. The Board of Ordnance bought it in 1805 and fenced it to stop horses drinking the water.  It was sold privately in the 1980s.

Parry Place
2a The Woolwich Pottery. This was there in 1985 with Philip Stanbridge as the contact about classes which were held there. This is now a butchers shop.
14 CTC Training College. Offering City and Guilds, etc in practical subjects
16 Disciples Baptist Church
29 Alexander McLeod opened a small co-op shop here in 1860s as one of the forerunners of what became Royal Arsenal Co-operative Society.

Plumstead Road
2 Mortar pub later called the Royal Mortar Tavern opened with the road in the 1760s. It was rebuilt in 1842 and demolished in 1984. It is now shops and offices.
5 Chapel on the site of what is now the covered market. It was built for the Countess of Huntingdon’s Connection in 1770. The congregation left in 1799 and the building became a chapel for the Royal Artillery. In 1809 it became the chapel for the Royal Arsenal called the Ordnance chapel and in 1900 became the Arsenal’s lecture hall and library.  It was demolished for road widening in the 1920s. 
5 The Covered Market. Designs were drawn up in 1901, but it was not actually built until 1932. It was roofed in 1935 by the Horsley Bridge and Engineering Company using a Lamella roof for which they held the UK licence. It was, an innovative system enabling the roof support system to be constructed from small elements – lamellae - of particular interest here as the sections are made from pressed steel.
9 The Woolwich Infant. This pub, rebuilt in 1906, has etched glass in recessed bay windows. The inn-sign on the front wall shows the gun - the Woolwich Infant – which it is named after. It closed in 2009 and it is now a fast food restaurant.
20 Burrage Arms Pub. Closed and now used as shops
26 The Imperial Picture Palace. This  was a shop conversion running as a cinema in 1914. The building is now an African Cash and Carry store

Polytechnic Street
This was previously called Lower Market Street because of the little used and soon defunct market of 1809
Polytechnic. Along the street is the Polytechnic entrance facade of 1898 and buildings designed to be used as an arts and science school.

Powis Street
First laid out around 1799. It was mainly rebuilt 1890 – 1910 when it developed into the main shopping street of Woolwich.
1-7 site of the Scotch Church in the late 18th and remained until 1842. There have been several rebuildings here and the site is now a National Westminster Bank. The current building originates from 1958-60 when it was erected for Eastern’s furnishing company. The architect was Hector Hamilton who had won a competition from the US for the Palace of the Soviets. It was turned into a bank in 1987.
12 William Shakespeare. This was established by the Powis family in 1807. It was rebuilt around 1890s but the ground floor has been altered. There is a Shakespeare bust and a monkey right on the top gable. There is a back extension for a billiard room.   The pub closed in 1990 and it is now flats.
14-16 site of the First Woolwich Theatre in 1810. By 1820 it was a Lancastrian school and from 1895 it has been shops.
33-35 in 1803 this was the Freemasons Hall, then a National School until 1840 and then the Harmonic Hall for music events. It later became a temperance hall, a billiard hall, printers, and a Co-op Hall. A shop was eventually built here in 1925.
34-38 South Metropolitan Gas showroom from 1905 and then British Gas until 1994. 
37-45 A plaque on this shop is the arms of the City of Northampton. This relates to its earlier use as a shoe shop – Barratts of Northampton.
40 Samuels' shop – they have been here since 1904 and the oldest established business premises in the street.
44 Woolwich Borough Council’s Electricity Showrooms . These originated from 1909 and were rebuilt as Electric House in 1935 designed by the Borough Engineer and the Borough Electrical Engineer – using steelwork from Harland and Woolf.   The London Electricity Board eventually took it over and turned the upstairs demonstration room to offices.  They sold it in the 1990s.
54—58 in 1974 this became the first shop in Britain for the US based McDonald’s burger chain. Opened by boxer Henry Cooper.
68-86 Kent House.  This was formerly Garrets Department Store of 1898. It is decorated on the top gable with the Kentish Invicta. Garratts had taken over from a previous owner in 1879 and subsequently rebuilt the shop. The premises also included workrooms and staff accomodation. It was eventually taken over by the Great Universal Stores and the shop closed in 1972.

Rectory Place
This was laid out in 1811.
Rectory. This was a new site for the St. Mary’s Rector built in 1811 designed by John Papworth.  It was demolished in 1959.
43 Rectory. This rectory, now used for St. Mary’s, this was originally the vicarage for Holy Trinity.  It was built in 1934.
120 George VI Inn. This was built by Courage in 1966. It was originally on the other side of the road on the King Street corner.
Woolwich Congregational Church. This is a 19th Gothic church of 1859, with a tall spire. It was built because of a split in the Salem Chapel leading to a new congregation setting up here.
Mulgrave Primary School.  Opened by the Inner London Education Authority in 1972. The original school had been opened in 1893 by the School Board of London overseen by T.J.Bailey.  It became a Technical Science and Art School. This school was destroyed in bombing in 1941 and a new school was built behind the pub in 1949. This was a ‘transitional’ school built as prefabricated section and it was extended and rebuilt in the 1970s.

Repository Road
Barrack Field.  This has a variety of uses, mainly sporting. There are pitches for the Royal Artillery Cricket Club, pavilions, tennis courts – and in the Second World War barrage balloons and allotments.  It was used for some shooting events during the 2012 Olympic Games.

Sandy Hill Road,
The road name reflects the local Thanet sands which were good for bottle glass.  The houses were built by the developers of Burrage Town in the 1840s.
63-69 Elim Pentecostal church
The School House.  This apartment block is part of the same site as the converted schools in Bloomfield Road. This was the infants’ school built in 1899 by Thomas Jerram Bailey, Consulting Architect to the London School Board.  Both schools became the Woolwich Polytechnic Upper School but closed before 2000. It was then bought by a housing developer and turned into flats.
26 Fort Tavern. Pub with a frontage of 1842. Inside, behind the bar, was detailed wooden carving. It once had a garden with summer houses and a skittle alley. Converted to housing 1990s
81 Melbourne Arms. A pub, probably built in the 1840s
108 Avenue Arms. Closed and now housing

Scott’s Passage
Redeemed Christian Church of God
Stables built in the 19th and since used as a furniture depository

Simmons Road
Woolwich Central Baptist Church. This replaced the Woolwich Tabernacle on Beresford Street which has merged with the Conduit Road chapel.  It was built in 1970 by K. C. White and Partners.  The top storey is faced with ‘Granilux’ aggregate panels, and there is a fibreglass spire. There is also a hall. 

Spray Street
This was an area of sandpits built up in the 19th.  It has many buildings in use by market traders to which more recently are added small churches and colleges.  A skating rink was planned here in 1912.
28 Woolwich Telephone Exchange. Built in 1936 and showing the royal crest and monogram of Edward VIII.
32 North Kent Tavern. Demolished 2009
15 LCEM House, this was the Woolwich Employment Exchange and Job Centre, later closed and converted to educational use as the London College of Engineering and Management. This has also since closed.
35 Victory Bible Church
37 Celestial Church of Christ
. Rock of Ages Parish

Thomas Street
1-5 a pair of houses built in 1760, in one of which lived artist Paul Sandby. These were residential until the 1880s, by which time front gardens had been lost for road widening. Hodgson and Morgan an outfitting firm altered and enlarged the southern house of the pair and built a workshop wing.  Later John J. Messent, an undertaker, took over the northern house and built a shop front some of which survives. He extended to the rear, possibly building a chapel of rest. He also built a ten-stall stable, workshop and office block behind in a cobbled yard with a roof on cast-iron columns made by R. Ginman and Son, of Plumstead. This survives and is still in use by the undertakers who continue the business.
15 Earl of Chatham. A pub rebuilt in 1898, for Alfred David Capon, probably by Henry Hudson Church. It has a large recessed bay window and a lot of 19th tiling by A. T. S. Carter Ltd extending along both a passage. There is also curved and etched glass.
10 Bricklayers Arms. Built in the 1840s and long closed and demolished
Woolwich Post Office. This was a late 19th red brick building with terracotta decoration and a single storey extension built in 1915 by architect Albert Robert Myers It was closed in 2008. There was a sorting office at the back which was closed in 2011. It was all demolished in 2011. The site is now part of Tesco’s frontage

Vincent Road
Previously Cross Street and Eton Road. Vincent was the Woolwich historian and founder of the Woolwich Antiquarian Society.
14 Bull Tavern.  A pub probably built around 1850. Renamed O’Flynns but also might have closed.

Wellington Street
The road was planned as part of a scheme to link Greenwich to the Arsenal and it was built in 1811.
1-9 Great Harry. This is a Wetherspoon’s pub.  It was built as Thames House for a car dealership in 1956. It was later used as offices by the Chamber of Commerce and the Council. It then became a DIY store. It was gutted by fire in 2011 but has been reopened.
The Grand Theatre and Opera House opened in 1900. From 1908 it was named Woolwich Hippodrome Theatre with twice nightly variety shows. In 1923 a Compton 2Manual straight organ was installed and from 1924 it was a full time cinema. It was taken over by United Picture Theatres Ltd. in 1928 and in 1935 by Associated British Cinemas. It closed in 1939 and demolished.
Woolwich Grand. A renaming of a 1950s cinema. This was built on the site of the Woolwich Hippodrome Theatre which was demolished in 1939. It was replaced by the Regal Cinema, designed by ABC architect William R. Glen. The Second World War intervened and it was never finished. In the early 1950’s work proceeded to complete it to revised plans by C.J. Foster and changes made it in a modern style suitable for the 1950’s. It opened in 19th 1955 and was re-named ABC in 1963. It closed in 1982 and remained derelict for several years to eventually became a nightclub, known as ‘Fusion’ and ‘N-tyce’. In 2011 it was sold to a community based theatre group and re-opened as a live theatre and performance space.  There is however planning consent to demolish.
Town Hall. Opened in 1901 for the Metropolitan Borough of Woolwich, opened by Will Crooks.MP. It became the Town Hall of the London Borough of Greenwich in 1965.The site was bought next to the  Grand Theatre and an architectural competition was won by the man built Belfast Town Hall - Alfred Brumwell Thomas.  It is an ornate building of red brick with a tall clock tower. There is a Mayor’s Balcony and the coat of arms of the Metropolitan Borough of Woolwich.  The entrance leads into the Victoria Hall and a statue of Queen Victoria by Frederick Pomeroy. The first floor galleries with stained glass windows by Geoffrey Webb featuring local figures - The main ones are in the Victoria hall and in the council chamber – and some more interesting ones in the public hall.  There are offices on all floors and in the basement, where there are also mega safes. The council chamber has finely carved original woodwork but the suite of committee rooms in the front block has been altered to meet modern standards.  The public hall to the rear is on a Greek cross footprint with galleries and at one time housed the staff canteen.
45-53 Municipal Offices. These were built by the Borough Engineer in 1934-7 for the Engineers’ Department and the Borough Treasurers. Demolished 2007
29-37 this was a Second World War bomb site. Built by a different Borough Engineer for the Housing and Public Health Departments.  Demolished in 2007
35 Woolwich Centre. Built as part of the deal with Tesco. Built in 2009 by HLM Architects. It is six storeys with a lot of reflective glass. It houses a public library and there is a view gallery set on the top at a skew angle.
50 Nelson House built in 1983 for the Council’s Social Services Department.
55 Director General.  Built in 1844 for Lamberts Brewery of Greenwich – taken over later by Norfolk and Sons. Originally there was a music hall at the back.  It had a tile frontage of 190l with embossed tiles. Closed and demolished in 2007
118 Queen Victoria pub built in the 1850s in ‘Brewers Tudor’.  It was later called Arnolds, and is now a shop and hostel.
Church of England Soldier’s Institute. Built 1893 and opened by the Prince of Wales.   This had reading rooms, billiards, etc etc. Demolished in 1963
St John’s Church. This church stood between the barracks and the Grand Depot – the site must now be under John Wilson Street. It was an Anglican church, a local committee arguing that there was a need for an extra church due to the number of soldiers.  Half the seats were for the military with a separate gallery for the marines. It was designed by Charles Kirk and was never finished, despite collapsing during construction.  It gradually lost its congregation and there was a restoration attempt in 1911. It was hit in Second World War bombing and removed in 1948.   There appears to have been an attached school or institute.
Woolwich Polytechnic. The Wellington Street frontage was built by the London County Council in 1962.  It became the main entrance in succeeding years.

Wilmount Street
18 Princess of Wales. This was built in 1886-7 on the site of The Duchess of Kent Beerhouse. Closed and demolished.

Woolwich New Road
This was previously called Cholic Lane and it was part of the Turnpike Road to London, established by Act of Parliament in 1765.  It was designed to help the traffic to and from The Arsenal and the Dockyard and was laid out in 1790 as the New Road.  Later a better route was constructed which avoided the military exercises on the Commn.
Royal Mortar Hotel.  Built in 1890. This had 12 bedrooms, banqueting rooms etc. It became the local Tory club.  It is now offices and shops.
3 – 5 was the home of the Labour Movement in Woolwich and elsewhere from 1904 to the 1970s – the Pioneer Press was set up here by William Barefoot (publishing the weekly Labour journal The Pioneer') in 1904, and the office of the Labour Representation Association in 1905, which became Woolwich Labour Party in 1916. Two halls were built at the back in 1930. In the 1970s it was the Pioneer bookshop and then the Transport and General Workers Unionn offces
5 was Manze’s eel and pie shop. This retrained its traditional interior until 2010.
27 The Pullman.  An Edwardian pub formerly known as the Royal Oak. At a meeting in this pub the Dial Square football team changed its name to Royal Arsenal football club, now famous as Arsenal Football Club -"the Gunners" - in Highbury.  Closed and demolished for railway building.
Woolwich Arsenal Station. This was originally opened in 1849 on Pattison's (chalk) Pit. The station was opened by the South Eastern Railway running in a cutting following a bridge over the road. It was first called just Arsenal, then Royal Arsenal, then Woolwich Arsenal Station. But this did not front onto New Road, but onto what is now Vincent Street. It was designed by Peter Barlow and Samuel Beazley. In 1906 a booking station was built on the New Road. The present station is a structure from 1993. It has a horseshoe shaped roof with above it a drum like a lighthouse. On the platforms canopies with iron columns remain from the previous building. On the up platform is a terracotta relief sculpture by Martin Willamson ‘workers of Woolwich', depicting workers producing armaments at the Arsenal.  It was designed by British Rail's Architecture and Design Group.    The 'up' trains continue through a tunnel 123 metres long under General Gordon Place.
Docklands Light Railway Station.  The line from North Woolwich opened in 2009.  The station has exits to the rail station and on both sides of the New Road. There is a ceramic mural by Michael Craig Martin called Street Life.
The Palace Picture Theatre operated from 1912. In the early-1930’s, a BTH sound system was installed. It was run by Nesbitt’s Animated Pictures Ltd., and was a second run local cinema, playing mainly ‘B’ pictures. It closed before 1947.
63 was built as the Pioneer Beerhouse and continued as a pub until the 1970s
73 The Blue Nile. Eritrean restaurant, voted best in London.
79 Punjab House. A painting over the door by Brian King shows the journey from the Punjab to Woolwich.
89 In the 1830s this was a Home for Destitute Jews.
91 Angelsea Arms. A classical pub. It moved here in 1841 from an original site, now under the Catholic school, known as the Marquis of Angelsea. It was remodelled by Whitbreads in 1906
93-95 The New Cinema operated from 1912 to the late-1920’s as a silent cinema. It was run by Arundell Ltd, who fitted it with an organ, which they had manufactured. In 2009, the building a car maintenance workshop but has since been demolished
97 This site had been the Providence Chapel for the Countess of Huntingdon’s Connection and later, in 1849, the Carmel Chapel. That was demolished and the Gun Tavern built here. Another pub was built here by Whitbreads in 1900.
St Peter the Apostle Roman Catholic Church built in 1843 by Augustus Pugin. St Joseph's Chapel was added in 1889 and a planned tower over the entrance was never built.
103-115 presbytery. This is also by Pugin and built in 1849.
St. Peters Centre. A community centre which was originally a school.
111 Central Court. This is on the site of the Scottish Presbyterian Church and Schools. This was for Scottish soldiers and built in 1841 by Thomas Donaldson.  It closed in 1965 and was demolished in 1970
Scotch School. Built in 1856 at the back of the site. The early St. John’s ambulance association taught first aid skills here for the first time.  It was run by the School Board for London to 1894 and then closed.   It later became the garrison infant school. It was demolished in 1929.
International House. A hostel for overseas students at the Poly was built here in 1964.  There proved to be a reduced demand and following submissions of many schemes it is now flats.
Connaught Mews. Three buildings of 1780 formerly the Grand Depot. This was originally the Royal Artillery Hospital or Royal Ordnance Hospital the first military hospital in the country. It Became the Connaught Barracks after the Royal Herbert Hospital opened in 1865. The three original buildings were converted by Parkview Properties for housing as Connaught Mews in 1992. 19th century wrought-iron lamp-holder which was once over the entrance is preserved as a feature on the green.
Government House.  This is an early 19th  house with later additions in brick. Was later an office building of the Artillery Garrison but has since been redeveloped and housing built in the grounds.

Aldous. Village London
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Clunn. Face of London
Field.  Place names of London,
Glencross. Buildings of Greenwich
Greenwich Antiquarian Society. Journal
Greenwich Theatres,
Hamilton, Royal Greenwich
Jefferson. The Woolwich Story
London Borough of Greenwich. Local List,
London Borough of Greenwich. Greenwich Guide
London Borough of Greenwich. Civic Centre,
London Encyclopaedia
Nature Conservation in Greenwich, 
Pevsner and Cherry. South London
Spurgeon. Discover Greenwich and Charlton
Spurgeon. Discover Woolwich,
South East London Industrial Archaeology
Survey of London. Woolwich
Toby and Johns’ Transport History. Web site
Woolwich Antiquarians. Journal.
Woolwich Antiquarians. Newsletter
Woolwich Architecture Trail

For this post in particular the 2012 volume of the Survey of London has been crucial. Congratulations and thanks to Peter Guillery and his team from Edith- who wishes she could reach your standards.

Sunday, 4 January 2015

Railway from London Bridge to Gravesend. Woolwich West

Railway from London Bridge to Gravesend
The railway continues to run eastwards

Post to the west North Charlton
Post to the east Woolwich
Post to the north North Woolwich and Woolwich Dockyard

Artillery Place
Opened 1804-5
1 Joseph Daniels and Co. this is on the corner with Frances Street and built in 1903–4 as a military tailors shop. They had been there since the 1850s. To the east was a long first-floor tailors’ workroom. In 1945 it became the Woolwich office of the Assistance Board.  In 2011 another storey was added to turn it into flats
Cambridge House. This was one of a number of blocks of married soldiers’ quarters erected in 1910 by the Barrack Construction Department, and replaced in 1937. It was acquire by Hyde Housing Association in 1990.
Northern Gateway to Royal Artillery Barracks. This was a triumphal arch with guard rooms on either side. Built 1805-6 it was dismantled for road widening in 1968 and never re-erected
Centurion Court and Churchill Court. Originally sites of blocks of flats for married soldiers built around 1910 by the Barrack Construction Department and later developed by Fairview Homes. Now used for council tenants.
Queen Victoria Memorial Soldiers Home built 1908 and became YMCA. This is now a vacant site behind hoardings.
36-38 Gradidge & Sons, sports goods factory - particularly tennis and cricket equipment, specialising in cricket bats. They later merged with Slazengers and closed around 1950. The buildings had various commercial uses including Marksons, Piano Dealers 1972-2004. From 1980 it was offices for London and Quadrant Housing Association.
Petrol Filling Station. This was Herwin's garage from 1923. They made vehicles here including Handley Page’s first glider. Their workshop form 1955 remains at the rear.
45 The Army House pub. Long closed and demolished
48-50 Government tax office 1936. Since the 1980s this has been used by London Borough of Greenwich sponsored community projects
51 Clock over the door with the signage Tecks Tailors, who were here in the 1950s - but the shop was built for a brewer’s sales.

Belson Road
This was originally called Station Road, renamed in 1904 after Lt.Gen George Belson, RA
Freemasons Tavern. Hotel opposite the station to the south east. This was developed by Henry Rowlstone in 1851 and including adjacent housing.  This site is all 1960s local authority housing
Cambridge Hotel. Developed with housing and shops in 1862 by Henry Jackson. This site is now a school playground.
Woolwich Dockyard Station. This was an original station by the South Eastern Railway on their North Kent Line and now lies between Charlton and Woolwich Arsenal stations. It opened in 1849 and was built on a former sandpit. This was Bowater’s Pits, which extended south to the current Red Barracks estate. The station itself was thus built in a cutting encased in a brick retaining wall – the wall itself being the main remaining feature of the original. Only the original west wing of station now remains since it was not rebuilt after a fire in 1960 and the vacant space remains where substantial station buildings once stood.

Borgard Road
This was originally called Station Road, renamed in 1904 after Lt.Gen Albert Borgard, RA
Wall – the walls which line the east side of the street were built to enclose the Marine Infirmary/Red Barracks. At the southern end a bricked up guard house is incorporated into the wall.
St Michaels Mission School was built in 1871 and was opened as part of a mission to the poor. The remains of the old mission adjoin the northern end of the church.
St.Michael & All Angels.  This was originally an extension to an earlier iron church of 1868. It is a 19th Gothic brick church with the chancel, the oldest part, built in 1878 and funded by Richard Foster.  The nave designed by, the then very elderly, William Butterfield, replaced the earlier church in 1889. The west aisle was added in 1955 but the tower was never built. There is a Great War memorial crucifix by Sir Ninian Comper at the north end.  The church has been used by Pentecostal groups in the 2000s and has been put up for sale by the Church of England.

Bowling Green Row
This was named after an 18th bowling green attached to the Ship Tavern near the Dockyard Gates.  The current housing dates from 1961.
Albion Hall. This was a Spiritualist Chapel present in early 20th

Cambridge Barracks Road
Housing built in the 1970s by London Borough of Greenwich on the site of the Cambridge Barracks. The entry from Francis Street follows roughly the line of what was Mason Street and some old wall remains.
Cambridge Barracks were built as Marine Barracks, of 1808.  Marine Divisons had been established in connection with the Royal Dockyard during the Napoleonic Wars.  Initially these barracks were in an adapted brewery to which guard houses and a parade ground had been added.  Rebuilt in the 1840s under Capt William Denison, RE, they have since been described as a ‘progressive model for military accommodation’ – including service buildings, recreation facilities, health measures including new ventilation methods and separate accommodation for married sergeants, Following closure of the Royal Dockyard in 1869 they were converted to the Cambridge Barracks, named for Army Commander in Chief, the Duke of Cambridge. In 1960 the army relinquished them and the site was sold to the London Borough of Greenwich and they were demolished. .

Carr Grove
Reynolah Gardens. This was a pleasure ground laid out in the 1840s in an old chalk pit with aviaries and walks and so on attached to a pub in Samuel Street.  They were closed by 1860 and remained derelict.
British Hospital for Mothers and Babies – Carr Grove is on the line of the back drive. In 1905 three young midwives decided to open a maternity home and midwifery school. They bought two houses in Woodhill and founded the Home which was seen as a new model for maternity nurses training, and which became a national standard. Derelict land in Samuel Street had been bought in 1912 for a new Hospital. Funded by the sale of the central London building of the British Lying in Hospital, with which they had merged. The new Hospital opened in 1922 and a second stage in 1929. The hospital was partly destroyed by Second World War bombing.  In 1948 the Hospital joined the NHS and in 1951 established one of the first Premature Baby Units. In 1984, despite a long battle to keep it open, the Hospital closed. It was demolished in 1984 and has been replaced by housing.

Francis Street
The name of the street is early 19th and may relate to one of the Bowater family.  However most of the present street has had different names until the mid 20th.
Chapel Street. This was the name for the northern end of the road. This took its name from the large chapel at the corner of Samuel Street
Queen Street Baptist Chapel. This was on the junction with Samuel Street (then called Queen Street) and built in 1786 with a large columned portico dominating the corner. There was a school to the rear. Demolished in 1960.
British Museum Pub. This was opposite the chapel.
Railway Bridge. This dates to 1849.
Henry Street was the name of a section of what is now Francis Street. It ran from the end of what was Chapel Street to a junction with Samuel Street to the north (aka Bowater Crescent).
Britannia Tavern. This stood at the junction between Chapel and Henry Streets. 1808-1950s. in 1835 the landlady was murdered in the bar.
Cardwell Primary School. This was originally St.Michael’s School built in the 1860s. The school closed in 1963 and was demolished a few years later.  A new school was built in 1873 by the Great London Council Architect’s Department and called Cardwell Cottages School. A nursery was added later and it is now Cardwell Primary School. On the Francis Street frontage is new entrance and wall by Architype.
School keeper’s house at Cardwell School is the only surviving building of the original school.
St Mary's Development Area. This dates from 1950 and was the first comprehensive development area undertaken London. Eight such areas went forward but this is the only one which was carried out by the Borough Council and not by the London County Council.  Housing erected 1952 -1965 did however follow the L.C.C. in mixing maisonettes and tower blocks while ignoring traditional road layouts.
71-177, 179-285, 287-393 Tower blocks – these are fourteen stories and designed by Norman and Dawborn as part of the St.Mary’s Estate from 1956. 138 ft towers with piled foundations and reinforced concrete frames. They are butterfly plan to maximise light. Opened by Princess Margaret in 1961. Refurbished by London Borough of Greenwich in 2004-7.
395-497 Tower block which copies the earlier ones was built in 1965
Manor Road was the original name for the southern end of Francis Street and it was the drive to Bowater House.
Bowater House. This was on the high ground on the east side of the street, called Mount Pleasant. It was built by Edward Bowater in the 1730s after he inherited the estate. The origins of the house are obscure and there was an earlier house on the site which may have been 16th. It was purchased, with the rest of the estate, in 1856 by the Admiralty.
Red Barracks Gatehouse.  The Gateway dates from 1859 and has lion's heads in the piers. A stretch of perimeter walls of the 1850s have survived, with railings and including a brick sentry box.
Cambridge Barracks Gateway. This remains on the edge of the new housing estate. It is a rusticated stone structure, massive and classical, linked to gatehouses with Doric porticos on either side –one of which was a guard house and one an officers’ library – and have had various community uses since redevelopment of the site..  Inside the arch is a wrought iron lamp holder, and behind are two 18th cannon.
Bowater Farm. This was on the corner with Artillery Place and was also New or North Farm.
61 Admiral. The name of this mid 19th century pub recalls the naval origins of the Red Barracks.  It has been replaced by flats.
23 Navy and Army. The pub was built in 1849; the name recalls the naval origins of the Red Barracks. It is now shut.
6 built in 1907 for Watney, Combe & Reid as beer, wine and spirit stores.
4 This was built in 1903–4 is for Craig and Davies, military bootmakers,
3–7 shops built in 1904–5. The Ogilby coat of arms, a lion between two crescents, is over a first-floor window. Ogilby was a landowner who had bought part of the Bowater estate properties from John Long
1 King's Arms. Opened in 1806 by entrepreneur John Long as barracks were built in the adjacent areas. At other times it has also been called the Artillery Hotel, the Barrack Tavern, Long’s Hotel and Jack’s Canteen. It had two entrances, to exploit the corner site. It was rebuilt in 1935–6 for Watneys and was bombed by the IRA in 1974.

Glenalvon Way
This runs along the edge of what was Long’s Pit. The ridge of the east side of the pit survives along the road.

Gorman Road
This is the old access road to the rear of the Cambridge Barracks, provided with local authority housing, and renamed, after demolition of the military site.  In 1815 an infirmary had been built on what is now the north side of the road.

Green Hill
The Rotunda. This was originally built in 1814 as a tent in St.James Park as the centre-piece of a number of marquees erected by John Nash.  It was part of a celebration in Carlton House gardens for the allied sovereigns about Napoleon's exile to Elba. It was Re-used in 1815 to celebrate England's victory at Waterloo and then erected in Woolwich in 1819. In 1822 Nash was asked to make it permanent so He kept the tent canvas and cords around a central support, cast in the Royal Arsenal, and then built an outer shell of yellow brick supporting a copper roof surmounted by a cupola.  In a 1975 restoration the original canvas and lead roof were replaced.  Inside was a free public Museum of Artillery which displayed the history of the gun from 1320 onwards - 14th wrought iron ordnance; cast iron ordnance 1450; early rifled ordnance; early breech-loaders; Great War and Second World War ordnance. Outside was an 1848 guided missile launcher.  On display was the spoiled casting of the Moorfields gun which following an explosion led to the move of the foundry to Woolwich and the birth of the Arsenal. When Firepower opened on the Arsenal site in 2001 it was closed to the public and housed an army boxing centre.
Railway gun. This large howitzer is the sole survivor of five such guns made in 1917-19; it is mounted on a proof carriage of 1886, on a section of railway track and stood outside the Rotunda. These guns were the largest pieces of ordnance ever to enter British land service. Railway-mounted guns were still in use for coastal defence in the last war.  It was sent to Larkhill in 2008 and since then has gone to Utrecht.
Army Medical Reserve Store. This was built south of the Rotunda in 1902. Other buildings around the Rotunda included training workshops for the Ordnance College and other sheds.  By the 1930s this was the Military College of Science – but none of this survived the Second World War.  Later buildings included storage huts, a rifle range and dog kennels. After the war it was used by REME.  This area was redeveloped for the 16th Air Defence Regiment and this became known as the Napier lines.  Around this area grew up assault courses and other training facilities. In 2011 this included stabling for the Kings Troop which is heated by horse dung, and includes a riding school and pharmacy and a forge.
Observatory.  The Royal Artillery Institution was a scientific society set up in 1838. They built an observatory as part of a global survey of 1840.  This was too small and it was greatly extended and eventually a centre was set up nearer the barracks – but was destroyed in Second World War bombing. The older premises were also extended and became known as the Magnetic Office. Most of it was later demolished and the rest was converted to housing and a MOD police station. Nearby were two cannon of 1859 in a defensive emplacement, and two large coast guns of 1896 and 1902.
Green Hill Barracks. Terraces of married quarters built in the 1920s.
Congreve Lines. These are on the north side of the road. They were 19th gun sheds since replace with garages and in 2008 an Army Medical Centre and a welfare and childcare facility

Hawkins Terrace
An old footpath now accessing council properties and garages.

Heathwood Gardens
10 British Orthodox Church Secretariat

Hill Reach
Built in 1804 and called Hill Street until 1937
Greenhill Court.  This was the Artillery Garrison School built in 1855. This was the First army school for children of soldiers. It included some provision for other use – assemblies, balls and so on and also provided educational facilities for adult illiterates. It has four large corner blocks, connected by lower ranges with the north range having the main entrance. There are two enclosed squares with, on the west square the iron framework of a former play shed building – which survives as a pergola. The site was converted into flats by Parkview Properties in 1989.
Repository Wall. Along The south side of the road is a continuous brick wall. It was built in 1807 to provide security for the Repository.
4 Village Blacksmith. This was originally a beershop called the Soldier’s Rest built in 1842 and rebuilt in 1902. Closed in the 1990s.
38 In 1874 a Soldiers’ Home and Mission Hall was built with a library, reading rooms, classrooms and a hall. This provided a service throughout the period and in the Great War. In the 1920s it became part of the Slazenger’s works and then Marksons’s Pianos.  The site was redeveloped from 1967 and it was then demolished
39 Wellesley Pub. Rebuilt in 1938 and demolished for housing 2007. In the meantime it has been the Pillars of Truth Ministries
Electricity junction box on the corner of Pellipar Road. This has shows the Metropolitan Borough of Woolwich coat of arms.

Kingsman Street
The northern end was Coleman Street from the 1780s until 1904. The southern end was King Street.
Railway Tavern. This stood on the corner with Belson Road in the early 1850s.

Kinveachy Gardens
The name comes from Kinveachy Forest, Invernesshire, once owned by the Maryon - Wilson family
79-83 bomb site caused by a V2 in 1945 when a rocket broke-up over Charlton

Little Heath
The Road was built by the Army Ordnance Board in 1802 to avoid the road over the Woolwich Common and its adjacent gunnery range.  Its big red brick houses were built between 1890 and 1910.
40 Sheltered Housing. Built by Metropolitan Borough of Greenwich in 1956
93 The Woodman. The site of a beer house since the late eighteenth century and marking the boundary of Charlton. It is now a shop
74 the building has operated as a business premises – General Apothecaries, and also as an outlet for United Dairies.

Maryon Park
This square only covers the western portion of the park. The area was originally part of Hanging Wood and it is named after the local landowners – the Maryon Wilson family. Under the Metropolitan 'Open Spaces' Act, twelve acres of exhausted sand workings were given by Sir Spencer Maryon-Wilson Bt. to the London County Council in 1889.  The area was levelled, grassed over and opened as a park in 1890.  Over the next thirty years more land and old workings were added by the L.C.C. Lodge.  During the initial layout workers found the foundations of a kiln which used for burning bricks. There was also a deep well used by the brick makers in the area where the lodge now stands,
North pit – This lay north of the railway line and the tunnel, and south of the Woolwich Road. It now forms the northern part of Maryon Park.
East pit - This lay south and east of the railway line and Mount Street Tunnel. It now forms the eastern part of Maryon Park
The Mount.  It is said this was once the site of a semaphore station relaying message to Shooters Hill.  It was rented in 1838 by a Mr. Cox for ‘cultivation and recreation’. He built a summer house for entertaining his friends. It was also used by the Admiralty for adjusting ships compasses.   It is here, in the film Blow Up, that the photographs of the shooting are taken and where David Hemmings returns to find a body among rustling trees.

Maryon Road
Maryon Road originally ran only from Little Heath to Woodland Terrace, the northern section being Mount Street.  The road now includes Mount Street and then turns sharply east alongside the railway as far as Wood Hill.
St Thomas School. This was a National School built in 1854 fronting onto what was then Sand Street – now an area in side Morris Walk Estate.  It was built in an old sandpit itself in what was then Mount Street. The school failed an inspection by the London County Council following 1902 legislation and was subsequently modernised and in 1932 became a junior girls and infants school. In the Second World War it was an emergency school for non-evacuees. In 1940 it was bombed and later burnt down in an unrelated accident. It was subsequently demolished
St.Thomas. This was designed by Joseph Gwilt. It was consecrated in 1850. A Byzantine basilica in brick and stone with four small corner towers. In 1982 it was changed with a youth centre in the nave and a floor inserted above. At ground level sliding doors lead to a separate a functional hall. The first Rector was Revd.Abraham de la Mare, uncle of the poet. St.Thomas' church was name after its main funder - Sir Thomas Maryon Wilson 6th Bart. It is also now used by the British Orthodox Church.
Churchyard has many 19th century and later tombs and gravestones. Where almost 4000 inhabitants have been buried. It closed in 1933.
217 St.Thomas's Hall. Built in 1956 and given in 1981 to New Charlton Community Association.
Admiralty Compass Observatory. This was built on Maryon Wilson land in 1844 to replace an observatory previously on Cox’s Mount in Maryon Park and which was used by the Admiralty for adjusting ships compasses.  The observatory itself was an octagonal wooden building with conditions attached that nothing could be built close to it. It contained three pedestals, one with a magnetic transit instrument, one with a magnetic collimator, and one for testing other compasses.  Another building, nearer the road was provided for offices and a house for the compass examiner, James Brunton. In 1870 it was moved to Deptford. Observatory cottage was subsequently rented out.
80 Rectory for St. Thomas’s Church acquired in 1888. Now in use as a guest house.  Maps show a property on the footprint of this house considerably earlier than its neighbours. They also show a long garden with appears to be an octagonal building at the end. Interestingly it appears that this building is at the end of a footpath – now Hawkins Terrace – from Little Heath

Maryon Wilson Park
This square contains the eastern section of the park only.
Animal house. A small enclosure with several small buildings, one of which is used for keeping small mammals and birds.

Morris Walk
Housing Estate by London County Council. Built in 1965. The flats are a factory construction, made in Norwich. It was the first estate to be built using the prefabricated Larsun and Neilson industrialised system with Taylor-Woodrow Anglian components – which was used extensively thereafter.  The outside of the building are finished with Norfolk flint and it is said that the industrialised system is embraced here as an aesthetic as well as being a building method. Problems developed and the estate was refurbished in 1984, and a decision to demolish made in 2006.

Parish Wharf Lane
Housing designed by Architype to Walter Segal designs, as a self build co-op using timber construction.   The site was at one time the parish yard.

Pett Street
This was once called Ann Street
Woolwich Adventure Playground on the site of rail sidings used for Dockyard rail stock
Rail line into the Dockyard – this is now used as a pedestrian underpass

Mount Street Tunnel. This passed under Maryon Park and emerges under what is now Maryon Road, but which was Mount Street. It is 121 yards long and is unusual in that the tunnel profile changes. The eastern portal includes a stone string course and a peaked parapet. Around the arch ring is decorative brickwork and there are massive wing walls. The western portal is plainer. The parapet is much the same, but the arch is lower and with plain rings.
Dockyard Tunnel.  This passes under Samuel Street and Francis Street and emerges the western end of Woolwich Dockyard Station. It is 121 yards long and has a decorative parapet and plain arch at its west end, like that at Mount Street Tunnel. The eastern portal is completely plain.
Coleman Street Tunnel. This runs from the east end of Woolwich Dockyard station under Kingsman Street. Its portals have a stone string course and a peaked parapet with plain arch rings. A buttress has been built against it on the down platform and it is 89 yards long.
George IV Tunnel. This passes under Rectory Place. It has plain portals and the parapet has been rebuilt with a contrasting band of brick. The tunnel is 238 yards long
Woolwich Dockyard Station. A pair of refuge sidings were positioned on the ‘’up’’ and ‘’down’’ sides, to the east and west of the platforms. The sidings were removed at electrification
Signal box. This controlled the sidings, and was at the east end of the ‘’up’’ platform.
Signal box. This was about 360 yards to the west of the station called ‘’Woolwich Dockyard’’. It was two-storey, made of timber and to SER design. It controlled a single-track connection with the dockyard the box was removed at electrification
Branch to the dockyard. This came off the up line in a north eastern direction, going through a tunnel before reaching the site.

Red Barracks Road
The Red Barracks were built 1858-60 by William Scamp, Deputy Director, of Engineering and Architectural to the Admiralty, on the site of Bowater House. It was originally Royal Marine Infirmary on the pavilion principle after the Crimean War and was one of the first two such hospitals built in England. It was in red brick with prominent yellow brick trim. In 1869 the building passed to the army when the dockyard closed. It was converted at first to a barracks for the Army Ordnance Corps. From 1888 it was an Artillery College, becoming the Military College of Science in 1927, and 1940 - 1967, offices of the Inspectorate of Armaments and the Royal Artillery Record Office. Greenwich Council then acquired it and in the early 1970s it was demolished

Repository Road
Entrance – following demolition of the North gate in 1968 and entrance was formed on the corner with Hill Reach. A Thunderbird missile was mounted on a platform adjacent to it.
Upper Gun Park. This was north of the 1802 gun battery.  Building of 1830 put up as a store and magazine. The ground in front was levelled to park guns. There were additional buildings in the 1840s and 1850s and there was also a piggery for officer’s dinners. In the 1860s there was a saluting battery to the south called the Green Hill battery – the guns have gone but there platform are still there. After 1900 timber sheds for gun carriages were added.  Six stone blocks to the south were until c.1990 used for a group of mortars which are now elsewhere. The drill ground is now a car park and the hillside used as a ski slope.
Mallet's Mortar.  This stands on the site of what was the guard house at Long’s Gate on the corner with Hill Reach. It was designed by Robert Mallett in 1854 for use in the Crimean War and made in the Arsenal. It was test-fired in 1858, firing a 2,3591b. Shell a distance of 2,759 yards, but was never actually used. It is one of a pair the largest mortars ever made and weighing 42 tonnes.  In front of it are 91 cm shells made for it. The other Mortar is now at Fort Nelson.
Army Ordnance Corps memorial.  A drinking fountain with a fountain a bronze figure. This used to be here but has been moved to Camberley.
Afghan and Zulu memorial. This pile of rough hewn stones surmounted with copper trophies used to be here but has been moved to Larkhill. Its base is still in place and visible.

Royal Military Repository
The majority of Repository Wood is in the square to the east. Both Repository Road and Green Hill go through the area.
The Royal Regiment of Artillery was originally housed in The Warren on what is now the Royal Arsenal site but moved to Woolwich Common in the 1770s. The Royal Military Repository was set up here in following a fire at the Warren in 1802 not only as a store, but as a training area also – including training in manoeuvring field guns over rough ground.  Sheds and other facilities were built and the landscape systematically adapted to provide an environment in which training in the use and movement of artillery in war could be undertaken.
Congreve’s Linear Training Fortification. This ran roughly parallel to Green Hill, between it and the Rotunda. Much of this is still extant
Long Pond. This is a reservoir, probably built in the 1750s to supply the Royal Dockyard. An octagonal brick conduit house was demolished in the 1950s as was an ice house built in 1809.
Mortar Battery was built here in the early 19th, filling in a ravine. This was south of the Upper Gun Park.
Monument to Maj Gen Sir Alexander Dickson. This was originally erected in this area, but has now been taken to Larkhill

Rushgrove Street
Rushgrove House. The house which is Difficult to see behind the high brick wall, was built about 1816 by a meat contractor to the army and then called Regent Cottage.  It is brick with stone cornice and parapet.  Enlarged in 1839 and extended to the north in 1855 when it was taken over as a residence for the Commander of the Marine Barracks. It was then probably largely rebuilt by the Royal Engineers. The army sold it in 1986.
Garden house. A small octagonal which belonged to an earlier house on the site and may be late 18th.  No doubt once it afforded views of the river.
Stables single- storey 19th building, older than Rushgrove House and may have been built in 1805 with Rushgrove Cottage.

Samuel Street
A hilly area developed from the end of the 18th and almost entirely rebuilt after Second World War damage. It skirts round what was once called Vinegar Hill.
Unity Place. One of the earliest developments in the area built in 1796. Demolished in 1979 following a public enquiry.
110 Edinburgh Castle. Built on 1796 as part of Unity Place.  A stuccoed pub, its structure basically pre 1800, but its frontage is mid 19th. This is now housing
Tower blocks as part of the St.Mary’s development area. Norman and Dawbarn 1959.

Sand Street
Now under the Morris Walk Estate, this ran parallel to Maryon Road/Mount Street to the east. It was originally a footpath going to a lime kiln

Sandpit Place
Sandpit Disability Resource Centre

This street includes part of Kidd Street
173-175 Wood Street Home. This was the first house used by the two women who eventually set up the Home for Mothers and Babies, seeing it as a training school for District Midwives.  The building was later converted to flats as Woodhill Court
Woodhill Primary School. Built by the London School Board in 1883 on the west end of Reynolah Gardens. It was designed by Edward Robson and exhibited at the Royal Academy. , The south front has patterned windows, gabled dormers, and comer turrets. There is a care takers house, a play shed for girls and infants, a bloc of 1890 for technical training and stores and a girls' drill hall of 1907. There is also a 1980 built nursery school.
Woodhill Evangelical church. An independent Baptist church. The site was originally bought in 1946 to replace the eventually demolished Queen Street Church.  It was not however built until 1958 when the compensation had been sorted out. The architect was Donald Robertson and there are additional halls at the back.

Woodland Terrace
The rear of these houses was specially changed for the Blow Up film shots taken in Maryon Park.

64-65 Woodrow Business Centre. The site was a series of stables which in 1856 became Charles Malings’ British and Oriental Racquet Manufactory.  They designed and manufactured many racquets.   Slazenger’s took over the factory in 1896 having moved from Manchester. The works expanded and he had a special purpose built factory constructed. By the 1920s they were using mainly machine production methods. In the 1940s Slazenger’s went and as Textile House it was a factory for making shoulder pads. The original house used by Malings is now flats.

Aldous. Village London
Booth. Survey
British Listed Buildings. Web site
Bygone Kent
Charlton Society Walks
Church of England Properties. Web site
Clunn. The Face of London,
Field.  London Place Names
Greater London Council. Home Sweet Home
Glencross. Buildings of Greenwich

Greenwich Council. Web site
Hamilton. Royal Greenwich,
London Borough of Greenwich. Local List
London Encyclopaedia
Metropolitan Borough of Woolwich. Housing brochure
Meulenkamp and Wheatley. Follies
Pevsner and Cherry. South London
Smith. History of Charlton
South East London Industrial Archaeology.
Spurgeon. Discovering Woolwich
Spurgeon. Discovering Greenwich and Charlton
Summerson. Georgian London
Survey of London. Woolwich
Woolwich Architecture Trail
Woolwich Rail Tunnels. Web site

For this post in particular the 2012 volume of the Survey of London has been crucial. Congratulations and thanks to Peter Guillery and his team from Edith- who wishes she could reach your standards.