Coltsford

 

Mill Lane

Coltsford mill. On River Eden. Scott electric generator driven by the mill wheel. a restaurant in 1993, has always, until recently, been a corn mill and is on a small stream which flows down from the high ground at Oxted to the north. It is considered to be on the site of a mill mentioned in the Domesday survey.  The existing buildings are of brick and galletted sandstone to the first floor while the upper two stories to the mansard roof are weather- boarded.  Actually the weatherboarding is painted aluminium.  Structurally the present buildings may date to the mid-18th century.  In the sense that it still occasionally grinds corn for private use, it is the only working watermill in Surrey.  It ceased working commercially after the Second World War. George Marchant was the miller until 1866 after which William Heasman who came from Rowfant acquired it.  The Heasman family continued to own the site until about 1988 and in their early years they worked it in conjunction with Oxted Mill further upstream.  The last miller was Wilfred Heasman.  During the year of his arrival William Heasman installed the present iron waterwheel, which now lies hidden below the high embankment.  In the centre of the large mill pond is an unusual, possibly unique basin, with a circumference of 30ft which provides a fast overflow for excess water and obviates the need for a manually operated sluice gate.

Stocketts Manor. Yeoman farm. 17th brick concealing 15th hall and kingpost roof. Oasthouse, This extremely beautiful Manor House now a hotel seems to have an oasthouse incorporated into it.  

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

South Norwood

Bromley by Bow

Phillibrook Stream - Leytonstone