Monday, 22 January 2018

Crystal Palace


Post to the west Crystal Palace
Post to the south Anerley



Anerley Park
Penge Common. This area was originally part of Penge Common.
The Croydon Canal. The canal lay to the north of the railway but the route was obliterated by development in the 1870s.  In the 1840s the canal was still in water and used for leisure, activities like boating and angling.
Penge West Station. Opened in 1839 this now lies between Anerley and Sydenham on Southern Rail and is now also part of London Overground, who currently manage the station.  The original Penge station was opened by the London and Croydon Railway in 1839 and was closed again in 1841. The buildings remained while the line was parallel for the atmospheric railway and widened twice. In 1863 it was reopened by the London Brighton and South Coast Railway when the buildings were replaced. The ticket office was on the down platform along with a goods office, and waiting room. It appears to have been renamed Penge Bridges for a while. It was then accessed by a road from Penge High Street and there were sidings and a coal yard. This area has all now been removed and replaced by a large shop and access to the whole station is only from Anerley Park. The building on the up side was burnt down in 2005 and has since been rebuilt.  The white painted house at the far eastern end of the station frontage has been suggested as the gatekeeper’s house from the original London and Croydon railway.

Anerley Road
Road built in 1827 following the enclosure of the common Land sold to SE railway by W.Sanderson
Railway Bridge. This under road bridge carries the line running south from Crystal Palace station.
The Thicket. This pub was closed in 2011 and is now flats. It appears to date from the 1860s
Clarendon Hotel. This was originally the City of London Hotel and stood on the corner with Madeline Road. It was associated with the Crystal Palace Brewery to the rear.

Casteldine Road
Local authority housing built in the 1970s. It appears to be on the line of what was Ridsdale Road.
Anerley Tea Rooms Gardens.  These lay to the west of the canal - a ‘pleasure garden’ with a maze and bandstand built parallel with the canal. It remained until 1868.
The Croydon Canal. This lay between the railway and the tea gardens – probably on the line of what became St. Hugh’s Road – now covered by housing south of Castledine Road. It is said that some signs and relics of the canal can be seen on the west side of the road.
St. Hugh’s Community Centre and playground. When the estate was built residents lobbied for community facilities and it was agreed a community hall should be built on empty land. The St Hugh’s Estate Community Centre was opened in the early 1980’s, plus a small public open space and games area. The residents’ association took on the day-to-day management.
St. James’s Mission church. This stood on the corner of what were St. Hugh’s Road and Castledine Road. It was attached to St. Paul’s church south of Anerley Road.  It survived into at least the late 1960s.

Chalkenden Close
Mural –colourful mural with mysterious lettering

Croydon Canal
The Canal ran from Croydon to the Grand Surrey Canal at New Cross, It opened in 1809 and closed in 1836, the first canal to be abandoned by an Act of Parliament. The canal was bought by the London and Croydon railway whose line closely followed the canal route. The line of the canal through this area thus follows the railway as it runs from Penge West to Anerley Stations.

Crystal Palace
Crystal Palace. A vast edifice of glass and iron. This square covers the south eastern quarter of the park, although not the site of the Palace itself. The rest of the park is in squares to the north and west.
The Crystal Palace was built for the Great Exhibition of 1851 and stood in Hyde Park. After the Exhibition the Palace was dismantled and in 1854 was re-erected mainly through the sponsorship of London, Brighton and South Coast Railway Company. The site had been owned by Leo Schuster a director of the railway, who sold it to the Palace company.  The site had previously been Penge Place in part of the Great North Wood.  It opened in 1854.  It was eventually burnt down in 1936 but the park has remained. In 1951 Gerald Barry, Festival of Britain, director, was asked to advise on the best use of the space by then taken over by the London County Council. He proposed an exhibition centre but the Council only acted on his idea of a sports and training centre.
National Sports Centre. Although a major feature of the park the address is Ledrington Road (below)
Penge Entrance. The main entrance to the pleasure grounds is from this entrance in Thicket Road. It was once a lesser pedestrian entrance, which was enlarged around 1880 to include a small ticket office, and it now leads to a car park.
Anerley Entrance.  This is a pedestrian gate immediately north-east of the railway bridge over Thicket Road
Grand Central Walk. This was 2,660 feet long and 96 feet wide to provide a walk way link up to the palace. It has since been curtailed and goes to the raised terrace of the sports centre and is lined by plane trees.
Cafe. This is adjacent to the Central Walk and was built in the 20th.
Visitor Centre. This is on the site of the lower engine house which pumped water from the tidal lake up to the intermediate lake. A supplementary supply of water came from an adjacent 500 feet deep artesian well
Gorilla. Adjacent to the Central Walk is the statue of the late Gorilla, Guy, an inmate of London Zoo, shown on all fours in smooth marble. It dates from 1961 and is by David Gwynne.
The Lower Lake - boating lake. This is west of the Central Walk. It was built in 1854 as a lower reservoir for Paxton's water displays. The lake contains three islands and Paxton, with Professor David Amsteam, designed them to represent geology. The tail of the lake is crossed by a rustic iron bridge designed by Paxton which also provides a viewing platform.
The Prehistoric Monsters. These are 22 statues of how prehistoric creatures were thought to look. They are in bronze, realistically painted, and life-size. They were made in 1854 in artificial stone and iron rods by Benjamin Waterhouse Hawkins under the direction of Professor R. Owen, who invented the word ‘dinosaur’  The iguanodon was large enough for twenty-one men to dine in its half-completed body.  In 2000 they were renovated and reset in realistic poses around the lake where the islands were created to represent the rocks and plants from these times. There is a numbered trail to explain what each of the figures represents.
Cave with artificial stalactites. This is now sealed.
Palace Farmyard. This is was the site of polo stables.
South Basin. The remains of this feature, by Paxton is used as a pool for flamingos.
Cricket ground and cricket pavilion. This was built in 1960 to replace the original; pavilion, used by W G Grace. The ground was established in 1857 and used for first-class cricket 1864-1906. Initially it was used by Kent County Cricket Club and fro 1900 by the London County Cricket Club. The site was later used for tennis and then football but, as part of the National Sports Centre, cricket has been played on the site since the 1990s.
HMS Crystal Palace , this is an open-sided timber structure with a ship's bell, which commemorates the men of the Royal Navy at the training depot, H.M.S. Victory VI at the Crystal Palace, 1914 – 1918
Experimental Pneumatic Railway. This ran between Sydenham and Penge gates in the 1860's.  The means of propelling the train was pioneered by Webster Rammel.   Rammell persuaded the Crystal Palace Company to let him build a 600 yard tunnel which incorporated a sharp bend and at one point a 1:15 gradient. This was a full size carriage which was basically blown down the tunnel and then, the fan reversed, to pull it back up by a vacuum.  It was opened to the public in 1864 for 6d. for a return journey.   The storey goes that that somewhere beneath Crystal Palace is a 600 yard long rail tunnel, sealed at both ends, is a railway carriage full of skeletons.,
Motor-racing track. The circuit opened in 1927 and the first race was for motorcycles, Racing was halted at the start of the Second World War, but returned between 1954 and 1972.
Maze. This dated from 1866 but fell into disrepair after the Palace fire and was levelled in the 1960s. It has now been recreated by Bromley Council following the original design and using hornbeam hedges.
Crystal Palace Park Farm. This is run as a resource for children by Capel Manor College. It has replaced a Children’s Zoo which had camel rides and an adventure playground
Armoury. This was near the Penge Gate
Rosary and bandstand.  This was a rosary, spiral mound and bandstand from 1852. It is now the site of a walkway from the stadium to the station.
Paxton. Large marble head of Paxton, designer of the palace and the park, on a plinth and signed by W. F. Woodington, sculptor of the Lion Brewery lion, and dated 1869.  It was reinstalled in 1981 at the entrance to the National Recreation Centre.  It is five times life size with a romantic mane of hair.

Crystal Palace Park Road
Built as Penge New Road by the turnpike trust in 1827 and lined with tall red mansions of the 1880s.
Telephone Exchange. This dates from around 1970

Crystal Palace Station Road
Crystal Palace Low Level station. This opened in 1854 and lies between Norwood Junction and Gipsy Hill on Southern Rail  and the terminus of the East London Line of the London Overground.. The London, Brighton & South Coast Railway opened the station to passengers on in time for the opening of Crystal Palace in 1854. This was meant to be a combined terminal and through station with a line to Norwood, provided for construction traffic to Crystal Palace and a special line laid for Crystal Palace traffic run and as a shuttle. East of the line there was a local down line for East Station.  The LBSCR ran trains in 1856 to the West Station, from Wandsworth Common and from Victoria and then onwards to Shortlands and Norwood Junction.  It was a monumental scheme, with an enormous train shed as part of the "Crystal Palace Experience", and so in the grand manner. (it was dismantled in 1905 after Charing Cross Station roof fell down). The booking hall was between the two sets of lines on the bridge above the tracks and with a cast-iron arched roof with ribs in foliage patterns and pavilion roofs on either side. There was a sweeping staircase, on the platform, which has been demolished. There was a chapel in the booking hall and a restaurant on the first floor, stationmaster’s house, and directors’ room.  There was a glazed covered way to the Palace with statues with niches in which to have a rest. After the Second World War it provided a service to the National Sports Centre although many of the 19th features have been removed. In 1986 a new entrance and ticket office were built and in 2009 a considerable amount of work was involved in setting it for the London Overground service, including the re-use of a previously abandoned platform.
Three signal boxes.
Goods and coal yard. This was between the two halves of the station. The Crystal Palace Company’s had their own dock.

Hamlet Road
St.Paul’s Church was built and the parish formed in 1865 as the population of the area expanded.  It was replaced by the current octagonal church in 1978.

Ledrington road
Crystal Palace National Leisure Centre.  This is a large leisure centre with a modern gym, pools, diving boards, climbing walls and tennis courts. It opened in 1964 and is currently run by Better.  It covers the lower slopes south of the palace site and uses he basins of the fountains as sites.
The sports centre building was designed by the London County Council Architects Department under Leslie Martin between 1953–54.  Inside is a central concourse with a complex exposed concrete frame supporting the roof, which has a folded teak lining. The diving pool has, or had, a dramatic reinforced concrete diving platform.

Madeline Road
Crystal Palace Brewery, Ransby and Billing. This seems to have opened in the mid-1870s and to have had a variety of owners until destroyed by Second World War bombing.

Meaford Way
A service road round the rear of recent industrial development. It is mainly built on the site of sidings and coal yard connected too Penge West Station. It lay between the railway and the route of the
Croydon Canal.
Ametek Muirhead Aerospace. This was set up in 1950 as Field Aircraft Services and is a subsidiary of AMETEK Inc. They provide support to the aviation industry with a facility near to London Heathrow Airport is one of the largest independent repair facilities in Europe. It offers sales, repair, overhaul, modification and flight data recorder transcription capability.
Europa. This is a furniture hire business which evolved from a carpet fitting warehouse.

Oakfield Road
Croydon Canal.The canal curved through this area and provided a boundary to rear gardens. In 1970 when the ground beside the railway was dug for development they found a wall of brown clay and rubble infilling on what was the old canal bed.
Public Library. Penge's original library was on the corner with Laurel Grove and opened in 1894. It closed in 1928.  The building here was damaged in the Second World War and has now been replaced with flats.
Oakfield Industrial Estate – originally engineering works and sheet metal works.
2 Royal Oak. This pub closed in 2011.  It probably dated from the 1850s and was originally with the Lion Brewery. The site is now flats.
17-19 a new medical centre here replacing the old (listed) Penge Clinic which included a Relief Station and other outbuildings.
48 General Jackson. Charrington pub demolished in the 1970s.
121 Railway Bell. This pub was demolished in the 1970s – despite its green tiled frontage.  It dated from the 1880s.  The pub sign however remains in place on the roadside.
Oakfield Road School, this was transferred to Penge School Board in 1901 – presumably from Kent. It was a monumental school, but not in the London School Board style. It was latterly Penge County Secondary School.

Orchard Grove
Housing from the 1980s on an area previously railway sidings and unused. The dinosaurs are in the park on the other side of the railway

Penge High Street
Originally known as Beckenham Lane
2 Bridge House pub
Bridge House Theatre. In the upstairs of the pub
Beckenham Wharf – John Scott’s wharf on the canal was just north of the bridge on the west side of the road. It was also known as Penge Common Wharf canal.
Croydon canal. This crossed the road at the same point as the London to Croydon railway.   The crossing included a swing bridge.  .
Railway Bridge. This ornamental bridge of 1854 carries the line to Crystal Palace Station. It has three segmental arches with ornamental panelled brickwork.
Railway Bridge. The London and Croydon railway originally crossed the High Street by a level crossing and trains would have waited while the crossing gates were opened for them. After the station closed in 1841, the level crossing was converted to a bridge. The road had to be lowered to provide headroom.
Penge West Station. The original entrance to the station was on the High Street. Evidence of this can be seen in the brickwork below the bridge. On re-opening it was first called Penge Bridges.

Thicket Road
Railway Bridge.  This was built in. 1854 and his skew with an ornate perforated parapet.

Trenholme Close
Croydon Canal. Properties in the Close follow the alignment of the canal which was to the right of Trenholme Terrace and ran towards Castledine Road

Versailles Road
Anerley School for Deaf Boys.  Founded in 1902 to each a ‘pure form of oralism’. Boys were taught bakery, shoe mending, carpentry and so on. The school closed 1956 on conversion to a school for ‘maladjusted children’.  As Anerley School for Boys it was a ‘Community Special School’. This has closed and the site is now flats.

Waldegrave Road
Church, - this is now flats. It was built as the New Church (Swedenborgian). The architect was W.E. Henley, manager of the Concrete Building Company and is built in pitted concrete, now coloured pink. In the Second World War the building was damaged by a rocket attack. The building was finally sold in 198.

Woodbine Grove
Community Vision Nursery

Sources
Beckenham History. Web site
Bygone Kent 
Canals from Croydon to Camberwell,
Chelsea Speleological Society. Newsletter
Cinema Theatres Association. Newsletter
Clunn.  The Face of London
Crystal Palace Park Heritage and Nature Norwood Trail
Darke. The Monument Guide
GLIAS Newsletter
Green Chain Walk., leaflet
Green. Around Dulwich 
Forbears. Web site
Headley & Meulenkamp. Follies, Grottoes and Garden Buildings
Industrial Archaeology Review
Laurie. Beneath the City Streets  
London Borough of Bromley. Web site
Lost Pubs Project. Web site
Norwood Society. Web site
Parks and Gardens. Web site
Pevsner. West Kent
Pevsner and Cherry, South London
Pub History. Web site
Remnants of the Croydon Canal. Web site
South East London Industrial Archaeology
Thames Basin Archaeology of Industry. Report
Thorne. Old and New South London
Wagstaff and Pullen. Beckenham. An Anthology of Local History
Warwick. The Phoenix Suburb 

Friday, 19 January 2018

Croxley


Post to the south Croxley Hall
Post to the west Croxley Green
Post to the east Croxley Green


Barton Way
Named for Charles-Barton Smith, Manager at the Dickinson Mill, Councillor and Chairman of the Rickmansworth Urban District Council.
Croxley Green Library. This is now a self service library. It originally opened in 1966 on the site of cottages, but was burnt down in 1992. It was rebuilt in 1994.
British Red Cross.  Equipment loan centre and social centre.
Barton Way Play Area. Adventure playground, lots of climbing. This is part of a larger recreation area opened when the housing was built in the 1930s

Community Way
Croxley Green Parish Council Offices. Very small.
Community Club. Private not for profit organisation
Allotments

Dickinson Avenue
Company housing built for Dickinson workers from the 1890s in what had previously been called Long Row.

Dickinson Square
Company housing built for Dickinson workers and designed by George Hubbard. It was built on what had been called Milestone Field, itself part of the Common Moor.
Gardens with what may have been a bandstand provided by Dickinson. This is a rectangular green, with flowerbeds, and bordered by coniferous and deciduous trees fenced with iron railings,
5 was the first shop of Croxley Co-operative Society in 1888

Dulwich Way
Yorke Mead School.. This primary school was opened in 1974

Fuller Way
Explore Church. Fuller Way Church. This belongs to the Christian Fellowship and was built originally as an iron church after the Second World War, replaced by the current building in 1959.

Harvey Road
Harvey Road Junior School. Using some temporary buildings from 1938. As Croxley Green expanded rapidly in the late 1930s new families needed school places and two original schools were heavily overcrowded. Hertfordshire County Council had designated a site for a school and in 1938 a school was built with seven ‘temporary’ wooden huts for classrooms.  Boys and girls of senior age shared these huts and eventually transferred to the new Durrants Secondary Modern School.  Harvey Road then opened as a Junior Mixed School in 1939. The temporary classrooms were used for evacuees. A dining room was not added until after the war and 1956 four additional classrooms and a library were also added.

Long  Valley Wood
Woodland managed by the parish council.

Malvern Way
St.Oswald's Church.  As the population of Croxley Green grew in the 1930’s the vicar of All Saints’ Church, though that another church hall was needed.  A site in Malvern Way was thus purchased in 1936. With local fund raising and commitment the hall was opened in 1937 as a church and for social events. In 1940 it became a school for evacuee children however its use as a focus for the local community increased.  In 1946 it became more independent and adjacent land was bought for a new church. A font and choir stalls were acquired from redundant churches – some from the Fisherman’s Church in Hastings. Boundaries were set for a new church and a new parsonage house was acquired.  What was built was a new hall and the existing hall was converted into a new church which opened in 1962. A bell was given from the chapel of Shrodells Hospital – but it is now in Watford Museum. Shaftesbury Court, sheltered housing was built on spare land adjacent to the church.
Malvern Way School. This opened in 1949

New Road
Built as part of the earliest development of the area in the 19th and named New Road in 1898. It had originally been a cart track called Cow Lane.
216 Fox and Hounds. Built in the  mid 19th this is now a Greene King house. Originally water was from a well at the back and there was a skittle alley upstairs
Rose Pub. This dated from the 1867. The site is now flats
Dickinson Institute. In 1895 the Dickinson company agreed to fund an institute for workers. A cottage at 32 Milestone Field was converted and named The Dickinson Institute, at first only for use by men. In 1896 a new hall – a ‘tin tabernacle’ - was built adjacent to it including a stage and a kitchen. The Church Lads Brigade was based there as well as the Cricket and Rifle club. There were many sorts of classes and a library. In 1904 another new building fronted onto New Road.  In the Great War from 1916 to 1919 it was used as a Voluntary Aid Department convalescent home for wounded soldiers. From 1926 it was known as the Guild House – for the in-house union. In the Second World War it was used as a school for evacuees. In 1965 it was burnt down and has been replaced by The Guildhouse Flats.
Methodist Chapel. In 1866 a Mr Pierce established a Methodist Society in his own house. In 1868 a Methodist chapel was opened. A schoolroom was added in 1892 and a new chapel also built and opened the following year. A new hall was added at the back in the 1960s.

Watford Road
This was the original road through the area and part of the Hatfield to Reading Turnpike.
Croxley Station.  This is described as part of the ‘underground railway’ but it in fact a surface rail line, albeit managed by London Underground. Opened in 1925 it now lies between Moor Park and Watford on the Metropolitan Line. The Metropolitan became interested in building a station in Watford near the new Cassiobury Park in 1912. This was to leave their existing line near Croxley Hall Farm and an intermediate station was proposed at Croxley Green. However the Great War led to the postponement of the line and the Metropolitan became part of a committee with the London and North Eastern Railway. Work on the line began in the early 1920s. The station was to be called Croxley Green despite an existing station with the same name to the east. At the site for the new station a row of cottages were demolished for this purpose. There were many delays and arguments over ownership as the line passed through land subject to current developments. At Croxley Green Station a signal box was planned with the latest type of automatic electric signalling system as well as a Goods yard where cola could be stored.  The station opened in 1925 designed by the Met's architect, Charles W Clark in an Arts and Crafts vernacular style, in keeping with Metroland theme. It was managed by the Watford Joint Railway Committee with some trains worked by the Metropolitan and others by the London and North Eastern Railway. In 1933 the Metropolitan Railway became part of the London Transport Passenger Board and in 1949 this station was renamed Croxley because of confusion with the other station (which has since vanished).
Red House. Greene King pub dating from 1870
19 Duke of York pub. Now replaced by Dukes Place

Sources
Croxley Green History. Web site
Croxley Green Methodist Church. Web site
Croxley Green Parish Council. Web site
Explore Church. Web site
Evans. The Endless Web
Fox and Hounds. Web site
Greenman. A History of Croxley Green through its Street Names
Harvey Road School. Web site
Hertfordshire County Council. Web site
Malvern Road School. Web site
St.Oswald’s Church. Web site
Three Rivers District Council. Web site
York Mead School. Web site

Thursday, 18 January 2018

Crofton Park


Post to the north Brockley
Post to the west Honor Oak
Post to the east Ladywell


Beecroft Road
Beecroft Garden Primary School. The school was opened in 1894 as Brockley Road School. It was built on land previously owned by Christ’s Hospital. The school building was badly damaged in the Second World War by a V1 rocket and was demolished. It reopened as Brockley Primary School in 1951. Brockley Primary School was demolished in 2012 and again rebuilt now as Beecroft Garden Primary School.

Brockley Cemetery
This square covers only the south west section of the cemetery. The rest is in squares to the north and east.
Brockley Cemetery is joined to Ladywell Cemetery and they were  opened within one month of each other in 1858 and are sited on adjacent plots of previously open land. Until 1948, they were completely separate, being divided by a wall. Brockley Cemetery, formerly Deptford Cemetery, lies to the west. In the area covered here there were once two chapels – Church of England and Dissenters – which are now demolished. The most south west area was dedicated as a burial area for Roman Catholics, with a mortuary chapel, also now demolished.
War Memorial. This consists of a curtain wall positioned behind the memorial Column. There are the names rank and date of death of one-hundred-and-sixty-five soldiers inscribed on its panels. A separate panel gives the names of those remembered from the Second World War buried elsewhere in the cemetery.

Brockley Footpath
The footpath runs from Brockley to Nunhead. This easternmost section starts from Brockley Road, originally alongside the Brockley Jack, and running up what is now Cypress Gardens, crosses Buckland Road to the railway footbridge on Eddystone Road.

Brockley Grove
This is an old lane, as Brockley Lane running between Brockley and Ladywell.
Crofton Park Baptist Church. In 1900 a new Sunday school began in Crofton Park. They bought land from Joy Farm and by 1909 the foundation stone was laid for a church building. Soon they converted the adjoining farm building into a new sanctuary. As housing estates were built around the site In the 1930s the church expanded. A new church was planned for 1960.
Brockley Grove Service Centre. Recycling point.
Brockley Hall. This stood on the corner with Brockley Road. In the mid-19th it was occupied by the Noakes family who were brewers  in Bermondsey, but also farmed here. The house was demolished in 1931 after Maude Noakes had died. Brockley Hall Road, Bearsted Rise, Horsmonden Road and Sevenoaks Road were built over the grounds.

Brockley Mews
Housing built on the site of Brockley Cottages.  In the 1980s there was said to be a ruined cottage on this site and there had once been one of the other side of Brockley Way. It is thought these were railway cottages built for signalmen

Brockley Rise
Stillness Junior School.  Formerly Stillness Road School, this is a Bailey school from 1905 built by the London School Board. It has impressive gateways.  There was a bad fire here in 2010.
Kings College Sports Ground. Money  raised from the sale of a ground in Surrey helped fund a replacement clubhouse in 2013. This was previously Guy’s Hospital Atheletic ground and had been since the 1890s..  Stillness Junior and Infant Schools use the ground on a regular basis. T he ground is also is home to Guy’s Rugby club and King’s and Alleyn’s Hockey club. The Guys Rugby Club claims to be the oldest in the world.

Brockley Road
Christ’s Hospital property marker. This is an iron post in the hedge opposite the cemetery entrance. Dated 1807.
Crofton Park Station. Opened in 1892 this lies between Catford and Nunhead stations on South Eastern Trains  as part on the 'Catford Loop' West Hampstead Thameslink to Sevenoaks route, originally an alternative route for the Chatham line between Brixton and Shortlands..  Crofton Park appears to be an entirely made up name invented for this station, which is actually in Brockley. It was opened by the London, Chatham and Dover railway in 1892 and is the most traditional of all the stations along the Loop. It is a mirror image of Bellingham Station although here the façade is London-facing. The station building is at an angle to the platforms which led to a long footbridge and there was no goods yard here. However this station has changed little since its earliest days, leaving it as the Catford Loop’s most architecturally complete site. In 1945 a neary V2 caused a fire here. There were no casualties but a train lost its windows as it was passing through the station
Signal Box. There was a Saxby & Farmer cabin at the country end of the up platform. This was demolished in 1959.
Crofton Park Library . This was opened in 1905  funded by Scottish American industrialist and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie The architect was Alfred L Guy,. It is part of Lewisham Library Service but is volunteer run by Eco Communities. over the door is the motto “Salus Populi Suprema Lex” from the crest of the Metropolitan Borough of Lewisham .
Rivoli Ballroom – built as the Crofton Park Picture Palace in 1913 and designed by Henley Attwater with a simple barrel-vaulted auditorium.  In 1918 was re-named Crofton Park Cinema and by 1931 it had been re-named Rivoli Cinema.  It remained an Independently operated and owned cinema and closed in 1957. It re-opened in 1959 as the Rivoli Ballroom and remains open as this. It has a sprung maple dance floor. The interior and exterior fittings have the same, 1950's and 1960's look and it is used as a TV and film location
Brockley Green. This extended from the junction with Brockley Grove – and the traffic island which seems to be the last remains of it – until the junction with Brockley Rise to the south.  Brockley Hall stood on the junction with Brockley Grove.
Toilets.  A toilet block in the centre of the road designed by H.R.Watt has now been converted to an esatate agent’s offices.  It is said to be on the site of the farm pond, hence the curve in the road.
Brockley Castle.  The predecessor pub to the Brockley Jack may have been called the Castle Inn.  It was a wooden hostelry building alongside the current pub and alongside Brockley Green and described in the Enclosures Award of 1810.  The pub sign was said to have been painted on a ‘mammoth bone’ or a whalebone and that the pub was named after Jack Cade or a highwayman.  It was demolished for the new pub in 1898.
410 Brockley Jack pub.  The pub was rebuilt in 1898 by the brewers Noakes. High up on the south gable are the words “Noakes Entire” – referring to a mix of beers. At the front there is a foundation laid by Wickham Noakes and on the top front gable is a representation of the whale bone sign from the original pub. . It  is now a Greene King house. It is said that the function room upstairs once housed the largest 6- lane Scalextric track in South-East London, and regular 24-hour "Le Mans" sessions were held   the rear When function room has been used for various things, such as a dance hall, a snooker room and a music venue but is now a small theatre founded in 1994 and providing a regular professional programme.
St. Hilda. Brockley was originally in Lewisham parish but as the area was developed in the late 19th it was seen that a new parish needed to be created and a church provided.  A temporary church was opened in 1900 and plans for a permanent church drawn up and funds raised, as well as funding for fixtures and fittings, which included an organ. It was designed by Greenaway & Newberry, in ‘Arts and Crafts Gothic’.  There is a stunted tower with an octagonal parapet decorated with brick and stone chequer work.
Vicarage. This was built on an adjacent site to the church. It was destroyed in 1944 bombing and rebuilt in 1951.
War Memorial. This is in the churchyard and is a granite celtic cross surmounting two plinths with names of dead on base. It was designed by Greenway and Newberry and is inscribed “To the glory of god and in loving memory of those from this parish who have laid down their lives in the great war A.D. 1914-1919. Their name liveth for evermore.”  It was unveiled in by General Sir Ian Hamilton
Brockley Farm. This was on Brockley Road about half way between Brockley Jack and Brockley Rise. The farmhouse was a16th house called Forest Place. It was demolished in 1870.
Brockley Green Farm. This belonged to Christ’s Hospital was purchased by the London and Croydon Railway in 1836.

Brockley Way
Brockley Way continues the Brockley Footpath towards Nunhead.  It is thought that it would have crossed the Croydon Canal here – the high embankments and deep cutting may indicate a canal origin –although there is some discussion on the actual line of the canal
Croydon Canal. It is thought that this crossing maybe the site of Lock 22.
Crematorium Gates

Courtrai Road
This dead end road once led to a bridge over the canal and railway and was then called Dead Lane. It was gone by 1914.
8a Celestial Church of Christ, Mercyland Parish

Crofton Park Road
Follows the line of an old lane.
St.Andrew's Works, Amplion radios . this was on the site of what is now Ladywell Heights. This was Alfred Graham and Co. making loud speakers for wirelesses. It appears that a plan to build a factory here by prestigious Wallis Gilbert, was never carried out. In the 1950s the site is described as a ‘cooperage’ and by the 1960s a ‘depository’.

Croftongate Way
New housing on the site of allotments

Croydon Canal
The canal ran north-south through this area. It opened in 1809 from Croydon and joined the Surrey Canal at New Cross. It was never a success and closed in 1836. The London & Croydon Railway Company bought it and used some of the route for their line. Although the railway built on this section there is some dispute about the actual line of the canal and the sites of a number of locks and, also, what, if anything, remains of it

Cyprus Gardens
New housing to the rear of the Brockley Jack and on the line of the Brockley footpath.

Eddystone Road
39-43  Beaufoy-Roberts Hall.  Honor Oak and Brockley British Legion Hall. It is however a social club and hired out for events.
Bridge over the railway which carries the Brockley footpath, a water main taking water to the reservoir in Oxleas Wood is carried under the bridge

Roscastle Road
Playground

Stondon Park
22 Lewisham Council / Labour Party plaque to Jim O’Connell, 1852-1929, 'Irish socialist and author of The Red Flag'. He was Secretary of the Workmen’s Legal Friendly Society, and lived here 1915-29
1 Estate agent’s shop with clock outside.  This is now a veterinary practice

Turnham Road
Honor Oak Community Centre. The Honor Oak Community Association manages the Centre and provides facilities and activities as well as room hire, etc.

Sources
Barton. London’s Lost Rivers
Beecroft Gardens Primary School. Web site
Brockley Central. Blog. Web site.
Canals from Croydon to Camberwell
Cinema Treasures. Web site.
Clunn. The Face of London
Crofton Park Baptist Church. Web site
Friends of Brockley and Ladywell Cemeteries. Web site
Hidden London. Web site
South London Club. Blog. Web site
Ideal Homes. Web site
Kent Rail. Web site
Kings College. Web site
Lewisham Local History Journal
London Borough of Lewisham. Web site
London Borough of Southwark. Web site
Monk. Brockley
Skinner. Form and Fancy
Spurgeon. Discover Deptford and Lewisham
Stillness Primary School. Web site
Sydenham Forum. Web site
St.Hilda’s. Web site
Walking London One Post Code at a time. Blog. Web site
White. Watering Places in Lewisham
Wikipedia. As appropriate. Web site

Wednesday, 17 January 2018

Cricklewood

Anson Road
This area was owned by All Souls College, Oxford and in 1900, housing was built here.
Trinity Court. This is the ex-Baptist Church. It was designed by Arthur Keen in the style of Italian Byzantine style in red and yellow brick.
Anson Primary School. The school was built after the Second World War.
61 St Gabriel’s Hall.  After the Second World War this was sold to the local council for community use. It was later sold the building to the Dar Al-Islam Foundation.
61 Dar Al Islam Foundation. Shia Muslim Mosque

Ashford Road
Imperial Dry Plate Works. In 1871 Richard Maddox had discovered a way of coating photographic plates so they could be kept until needed rather than processed straight immediately. Joseph Acworth became interested in these and worked at the Britannia Dry Plate Co. in Ilford then did a PhD in Germany. He experimented and then set up the Imperial Dry Plate Company in a factory built by George Furness. The plates sold well and the factory had to be enlarged several times. In 1917 Acworth sold out to Ilford and retired. The Imperial factory, by then part of Ilford, was again expanded in the 1940s but the site is now flats,
60 Ashford Place. Community resource building . In 1983 a group of local people wanted to help the homeless. With the help of St.Agnes church they set up Cricklewood Homeless Concern. They were offered this building and with a team of volunteers began supporting the growing number of homeless men on the streets and eventually employed specialist staff. The site was previously a youth club –a Jewish Youth Club in the 1950s, and one attached to St. Agnes Church later.

Chichele Road
Thomas Chichele was Archbishop of Canterbury to whom much of this land was transferred in 1438. He founded All Souls College and gave the land in this area to them.
St Gabriel's Church Hall. The hall was originally the building in Anson Road which is now a mosque. The hall is now the building next to it in Chichele Road.
Cricklewood Congregational Church and Memorial Hall opened in 1893. The church was built in 1901 by William Wallis with schools in the basement, This is now a mosque
Mosque and Islamic Centre of Brent. Sufi – Bareilvi mosque. In 1976 the building was bought by the local community. restorations and alterations took place there was an official opening in 2005.  The spire was changed into a minaret with a dome on the top and two smaller green domes were added. In the basement is used a community and sports hall. There are also facilities for women, and office space.

Cricklewood Broadway 
This is a section of the A5, the London Holyhead Trunk Road which began at Marble Arch. It is also a section of the Romaniter II  route which later took the Anglo-Saxon name of Watling Street. This stretch became established as a shopping centre in the 19th.
Coronation Memorial Clock.  This was erected on the corner with Anson Road in 1912 to commemorate the Coronation of George V.
122 Nodes Funeral Service. The firm dates from 1828. High on the gable is a painted sign for the company
135 The Slade. The name for what was an 18th farm appears to come from a brook which rises in this area. In the late 19th this appears to be an estate concerned with horses, there was a riding school there and polo was played at a private club here in 1892.  A Mr. Wimbush had converted fields into livery stables and built a smithy. In 1918 it was leased by Whitlock’s Motors and Lawton Goodman Ltd.
135 Whitlock Motors. Were coach builders and motor engineers with a presiiguous clientele, based in Chiswick High Road but had failed. William Goodman Lawton, also a coach builder and engineer, was to use the Whitlock marquee. Ge set up a manufacruring base at the Slade in 1913.  He was to build ambulances there for wartime use along with work for De Havilland and Airco.After the war they concentrated on vehicles with luxury coachwork and fittings. From the late 1930s however they made commercial vehicles – more ambulances along with ice cream vans, mobile shops etc. The works closed in 1991 when their lease expired. The works was demolished and the site is now housing.
152 Crown Hotel.  By the 1750s the Crown was a coaching inn with some bare knuckle fighting on the side. It is now the Clayton Crown, previously the Moran Crown.. Flamboyant building with  lots of terracotta ornament and four cast-iron lamp standards in front. It is a substantial pub set back from the road and was the  terminus for early  bus routes. It was rebuilt in 1889 by Shoebridge & Rising  for Cannon Brewery. It is now part of a large modern hotel which stands adjacent to it.
Smiths Crisps.  Two garages behind the pub were used by Frank Smith whose wife sliced and fried the potatoes, while he bagged them up and sold them to local pubs. Within seven years they had a full time staff of 12. In 1927 they moved to Brentford.
194 Galtymore. Irish dance hall. This included a (Roller) Skating rink and three dance halls, Closed in 2008 and now demolished.
Palace Cinema. This was adjacent to the skating rink and opened around 1911.  It closed in 1939, and never re-opened.
Rock Halls Lodge. 18th house
200 Beacon Bingo. This is a modern purpose-built venue with facilities for over 2,700 players.
F.O.C. Caravan Centre. This was present in the 1950s and appears to have been replaced by Beacon Bingo
222 Telephone Exchange. 1929-30.  In the style of the Office of Works between the wars with ‘colossal bulk. Carved stone keystones to some of the first-floor windows. It serves Cricklewood, Dollis Hill, Dudden Hill, Mapesbury and Neasden nearby, and had DOLlis Hill and GLAdstone numbers until the late 1960s. It now has 0208-450 and 452 xxxx numbers, plus some Outer London allocated numbers. Mobile phone aerials on the roof
245 Sorting Office from 1905. This is now Arrow Electrical store.
245-7 W. J. Fowler & Son, printers, were founded here in 1898. “Railway printing experts”. Fowlers had a particular interest in tramways and railways and published a number of magazines and journals on those subjects.
Cricklewood House

Cricklewood Lane
This was previously Child’s Hill Lane
3 The Queen’s Hall Cinema was opened in 1920. It was operated by Catwood Cinemas Ltd and replaced Rock Hall House. The entrance was set within a low colonnade, with shop units on each side. It was taken over by Denman/Gaumont British Theatres in 1928, and was refurbished, with a Christie 2Manual/8Ranks organ installed. It was re-named Gaumont in 1949, and CinemaScope was fitted in 1955. It was closed by the Rank Organisation in 1960 and demolished. a supermarket was built on the site, first a KwikSave, then Somerfield and by 2017 a Co-op.
Congregational chapel. This is said to have been an iron mission chapel opened in 1885. The congregation moved to a purpose built church in 1893.
Railway Bridge. This  carries the Midland Main Line railway over Cricklewood Lane. Along the side walls is written ‘CRICKLEWOOD’ in large letters.
Cricklewood Station.  Opened in 1870 two years after the line was opened by the Midland Railway, it now lies between West Hampstead and Hendon on Thameslink.  Trains going to St.Pancras pass through without stopping.  It was built by J.E.Hall and first called Child’s Hill and Cricklewood. In 1906 the Station offices were rebuilt in red brick and terra cotta with a bold chimney and Art Nouveau features. There was also a station masters’ house and a covered footbridge. It was originally sited to service a branch line to Acton, which was later closed closed and station renamed ‘Cricklewood’ in 1903. In 1904 an up local line was installed through the station with a new platform and a down local line a year later. The original buildings were demolished and a subway was installed along with a booking office in Cricklewood Lane.  Only the booking office is now used and ‘Station house’
Down sidings. These were west of the station and were used for marshalling express goods traffic. This is now an area of superstores with an access road from Cricklewood Lane.
Express Dairy depot and bottling plant. This opened in the 19th and lay to the north and east of the station. Still extant in the 1980s.

Depot Approach
Caravan Depot. This was on the site now covered by the Bingo hall.
The road originally appears to have gone to the railway sidings and coal yards.

Hovenden Road
Mapesbury Dell. This is a small park and garden administered by local residents since 2000.  It was previously Hovenden Road Play area and as such neglected.

Howard Road
Mosque. Back entrance to the building in Chichele Road

Kara Way
Kara Way Playground. Small park with play and sports facilities
Timber Yard

Mora Road
Mora Road Primary and Infants School. The school dates from 1907.

Oaklands Road
Theme Traders Production Village. This is an ‘event management’ organisation.
Chromoloid Works. They were platers using chromium or cadmium. Present in the 1930s.
99 Razvite.  This was a French safety razor manufacturing company. The made FixaVite Cosmetics and Toilet Preparations connected with shaving, 1940s.
Industrial Engineering Ltd. They were here in the 1920s and made  Flexolac a plastic roofing compound – probably using asbestos.
Moss and Woodd. In 1907 they were here as concessionaires’ for Orion lorries constructed by Zurich based Automobilfabrik Orion Actien Gesellschaft
The Ivanhoe Motor Co., Made Mercury cars 24 h.p driven by four-cylinder engines. Here in 1907.
Actinorae Works. Aircraft Equipment Co. Ltd , 1918. This was owned by a Mr. Holt
Sign factory.  This appears to be a roof sign business in the 1920s run by a Sir.A.McBain

Sheldon Road
H. C. Shepherd & Co., Ltd.,  manufacturing aircraft and motor jigs, press tools, etc..

Sneyd Road
Cricklewood Baptist Church. This dates from 1907. In 1930, a church hall was added and is now used as the church because the . main church building was sold to property developers in 1990, and is now flats.

St.Michaels Avenue
St. Michael's church. Designed 1908 by John Samuel Alder; built 1909-10 in Limestone and Bath stone. It was founded by the London Diocesan Home Mission 1907 and the parish formed from St. Gabriel's. The benefice suspended because of friction between the vicar and the parishioners 1949-51. The church has been for sale and is signed now as “St Michaels Church of Jesus Christ (Apostolic)”
Pumping station. (in the square to the west)

Walm Lane
Old lane called Warne Lane in the 16th.
 St Gabriel. Built 1896-1903 by W. Bassett Smith and R.P. Day. In 1891, an iron church was erected on the area where St Gabriel's now stands. The current church was built alongside. The current vicar ia a member of the General Syod and has links to the New Wiune movemtn,
War Memorial. This is to the dead of the Great War designed by John Coates Carter FRIBA
131-5 United Synagogue.  In 1928 a house at 137 was registered for worship, and in 1931 Cricklewood synagogue, was built next door at. 131-5. Designed by Cecil J Eprile. It was converted into flats in 1989. The congregation moved into an adjoining hall

Sources
Brent Mosque. Web site
British History online. Web site
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Clunn. The Face of London
Cricklewood Baptist Church. Web site
Cricklewood Homeless Concern. Web site
Field. London Place Names
Goslin and Connor. St Pancras to St.Albans
GLIAS  Newsletter
Grace’s Guide. Web site
Kilburn and Willesden History Blog. Web site
London Borough of Barnet. Web site
London Borough of Brent. Web site
London Encyclopaedia,
London’s Industrial Archaeology
Londonist. Blog. Web site
London Railway Record.
McCarthy. London. North of the Thames
Middlesex Churches
Nairn. Nairn’s London
Pevsner and Cherry.  London North
Stevenson. Middlesex
St. Gabriel’s Church. Web site
Wikipedia. As appropriate. Web site

Sunday, 14 January 2018

Addington Hills


Post to the north Shirley


Addington Hills
Addington Hills. This was once called Pripledeane  meaning 'gravel valley', In 1874 the Croydon Board of Health purchased an initial area, and in 1903 added the part near Shirley was added in 1903, the Birch wood between Oaks Road and Coombe Lane was a gift from Frank Lloyd of Coombe Park and finally the Pine woods in the south east corner were added in 1919 The park rises from Oaks Road to a plateau of Blackheath Pebbles 460 feet above sea level. It is colonized by heather with groups of pines and other trees. Int he north west are steep valleys covered in Birch and Oak.  Springs which once marked the junction of the Blackheath and Woolwich beds have disappeared. Some areas of the park were excavated for gravel in the 19th and earlier. In 1963 a Viewing Platform was given by Alderman Basil Monk as a memorial to Croydon's Millenary. There are inscriptions and pointers to places of interest.
Addington Reservoir. This is on south side of the Hills and was built in 1888 for Croydon Corporation Water Works.. At first the Valve House was open to the public as a cafe with a flat above, But in 1937 typhoid was traced here and the cafe was closed.

Badgers Hole
This was originally a temporary settlement with cottages built in what were extensive pits. There are said to be caverns here. A pub here may have been the ‘Badger Inn”

Bishops Walk
Private road of posh houses leading to Addington Palace.

Coombe Lane
Coombe Lane Tram stop. 1998 .Between Gravel Hill and Lloyd Park on Croydon Tramlink
Lamb Inn. This pub was in the area before the mid-19th.  According to tradition was the site of a battle between smugglers and revenue officers.

Oaks Road
Broadcombe was the old name for the tract of land alongside Oaks Road and at the foot of Addington Hills.
Hither Sheep House Field lay to the east of Oaks Lane. 27 depressions were found in a plot locally called Lyme Pitts

Sandpits Road
This is an area of sandpits lying south and east along the road.  They may have been worked, at least latterly by the Bennett family who had a broom making business here, and latterly a horticultural establishment.
Bungalow cottages from the 1860s
Footpath into Pinewoods

Shirley Hills Road
5 mission church of 1873. The building was also used as an infants school in the 1890s. This is now a house called ‘The Fold’.

Sunken Lane
Water tower.  This is adjacent to the tram stop and has a series of transmission devices attached.

Upper Shirley Road
Brewery. Shirley Brewery was owned by Ludlam and Grant until it was taken over 1882 by Nathanial Page. Later  in 1892 it was taken over again and the name was later used for the Croydon Brewery
152 Sandrock Hotel. This was built in 1867 on the corner of the sandpits., It is said to be name after a  rock nearby on which a preacher stood to conduct services. In 1878 there were livery and bait stables, and a farm. The licensee put swings in the grounds and offered donkey rides following arrangements with gypsies’. He also offered donkey rides in his garden. Visitors from London drank too much, danced and sang, courted more than one lady at a time, wore false noses, exchanged head-gear with those of the opposite sex, and made remarks to passers-by. It was until recently a Charrington house.

Sources
Chelsea Speleological Society. Newsletter
Clunn. The Face of London
Croydon. Guide
Croydon Natural History & Scientific Society, Bulletin
London Borough of Croydon. Web site
Gent. Croydon Past.
London Footprints. Web site
Penguin. Surrey 
Pevsner and Cherry. South London, 
Smyth, Citywildspace, 
Stewart, Croydon History in Field and Street Names
Wealden Cave and Mine Archive. Web site.

Friday, 12 January 2018

Claygate


Post to the east Claygate


Beaconsfield Road
20 this appears to have been built by Joseph Ellis, an industrialist and ‘ironmaster’ with an interest in many coal companies in the 19th   and early 20th.  From 1908 it was the offices of the Associated British Machine Tool Makers. It is now residential.

Blakeden Road
Named for Cuthbert Blakeden, Henry VIII’s Serjeant-of-the-Confectionary and owner of the manor.
Built since the 1960s on the site of Elm Gardens Nurseries.  It had earlier been 'Capel Field’ and used by the Leveret Cricket Club, and later Elm Nurseries.

Church Road
Claygate Recreation Ground. The land was taken over by Esher Council in the 1920s. It is now managed by the Claygate Recreation Ground Trust. It is used by the Claygate Cricket Club, Claygate Royals Football Club & The Pavilion Cafe
Holy Trinity Church. This was built in 1840 on former common land and was from the first a parish church. It has been enlarged and in 1999 a new church hall and vicarage were built. Inside is a memorial to men who died in the Second World War.
Churchyard. The wrought-iron gates to the churchyard date from 1959 as a memorial to members of the Rossiter family including a son killed in action in 1944. The gates were made locally at The Forge in Common Road.
War Memorial. This is in the churchyard and was unveiled in 1921 to commemorate Claygate men who died in the Great War. It is a stone cross with a tapering shaft on a stone plinth with four tablets bearing names.
National School. Until 1838 children attended a school in a shed. In 1838 Claygate's elementary school was opened and managed by the Church of England and the National Society. The school room was rebuilt in 1866 but was still too small. It closed in 1881 but the premises continued to be used as a church hall.  It was demolished in 1964 and replaced
Claygate Village Hall. This was built in 1958 on land bought in 1954 following local fund raising. There have been additions since. It is managed by the Village Hall Association which is made up of users.
Arbrook Hall. Hall owned by the Catholic church in its own grounds.  It was designed by J McCormack in 1965 and used by a nursery school and a youth club

Claremont Road
Railway Bridge. Built by the estate developers in the early 20th

Claygate Common
This was enclosed in 1838 and acquired by Esher Council in 1922. A local nature reserve with a wooded area, Birds seen include kestrel, sparrowhawk and green woodpecker.
Golf Course. This was a nine hole course built in the late 19th. It closed in 1914.

Coverts Road
Housing built from 1885 to the outbreak of World War I was located here. It was originally Covers Road.
Ebenezer Baptist Chapel. From around 1850 residents gathered in a private house, and then a barn as Strict and Particular Baptists. In 1860 they built a chapel here named Ebenezer Strict Baptist Chapel. by 1976 it was in disrepair and unsafe and the congregation joined with another.

Elm Road
Elm Road School. This built by the Thames Ditton and Claygate School Board to replace the National School and opened in 1886. From 1903 the school was managed by Surrey County Council and from 1940 took only children under 11 becoming Claygate County Primary School and later Claygate County Junior Mixed School. It was bombed in 1941 and damaged by a rocket bomb in 1944. The buildings were also used as a British Restaurant. It closed in 1987 and Claygate Youth Club has leased the building since.
Claygate Centre for the Community. Buildings with facilities for the old and/or disabled.

Fee Farm Road
Fee Farm lay between Causeway and Coverts Road. In 1920 it was sold to builders who created the road and built houses
Fee Farm Farmhouse. This is a 17th house with late 18th additions. It is timber framed and clad in brick.

Fitzalan Road
Upper School of Rowan Hill opened here in 1944.

Foley Road
Claygate Primary School. This is on the site of a The Firs, a house fronting onto Hare Lane purchased in 1971. The school had a hall and four classrooms when it opened in 1973. In 1976 it became a County Middle School for children between 8 and 12 and is now a Primary School.

Gordon Road
Newlands College was a ‘preparatory’ school for boys and girls was founded in 1927. It moved to 'Elmside' in 1938. In 1973 the lease expired and the school was closed. Elmside was then demolished and housing built on n the site.
Rowan ‘Preparatory’ School for Girls was founded in 1936 with seven pupils at Rowan Brae. The Lower and Middle Schools remain here.

Hare Lane
Swedenborgian Church .This was built on a field belonging to Titts Farm. This was the New Jerusalem Church built in 1909 and owned by Charles Higby, a builder. In the Second World War it was used as an ARP Wardens’ Centre, and then until 1949, as a Surrey County Library,
45 First Church of Christ, Scientist, Claygate and Esher. The site was originally a Swedenborgian church which was purchased in 1951 by the Christian Scientists and dedicated as a church in 1957. In 1959 a new church was built with a reading room. The architect was Gilbert Williams.
Telephone exchange
106 Foley Hotel. This is named for the local Foley family and has been a Young’s pub since the 1880s. It claims to date from the 1780s
The Orchard. This was originally a farmhouse from the 18th -1723 is inscribed on a barn in its grounds. Fire Mark J74J issued in 1825 by the Protectors' Insurance Company was also on the house. It is timber framed with whitewashed brick cladding
Barn in the grounds of The Orchard. This was dismantled and now is in Wallis Wood, near Ockley
164 Carpark. In 1919 this was the site of a garage for Claygate Motors managed by R.J. Bevington until the Second World War. The premises were then used for war work, and by the Claygate Auxiliary Fire Service.
Hubbard Combustion Ltd. This firm was on the site from the end of the Second World War and made industrial furnaces. In 1969 the site was sold to Esher Urban District Council for a car park

Oaken Lane
Road which led to clay pits and brickworks, to the north of this square.

Sims Cottages
Pathway between the High Street and The Green, Sims family owned clay pits to the north of the village and associated brickworks.

St. Leonard’s Road
This was once called Red Lane. It was renamed when houses were built here in the early 20th. It was named after Lord St Leonards; he became Lord Chancellor of England in 1852 and in Thames Ditton.
12 Rose Cottage. one of the oldest houses in Claygate built around 1695, as a gamekeeper's cottage on the Couchmore Estate. There is a Royal Exchange fire mark on the front.

Telegraph Lane
This leads uphill to the telegraph tower – in the square to the north,

The Green
This was Claygate Hurst
The Hare and Hounds. This was a pub before 1843, but had originally been a farmhouse.  In 1866 it had a bar as well as stables for six horses, a coach house, barn, skittle alley, sheds and a yard. It was then bought by the Twickenham Brewery from Messrs. Norton. In 1896 the pub was purchased by Brandon’s Putney Brewery and was extensively altered in 1931, In 1959 it was sold to Mann, Crossman and Pauline who have come, following takeovers, Grand Metropolitan
Horse trough outside the Hare and Hounds. Erected in 1911 for the Coronation of King George V.

The Parade
This was originally Station Road.
Claygate Station. Built in 1885 and opened as Claygate and Claremont Station this now lies between Hinchley Wood and Oxshott stations on South Western Rail.  It appears to have kept the original station buildings with little alteration.
Car park. This was the goods yard mainly used for feed stuffs and manure for local farms. The farms also dispatched produce. Coal was handled for the local brickworks as well as for domestic use. The yard closed in 1963.
Platform Three. This is a pub in an old taxi office and is the Brightwater Brewery Tap. It hopes to be the smallest in Great Britain with only room for one or two customers inside. Seating is on the station forecourt under an awning and with a heater.
Brightwater Brewery. Founded in 2012.

Sources
Baker. Industrial Archaeology of Elmbridge
Brightwater Brewery. Web site
British Listed Buildings. Web site
Claygate Parish Council. Web site
Claygate Primary School. Web site
Elmbridge Council. Web site
Foley Hotel. Web site
Hare and Hounds. Web site
Imperial War Museum. Web site
Pevsner. Surrey
Surrey County Council. Web site
The Claygater. Web site
What Pub. Web site
Woodland Trust. Web site

Tuesday, 9 January 2018

Clapham Old Town



Aristotle Road
9 School House – old caretakers house
Aristotle Road School. London School Board School dating from around 1900 and seems originally to have been a secondary girls school. Later known as Clapham Secondary Central and in the 1970s as Parkside Secondary School.
Cardboard box factory.  This lay between the school and the railway and fronted onto Bedford Road

Belmont Close
This is part of what was once Wirtemberg Street
17 Oddfellows Hall - Shambala Centre. The hall was built in 1852 as a Chapel for the Ebenezer Strict Baptists and was known as Garner Chapel. In 1863 it was sold to the Bible Christians.  In 1908 it was purchased by the Pride of Clapham Lodge of the Independent Order of Oddfellows, which still owns it and holds its meetings there. Part of the building is used by the Shambala Meditation Centre. This is a peace and meditation organisation.
Ebenezer Cottage. Manse Attached to the chapel.

Belmont Road
Clapham Manor Primary School.  The school was preceded on the site by a British School. The present school was built in 1881, with extensions in 1928, 1945 and 2008 by the London School Bard and is on two sites. There are three small playgrounds one of which has a nature garden. The site also includes a Children’s Centre
Sunday School. The entrance area to Clapham Manor School from Belmont Road was once the site of a Sunday School attached to the Ebenezer Chapel.
Clapham British School. This was built in 1838 by J. Harrison and stood in what was then called Wirtemberg Place.

Bobbin Close
Site of a small works. Originally, the 19th, a carriage works. In the mid-20th it was the works of British Pix, which made ‘invisible’ radio aerials. Later it was Dunedin Engineering, precision engineers.

Bowland Road
This was earlier known as Crescent Road
Playground and ball court

Britannia Close
Housing built on the site of a timber yard which once lay behind the church

Bromells Road
4-24 Clapham Village Nursery. Private nursery which has a new facade on the earlier buildings
4-6 Dent’s Printing works. This complex included a 19th building associated with booksellers Batten and Davies who had the shop on the corner with The Pavement. The founder A. E. Dent had learnt engraving on white metal, in St. Bride-street. This business covered photo etching, stereo- typing, electrotyping, photographic printing, engraving, collotype and gravure work.
16 Elasta House. Pope's Electric Lamp Co. Ltd. Originally based in Willesden the company was in business until at least 1960.  They made electric light fittings, primarily bulbs with a special filament.
16 Academy of Contemporary Music. Part of the University of Falmouth and opened in 2016.
18-30 Polygon House. Includes a branch of Pitman’s College, teaching office skills
20-24 This was H.Davis original ironmonger’s wholesale shop and warehouse dating from 1890's. Now converted to housing
40-48 Clapham Art Gallery 
31-33 St Anne’s Hall. This was built in 1895, part of a comprehensive redevelopment of the area. The architect was locally born E.B. I’Anson. A soup kitchen and dispensary were run here with a working men’s club in the basement. It now houses a variety of projects and charities and is managed by the Trustees of Holy Trinity Church.

Carfax Square
This was demolished to be replaced with local authority house. Carfax Place remains near the site
Plymouth Brethren meeting house. This later became an upholstery works.

Carpenters Place
In the 19th this was ‘Carpenters’ Cottages’ to be replaced by industrial units in the 20th.
Sandberg Engineers. They are a Swedish engineering consultancy and these are their laboratories.

Clapham Crescent
Elim Church. In 1922, Welsh brothers George & Stephen Jeffreys held a service in a Clapham Methodist church building and later pioneered other 'Elim' churches elsewhere throughout the UK helped by members of the Clapham church.  The Clapham church became known as 'Elim's Central Church' and was the second church opened by the movement. The church was bombed in the Second World War and services were held elsewhere. In 1956 the new Elim church was opened.
Bible College. Started in what is called the 'high flats' by the Elim Church
Printing press. This was opened next to the church, to print the movement's weekly magazine

Clapham Common
This square covers a small section of the common in its north east corner.
Uncultivated land split between Battersea and Clapham which was not farmed. Early in the 19th it was improved by a subscription from local inhabitants.
Woman of Samaria. Drinking fountain. This statue shows a woman giving water to a beggar and was cast by F Miller of Munich, from a sculpture by August Von Kreling. It was commissioned in 1884 by the UK Temperance and General Provident Institution to stand near by their offices in front of Adelaide Place, London Bridge. However its weight began to cause cracks in the arches of the bridge and structures below it so it was presented to the London County Council who erected it here in 1895.
Cock Pond. Apparently named after a pub called the Cock. It is a children's paddling pool, on the North side of Clapham Common and is a relatively recent , 20th construction.
Long Pond. This is used by model boat enthusiasts including The Clapham Model Yacht Club. Model boat sailing on the Long Pond was established by at least the mid 1800s and a Club was formed to sail on the pond in 1870. There have been several Clubs based at the Long Pond and the current “Clapham Model Yacht Club” was formed in 1934 and has continued to the present day. Up to the late 1930s there were no facilities for the club members to store boats and then a wooden hut after the Second World War period which was replaced by the purpose built Clubhouse in Rookery Road.

Clapham High Street
The road is a section of the A3 – the London to Portsmouth road and of great importance during the Napoleonic Wars. It was once also Roman Stane Street the London to Chichester Road.
Clapham North Station. This opened in 1900 and now lies between Stockwell and Clapham Common Stations on the Northern Line.  It was built by the City and South London Railway as part of their extension south from Stockwell and opened as ‘Clapham Road’. In 1926, as an LT station, the name was changed to ‘Clapham North’ when the line was extended to Morden. It was designed by T. P. Figgis and is one of two remaining stations with island platform serving both the north and southbound lines. The station building was replaced in 1924, and remodelled by Charles Holden. Escalators were installed and the facade replaced with biscuit-cream faience slabs and black coping tiles to the parapet walls. In turn, the station has recently had its façade reclad. It is one of eight London Underground stations which has a deep-level air-raid shelter beneath it.
Railway bridge. Built by the London Chatham and Dover railway for the line to Clapham Station.
10 Royal Oak. Pub dating to at least the 1890s
18 The Railway Pub. This dates from the 1850s, once belonged to the Lion Brewery and then Charringtons.
29 Up to the 1980s this was the Music Roll Exchange with a painted sign above the shop to advertise its status.
33 Sainsburys. Site of Clapham Pavilion Cinema. This opened as The Electric Pavilion in 1910 as one of a chain belonging to Israel Davis. The name soon changed to Pavilion Cinema and then in 1923 it was re-named Clapham Pavilion Cinema. It cinema closed in 1940, and re-opened in 1942. It was equipped for Cinemascope in 1954, but closed in 1958 and soon demolished in 1958 and replaced with a Petrol Station. It was later a burger bar and in 2009, a new building contained a burger bar, supermarket and a Radha Krishna Temple
35 Royal Shakespeare Company. This is in use as rehearsal studios. It was the Clapham Winter Gardens and public hall built in 1911. From 1960 this was occupied by Cannon's Motor Spares; one of several premises of this family firm which started as a bicycle shop in Hitchen in 1907.  It had previously been the Ferodo depot and before that a music hall.
47 Temperance Billiard Hall. Built 1910 by Norman Evans.  It has been the offices of Moxley Architects since 1988.
49 This was St. Joseph’s Roman Catholic College from 1856 and taken over by the Carter Home in 1890. In 1902 it was taken over by  Barnardos.   Many of the boys were sent to Canada. In 1933 the home moved to Kingston and the building became a spice store, and then a printing works
54 Socialist Party of Great Britain. Headquarters building.
65 Carter Home for Destitute Boys. This opened in 1870. It moved to 49 in the 1890s
81 F.H. Pride. Electric light fittings manufacturers present in the 1950s
87 Alfred Hunter organ builder. In 1881 Hunter built a four storey house here with a showroom at the front and workshops at the rear. The firm became well-known for its quality of workmanship and many of its organs were exported abroad. The company continued under Robert Hunter until 1932 and was bought out by Henry Willis & Sons.  One of the last organs to be built by the firm was for Magdalen College, Cambridge in 1927.
91 Mary Seacole Centre. New development with flats on 12 floors above community facilities, including a new library and a modern GP surgery. The building is based around a spiral theme that allows a building of multiple uses to feel like one space
95-97 Grammar School. This was set up in 1834 by educational reformer and astronomer, Charles Pritchard. It had the active support of Charles Darwin.
97 Revolution bar and night club
111-115 Deep shelter. A deep-level air raid shelter was built beneath Clapham Common underground station in the early part of the Second World War. It was two parallel tubes with bunks, medical posts, kitchens and toilets. This is the north entrance which is a circular, concrete structure with a square, brick ventilation shaft on the roof. Two brick extensions on either side contained the original doors. There is also a separate square, brick ventilation shaft. The apparent most recent use is to grow salad.
114 Two Brewers Pub. This dates from 1852. In the late 1970s it was a heavy metal pub and then became until a gay venue in 1981 and remains with regular cabaret, etc. In the 19th this was a typical small town pub with a horse trough and external inn sign.
121 Methodist Church. There has been a Methodist Church here since 1874, when a large church opened with a steeple. It has been rebuilt twice since.
133 Sainsbury Super Store. This opened in 1996.
136 Pawnbrokers shop behind old house. In the early 19th this was the home of Elizabeth Cook, the widow of Captain Cook.  Also Admiral Isaac Cook, her nephew, said to be the first European to set foot in Australia.
Tram Depot. This was used as a horse tram depot  in 1888 by the London Tramways Co. and was later converted for electric trams in 1903 by the London County Council. It included the staff training Motor School. The main shed was bombed in the Second World War and re-building meant that more land had to be acquired in order to make a suitable entrance. This led to many problems and reconstruction was delayed. A second entrance from Clapham Park Road was installed. Buses and trams used it until 1951 but this was a very large and elaborate new structure which was used for only a few years and then very under capacity.  After the Museum closed, from 1973 until 1987, it was again used for buses. It was then sold for re-development.  Initially as an indoor go kart track. It is now the site of the Sainsbury Super Store.
Museum of British Transport. This was on the tram depot site 1961-73. The collection had started in the 1920s, when the London General Omnibus Company preserved two 19th horse buses and an early motorbus. Then called the Museum of British Transport it moved to Clapham. In 1973 the London Transport elements of the collection moved to Syon Park. In 1980 it moved to the Flower Market building in Covent Garden as the London Transport Museum with a store in Acton.  Railway elements of the collection went to the National Railway Museum in York.
137 Globe Electric Theatre. This was a shop conversion opened in 1910. It was also called Empress Electric Theatre and closed by 1915. In 2009, a new Sainsbury’s supermarket was built here.
146 Majestic Cinema. The original facade of' Majestic cinema remains. This opened in 1914 built by a local company Majestic (Clapham) Ltd. John Stanley Beard designed it with a narrow entrance between shops and ‘Majestic’ above the doors in terra cotta tiles. A dome in the ceiling could be opened between shows to clear cigarette smoke. There was a small organ and an orchestra. It was taken over by Provincial Cinematograph Theatres in 1928 and they were taken over by the Gaumont British Cinemas in 1929. In 1930 a Compton 3Manual/8Ranks organ was installed. In 1940 it closed because of bombing and re-opened in 1941. It was re-named Gaumont Theatre on the 1950 but closed in 1960. The balcony was converted into a recording studio and in 1969 the auditorium became a bingo club. In 1985 it was converted into a nightclub which remains.
192 Londis. The Electric Palace new cinema was demolished and was to be rebuilt as the Coliseum. Work began on the façade and entrance foyer first, faced in white faience tiles but was never completed. This is now the Londis shop.
196 The Plough. Later called The Goose & Granite, then Bar SW4, then O'Neill's and then Stane Street Syndicate. The pub dates from at least the 1729 and is probably older. It suffered a disastrous fire in 1816.
Tram depot. Maps of the 1890s show a tram depot belonging to Tillings behind the Plough Inn with tracks running in from the road on either side of the pub to access the rear. The entrance these used has since been filled in and used as a room.
The road ends at an area once known as Clapham Cross

Clapham Manor Street
This was laid out in the 1820s to link the site of the old village with new developments to the south. It was developed itself 1837 -1855 by local builders for Thomas Cubitt with villas and terraces
St Peters Church. In 1877 land for the church was given by Rev Fitzwilliam Bowyer, Rector and Lord of the Manor of Clapham. The church was at first a small brick building, with a corrugated iron roof. By 1902 there were many additions designed by J.E.Cutts. And by 1904 it was complete. There is a 3-manual Hunter organ.  The reredos is a 1914-18 war memorial by Kempe. The church is also used by the South London Orthodox Community
St Peters Hall. The choir vestry is part of a large hall built in 1907. Following bomb damage in 1944 the refurbished halls were reopened in 1953.
165 West Indian Ex-servicemen and Women’s Association. This has links to the Ministry of Defence and the Royal British Legion. It offers help and advice, a lunch club for elderly and disabled members of the community. It was established here by Jamaican ex-servicemen in the 1970s.
150 Burdette & Co.
128 Clapham Tap. This was the Craft Beer Co. 2013-17 and previously The Manor Arms since at least the 1880s.
Bicycle Mews. This turning off Clapham Manor Street is named for the Claude Butler Cycle Works. In the late 19th a similar turning on this site was called ‘Balzac Street’. There was also in this area in the early 20th-late 19th a plant nursery, a stone works and an iodate works
Claude Butler Cycle Works. Claude Butler joined Balham cycling club, worked for the Halford Cycle Company as a mechanic and in 1928 opened a bicycle shop at Clapham Junction and then began building bicycle frames. He moved his office to Clapham Manor Street in 1932, He sponsored international racers and his bikes were ridden in world championships. Bands and entertainment were held at the Manor Street works for publicity as he was ‘King of the Lightweights’. His rise was curtailed by the Second World War and by the late 1950s Britain's lightweight trade was in serious decline. Eventually the business was bankrupt although it was possible to sell the trade marks. The works closed in 1956 but cycles are still sold under the Claude Butler name.
Corporation Yard
Electrical Works. This was on the site of the cycle works after its closure in the 1950s
Acetylene Illuminating Works. This very large works had an address in Balzac Street in the 1890s. They made ‘DA cylinders’ for illumination and industrial applications.
Clapham Public Baths. These opened in 1932 with the latest filtration system, several club rooms for meetings and a swimming pool which could be covered with a sprung maple floor for use as a dance hall during the winter. The 1930s 'slipper baths’ were converted in the 1990s into a gym. The building was replaced in 2012 by Clapham Leisure Centre.
Clapham Better Leisure Centre. New facility on the site of the old baths opened in 2012 with pool, gym, etc etc. Run by Better.
86 Manor Health Centre
Bread and Roses. This was the Bowyer Arms built in 1846 and the centre of a group designed by Cubitt. Originally the Bowyer family arms were erected over the doorway. There is said to be an old bread oven in the basement. As Bread and Roses it operates a theatre here and runs the pub selling ethical beers. Bread & Roses is owned by The Battersea and Wandsworth Trade Union Council run by the Workers Beer Company, part of BWTUC Trading.
42 Old Dispensary. Dispensaries provided free medical care for the poor. The Clapham General and Provident Dispensary was founded in 1849 and this building paid for by public subscription opened in 1854. It was designed free of charge by James Thomas Knowles Snr.   It closed in the early 1950s and by 1959 was a London County Council occupational training centre. In 1989 the building suffered a major fire. Since 2005 it has been in use as a ballet school.
London Russian Ballet School. This was founded in 2010 by Evgeny Goremykin, a leading soloist in Moscow’s Bolshoi Ballet for almost 20 years.

Clapham Park Road
This road was originally called Acre Lane
St Mary’s Roman Catholic Church. In 1847 some French Nuns opened a school in North Street and were joined by members of the Redemptorist Congregation in order to establish a parish. They bought a house and land.  A church was opened despite demonstrations against Popery. In 1895 a monastery was built, and added to the church designed by parishioner John Bentley.  Between the two world wars the church was extended and renovated. In the Second World War a barrage balloon hit the church steeple. After the war waves of immigrants brought new members to the congregation.  The church itself is really Our Lady of the Victories built in  1849 by William Wardell in the Pugin. There is a War Memorial Cross of 1920 by Giles Gilbert Scott.
Clapham Park Road Substation, part of UK Power Networks.
65 La Petite Bretagne. This was previously the Oxford Arms, dating to the 1850s.
90-92 Battley Brothers, print works. John Battley was to become MP for Clapham in 1945 having been a consciensous objector in the war.
90-92 in the 1920s this was the South London Manufacturing Company who made soap powder and imported other soaps
100 The Kings Head Pub. Now said to be closed. Also once called The Grey Goose. Dating from the 1880s
112 Parson’s Corner. This refers to a newsagents shop once run here by a Mr. Parsons
115 Windmill Pub. Also called Farmers after the landlord in the early 20th.  Long since demolished.
154 Oriental Leather and Leatherette Company, Ltd. This works was present in the late 19th. They made fancy papers and mock leather bindings, etc.
154 Welmar Mews.  Includes works of Welmar pianos, trading name of Whelpdale, Maxwell & Codd Ltd, alias Bluther Pianos, since 1935. Whelpdale and Maxwell had begun business in 1876 importing Bluthner pianos from Germany but after the Great War needed to find a non-German piano. They therefore commissioned Cremona Ltd. of Camberwell, London, to make pianos using the trade name Welmar. In 1929 the Cremona factory burnt down and Whelpdale Maxwell & Codd began making Cremona-designed pianos using the Welmar name in Clapham Park Road. Production continued at Clapham until 2001 and the site is now converted to housing
156 Clockhouse Pub. Closed and converted to offices. It is said to have had a painted clock face in the pediment and bunches of grapes on the keystones – the grapes are there but there is no sign of the clockface.
173-175 Coach and Horses. Pub dating from the 1880s when it was a Mann, Crossmann and Paulin House.

Crescent Lane
1 Former stable building occupied by Ribbans Engineering Company
The Stables. This has a sign on it for Ribbans Engineering but now seems to be housing. This may have been the Raleigh Works of Overton & Co., who made plate powder and other polishes in the late 19th.
St Mary’s Roman Catholic Primary School. The school serves the parish of St. Mary’s as well as the parishes of St Vincent de Paul, Battersea and the parish of St Francis de Sales, Stockwell. St Mary’s Junior Boys’ School was originally in St Alphonsus Road, founded by the Redemptorists in 1907 and St Mary’s Mixed Infant and Girls’ School in Crescent Lane was founded by the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur in 1861. The two schools were amalgamated in 1993 and the school is now based in the 19th building in Crescent Lane.

Cubit Terrace
This was once the northern end of Stonhouse Street and before that Wirtemberg Street.
16 Stonhouse Street was the site of the Bluebird Laundry. This large backland site now appears to be covered by the Clapham Manor Estate., the laundry entrance passage from the street now being an entry into the estate.

Edgeley Lane
82 this property is said, by the estate agent, to be an early 20th church hall built into the remains of an early 19th house. It appears to have been originally part of a building in Clapham High Street.  It has been in commercial use and more recently sold as a film location.

Edgeley Road
In the 19th this was Vernon Road and led to a large plant nursery
The Art School was set up in 1884 by a group of local residents with a building designed by E.B.l’Anson. It was originally under the direction of Leonard Charles Nightingale, an artist who had taught at the Lambeth School of Art. Fine Art was the main subject taught but there were also classes in wood carving, sculpture, gilding, embroidery, pottery and textiles. It was transferred to the London County Council in 1907.   After the Second World War it is noted as part of the Clapham and Balham Adult Education Institute.
11-13 P.C.Millard, printers. This firm was set up in 1931 and appears to have closed in 1966.

Fitzwilliam Road,
Ebenezer Chapel built in 1861 to replace Garner Chapel, which had been sold. It is still in use.
Floris Place – gated housing on the site of the Normand Motors Factory, and named after a local 19th artist.

Gauden Road
Railway arches – the arches alongside the road are home to many small businesses.
113 Balance. Hot power yoga studio
2-4 Dentons Catering Equipment. This firm dates from the 1940s and is a family run business, supplying catering equipment to the food service industry.
118 Fern Lodge Working Men’s Club. Closed and now flats.
Gauden Hotel. Demolished in 1944 following a hit with a V1. This was on the corner with what is now Timber Mill Way.
103 Assembly Rooms built in the 1880s. Films were screened here from June 1907. It opened as a full time cinema in 1912, called the Electric Theatre. It was closed soon after the start of the Great War. It was later demolished and the site has been the location of commercial premises.

Grafton Square
Developed by Captain Thomas Ross, an Irish Militia Captain, in 1846 with grand terraces on two sides. Work was interrupted by a big fire and the square was left only completed on three sides.
Grafton Square – formal open central green space at first railed and planted but in 1927 it was let to A Botting as a tennis club.  It was taken over in 1953 by Wandsworth Council; it is now in the London Borough of Lambeth. It is laid out with seats, a shelter and a playground.
Congregational Church.  This was built in 1851-2 by John Tarring with a badly damaged in Second World War bombing and demolished in 1954
United Reform Church. This was rebuilt on the site of the demolished original church as a Congregational Church.
55 Marantha Ministries World Wide Centre.  Dr Frederick Mmieh started this in 1990 as a Prayer Fellowship House Group, with eleven members. They started meetings at the Knights Youth Centre in Streatham and later at the Clapham Youth Centre. They are now based in what was the United Reform Church.
Willow Nurseries. Children’s nursery held in part of the United Reform Church
38 Grafton Square Surgery. Based in what was the People’s Church
The People’s Church. This was built as a Baptist Church opened in 1889 for t Baptists who moved here from South Side.   In 1959 it was renovated and opened as the People’s Church. Eventually the roof of the church collapsed and the congregation could not afford to repair it so the church was sold.
Clapham Hall. This was built in 1761 as a successor to an earlier congregational church in the Old Town. In 1861 it was bought by Amon Winterbottom and used as a gym. In 1904 it became a factory and was demolished in 1939. Maritime House was built on the site

Haselrigge Road
Haselrigge Road Board School. This was designed by Thomas Jerram Bailey, for the School Board for London.  It is now in use as housing.

Lillishall Road
The Bobbin. 19th pub, originally called ‘The Tim Bobbin”

Long Road
This is a section of the A3 crossing Clapham Common.
Lined with prefabs in the Second World War

Macaulay Road
Parochial School building. The original parochial school was in Old Town but had outgrown its site. A new site on North Side was bought by Benjamin Brown. It opened in 183 with one large schoolroom which was also used for public events. In the Second World War the children being evacuated and the building became a staff canteen for workers at Ross Optical factory. It closed as a school in 1974. It then became the offices of the Muscular Dystrophy Group, who renamed it Nattrass House and in 1999 it became a private house.
29-33 Macaulay Walk. This goes into what was the area of the Ross Optical Co.  factory. The factory fronted onto North Side with a major building but behind were warehouses and workshops. These have now been turned into flats, including the block in Macaulay Road. Ross opened the works here in 1891, providing lenses and cameras for their Bond Street shop. The Great War led to a great expansion in supported by the War Office in order to replace German manufacturers. The works closed in 1975.

Nelsons Row
Buildings. Various out buildings of the Methodist church continue at the top of the road.
Studio Voltaire. This was founded in 1994 by a collective of twelve artists and in 1999 moved to this 19th former chapel.  It gives exposure to underrepresented artists, allowing an alternative and agenda-setting view of contemporary art. It is based in what was a mission church.
44 this was The Perseverance pub. It is now flats but had cream faience tiles, now painted over and a Bass sign over the double front doors.

North Side
Holy Trinity Church.  This opened in 1776 - the same year as the American Declaration of Independence. It is a plain, simple building.  The parish church of St Mary had existed since the 12th in Rectory Grove but by the mid-18th was in a poor state of repair and too small for a growing population. It was decided to build a new church on the Common.  The Trustees chose architect Kenton Couse, who provided a simple design for a rectangular brick building with a stubby tower plus a clock from Thwaites of Clerkenwell, and four bells. The church was soon expanded with a new organ and more seats and more changes were made in the 19th.  In 1903 alterations were made by Beresford Pite. During the Second World War, the Church was damaged but was restored by 1952. More recently changes have been made to encompass more community use. The church is associated with The Clapham Sect who fought for religious and humanitarian causes, notably the abolition of the slave trade. This revolved round influential men who had moved to this area. In 1799 they were also involved in what became the Church Mission Society and in 1804 the British and Foreign Bible Society. The church contains monuments to many of these activists.
1 Omnibus Theatre. This building was the public library by E. B. L'Anson, built in 1889. Following a public meeting and a local referendum. It was opened by Sir John Lubbock, Vice-chairman of the London County Council, There was a large reading room, a reference library, closed stacks and upstairs a meeting room, and a flat for the Librarian. It closed in the early 21st and following a campaign opened as the theatre in 2013
3 Worcester House. This had been a school.  In 1891 Ross & Co. Manufacturing Opticians moved here and by 1893 had already built various outbuildings in the garden but thus move appears to have taken place in stages. The firm had been founded in Clerkenwell in 1829 by Mr Andrew Ross and formally moved to Clapham in 1891. The works moved into specialised premises here in time and vacated the main house. It was demolished in 1915.  The site is now part of what was the Ross factory
George West House. Ross Factory. This was built as a steel framed factory in 1916 by Searle & Searle for Ross Ltd, manufacturers of spectacle, telescope, photographic, etc., lenses;. They had been founded in 1830 and there was an earlier building here. There were more buildings to the rear and in Macaulay Road and this whole site has now been turned into a new housing area accessed from Macaulay Road.

North Street
This was once called Nags Head Lane – the pub at the end of the road in the Wandsworth Road.
Macaulay School. This was at the junction with Rectory Grove and had been the site since 1648 of the Village School. The buildings date from 1852 and 1877. In 1965 the school transferred to Victoria Rise, It is now the London Connected Learning Centre.
4-20 Commercial leisure centre. On the site of the Normand Electrical Factory.
Normand Electrical. This company was here from 1938 until the 1980s. They were on a large site between here and Rectory Gardens. They made custom built electric motors under the trade name of ‘Neco’ and led in the field of geared motor units which they had pioneered in the 1920s., In the 1980s they were taken over by the Henderson Group and then passed to FKI, now Melrose, based in Birmingham.
11a Spiritualist Church. This is an active organisation with regular meetings
24 North Street potters. This is a collective of professional potters set up here in 1978,
29 North Pole pub. This was a pub dating from the 1880s which is now a restaurant.
65 From the 1930s until at least the 1950s this was the printing works of Albert Stallan.
97 North Street Mews. Originally a garden area this has been in various industrial uses since the 1890s. This has included in the 1950s Adams & Sons Ltd. (Engineers) who made Adastra cooking apparatus. This was a quantity deep frying range which has been designed for high efficiency and low gas consumption. Earlier, during the Great War it was Pellant & Co. engineers, automobile and cycle agents. It is still used by a number of small businesses but also seen, as ever, as a ‘development opportunity’.
St. Anne’s House. In 1847 a group of French Nuns moved here and opened a small school.

Old Station Way.
New build flats and flats in previous railway premises of what is now Clapham High Street Station
Clapham North Arts centre  Voltaire Road Studios and other offices

Old Town
5 Maritime House, built as a head quarters building for the  National Union of Seamen in 1939 and now owned by RMT Union. This is offices and flats and a Job Centre. High up on the top pediment are some large fish and a small ship's prow.
12  on the front is a relief reading   ‘Contentment passe richesse’.   This is the motto of the Atkins Bowyer Family, once Lords of the Manor of Clapham,  and is thought to have come from the old manor house.
28 archway with a clock. This is a 1990’s development.
29 Fire station built 1964 by the London County Council in purple brick and concrete.
37 Battley Brothers Print Works.  In 2002 this family firm moved to Battersea as partners in Cantate.
38 Prince of Wales pub, said to be very eccentric
43 this has an L.C.C plaque put up in 1950 to John Bentley, architect
47 The Sun. Pub dating from the 1820s and once a Bass house
55 this corner site is now a modern restaurant. It appears to have been a chemists shop in the 1920s and 1930s but by the 1950s it was Downers Lane Engineering Works.
65a Polygon Engineering Works. From 1904-1914 this was used by the makers of the Trojan Car. The company was founded by Leslie Hayward Hounsfield who went into business as a general engineer here. He had the idea of making a simple, economical car that would be easy to drive and started design work in 1910. In 1913 the prototype was done with a two stroke engine. The claim was that each engine had only seven moving parts, four pistons, two connecting rods and a crankshaft. There was a two speed epicyclic gearbox and a chain to the rear wheels. Solid tyres were used to prevent punctures and very long springs used to give some comfort. Before production could start war broke out and from 1914 to 1918, Trojan Ltd, as the company had become in 1914, made production tools and gauges. By 1920 the cars were in production at a works in Croydon. Considered for a police building the site was not developed for many years but is now the site of new flats and shops.

Orlando Road
Sycamore Laundry. This was on the site which is now housing as Sycamore Mews. The laundry had begun in the 1860s and was at The Sycamores in Rectory Grove. It later moved to 4 Old Town and passed on through the family.   In 1994 it merged with Blossom and Browne Laundry and the Sycamore Laundry closed. The laundry buildings were demolished and the mews housing built.
Sycamore House. This was built in 1787 on the site of a former house.   In the 1840s it became a private school and by 1868 it was a Working Men's Club. In 1880 it was the Surrey Reformatory for Girls and in 1898 it became a laundry. When the laundry closed the house became was turned into flats and studio space.

Prescott Place
This was once Little Manor Street. It dates from the 1820s and may have been named for a local Col.Prescott.  Along with a number of industrial premises there are alternative frontages to St.Peter’s Church, and Church Hall to those in Clapham Manor Street.
7-  11 this modern office block was previously Miller Motors in the 1960s
15 factory
28 The Pipeworks. This old joinery works has a furniture showroom on the ground floor and flats above.

Rectory Gardens
Triangular site of low quality 19th houses and shops. This has been an area of standoffs with squatters groups since then

Rectory Grove
Winds away towards the parish church which was in the north end of the road (in the square to the north and on the site of St.Paul’s church). The church was however the centre of the medieval village.
87 The Calf.  Pub dating from the early 19th until the 2000s called ‘The Bull’s Head’. It was then a Taylor Walker house.
47a shown as an ‘engineering works’ in the 1950s. This had been, pre-war, Protected Metals Ltd. electro metallurgists, electro chemical engineers. Earlier it had been A.J.Smith disposers of Government surplus stock. And an auction sale in 1931 promised “Thermometers, Funnels, Urinals, Eyebaths, Pestles and mortars. However in the 1970s it was the Stockwell Press Tool Company, toolmakers.  It is now a private house.
49a described as a printing works in the 1950s this was Thermo Acoustic Products Ltd. in the early 1960s. In the 1930s it had been the French Cigarette Paper Co.  It is now a private house.

Rookery Road
This road which runs diagonally across the common is named for The Rookery which stood adjacent to it in South Side.
Clapham Common Sports Zone

Sedley Place
Sedley Place. Design agency. This was founded in 1977, as  an independent creative agency.
Windsor Works built in 1903 for Mr. Bonekemper for manufacture of boot and shoe laces. In the 1930s it had been used to make 'HoldItFast' Super Adhesive, Windex Razor Blades and Winso fly paper and fly gum in the 1930s.  In the 1970s this was the London office of Foster Bros. of Wednesbury who made plastic piping. It is now part of a complex owned by a design agency, Windsor Works, and is partly flats.
Windsor Workshop is a design agency founded by sculptor Steve Furlonger. This began in 1966 and developed a relationship with design agency Sedley Place and thus moved to ‘Windsor Works in 1987. In 2008 they moved to larger premises in Streatham.

South Side
1 Belle Vue. 19th pub
14 Alexandra Hotel. Pub dating from 1866.
16a Balans Soho Society, café and bar. This was originally a Baptist Chapel built in 1777 and a plaque in the side passage commemorates this. It was reordered in 1837 and in 1889 became a post office when the congregation moved elsewhere. It has since been altered again to become a restaurant
Notre Dame Convent.  This building, now the site of local authority housing, was the home of Thornton family members  - John Thornton was an evangelical philanthropist and member of the Clapham Sect who lived here until the late 18th. His son, Robert, lived in the adjacent house. The house and its neighbour were converted into the Notre Dame Convent school in 1851 by a group of Belgian nuns – the Sisters of Notre Dame de Namur. They left in 1939 and the site was later cleared for the Notre Dame housing estate in 1945.
The Rookery. A group of weatherboarded buildings stood here which were once part of the Thornton House stables. They were demolished in 1904.

St Alphonsus Road
St Marys Hall. Church hall hosting a range of community events
School. A new parish school for boys was opened in St Alphonsus Road in 1904
St Mary’s Monastery. Redemptorist Monastery, by Bentley, 1892-3.  In 1848 members of the Redemptorist Congregation were invited by Bishop Wiseman to open a house in Clapham with a view to establishing a parish.  They eventually bought a large house at the top of what is now Clapham Park Road and a church was built fronting on to that road. The founder of the Redemptorists was Alphonsus de Liguori, later sainted – and hence the road name.  In 1895 the monastery was built. In The Second World War St Mary’s was an important centre for Redemptorist chaplains on the way to and from military action. . The spacious cellars underneath the monastery became sleeping quarters for the community at night and classrooms for the Boys School during daylight raids.

St Luke’s Avenue
1 Cactus Kitchen. This was originally a chapel built for the Grammar School which stood on Clapham High Street

Stonhouse Street
Made up of Wirtemberg Street and Backfields Lane in 1919. It has since been cut back and some of the line is now Belmont Close and Cubitt Place.
Stonhouse Electrical Works. Burdette Company. This was the factory for the electrical equipment firm with a head office in Clapham Manor Street. They worked on A.C. and D.C. motors, alternators, rotary converters and controllers. They were established here before the Great War.
165 The Stonhouse Pub. This appears to have been the Wirtemberg Arms and opened in the 1850s.  In the 1920s it was the Windsor Arms and a Hoare Brewery House
Wellington Tube Works. This was a warehouse for a firm based in Tipton

The Pavement
Clapham Common Station. Opened in 1900, this lies between Clapham Common and Clapham South Stations on the Northern Line. It was built by the City and South London Railway as the terminus of their extension from Stockwell.  There is a single island platform serving both north and south bound trains. From the start the station has electric lights and lifts. In 1926 the line was extended to Morden and it was then refurbished by S. A. Heaps and a domed entrance building was sited on the island formed by The Pavement and Clapham Common South Side To the east is a modern steel and glass pavilion entrance. The line here was part of a deep shelter in the Second World War.
4 Joe Public. Pizza cafe opened 2016 in the discussed public toilets
5 Waitrose. This is the site of home of Zachary Macaulay in the early 19th. He was a member of the Clapham Sect and editor of their organ, the Christian Observer. He had been Governor of Sierra Leone, the British colony for freed slaves, and had travelled on board a slave ship.  His son was to become Lord Macaulay. There is a plaque high up on the building above the Waitrose frontage.
Horse Trough. Metropolitan Drinking Fountains Association.
Clock tower. This dates from 1906 and was inaugurated by the Lord Mayor of London opened it. It was given to the Parish by Alexander Glegg, Mayor of Wandsworth. It was dismantled and rebuilt when the new station booking hall was built below it.
17 gift shop in what was Deane's chemists. This is a house built in 1824, and a chemist's shop since 1839. There is a ghost sign for Deane’s high on the side gable.
22 patisserie with a large plaster ice-cream cone attached to the doorway.
33 The Lodge. This was built in 1868 as a Fire Station on land belonging to the Parish of Clapham and where the parish lock up was sited, later used to house the local fire engine. It was leased to the Metropolitan Board of Works from 1867 and a new station was built designed by Edward Cresy.  It became in time too small and in 1902 was replaced by a larger station on a site to the north. From 1912 renamed The Lodge, it was the Common Keeper's residence for the Common. In 2004 it was sold and it now a private house. A Clapham Society green plaque was put on the building in 2013.
32 Pub called ‘The Old Town’ since 1014. It was previously The Frog & Forget Me Not, then The Frog and originally the Cock.  It dates from the 16th century when, in a previous building, it was behind cottages

The Polygon
This is a group of buildings in a rough oval shape in the triangle formed by the junction of Old Town with North Side and The Pavement. It dates from 1792.
1 Shop built in 1792 and used as a shop since at least 1860. This has seven half-jars advertising the business of an oil and colourman
2 Rose and Crown.  The pub has a tiled facade for Simonds' Brewery. It dates from the 1880s.

Timber Mill Way
Road built post 1960s on the site of a path going to a builder’s yard. It was previously the site of a railway coal yard
T. Brewer, timber merchant and saw miller dating from the 1880s.  Brewer’s is a traditional timber importer & merchant, which specialises in timber & sheet materials. There are in house milling facilities here with specialist machining such as pattern matching in softwoods and hardwoods, firrings, sheet materials cutting, and a CNC machine for more intricate jobs.
Thames Distillers. This is an independent gin rectifier and bottler which offer a specialist service to develop and produce gin for its customers and has developed over 45 different gins.  Ea for each of its clients
A.E. Chapman & Son. Founded in 1945 and still a family business they have a warehouse and depot here, with a stock of over 500 different bottles. There is a bottle showroom and there is also a Bottle washing service at up to 30000 per day.

Tremadoc Street
Lion Yard Orphanage built in 1870 and part of the Barnardo organisation by the 1890s.  Later used as a warehouse. Now offices

Turret Grove
Site of the Elizabethan Manor House demolished in 1837.

Venn Street
66 postmen's office, built 1902, with a large coat of arms.
76 Clapham Picture House. This opened as the Electric Palace in 1910 designed by architect Gilbert Booth. In 1916 a new entrance was designed on the High Street but in July 1918 it closed and building was sold. A new building was begun and abandoned. It became a snooker club but in 1990 it was converted into the Clapham Picture house by City Screen Cinemas to the designs of Panter Hudspith Architects. It opened in 1992.

Voltaire Street
Street laid out in the 20th – before 1900 the west end of the street was nursery gardens.  The north/south section at the east end was called Station Road.
Clapham High Street Station. This station was opened on 1862 by the London, Chatham and Dover Railway and called Clapham Station. It lies between Denmark Hill and Wandsworth Road Stations on the current London Overground route. It is also between Wandsworth Road and Bromley South on National Rail under Southern. It was renamed Clapham & North Stockwell in 1863, Clapham in 1937 and Clapham High Street in 1989.  From 1867 the original line was paralleled by The London, Brighton and South Coast Railway route and trains went to Ludgate Hill.  The platforms built for the LCDR platforms in 1867 were closed in 1916 and demolished along with other station buildings from that date. The eastbound platform's building was destroyed in 1944 bombing.  The original 1862 building was sold and used as a warehouse and it now flats. Some refurbishment took place in 2012.
5-7 Tsunami restaurant with mural. Mural by Olivier Roubieu,
26 Sykes Interlocking Signal Co. Ltd., Manufacturers of all kinds of electrical and mechanical signalling apparatus in connection with railways.  Railway signals and electrical engineers and manufacturers of locomotive grease lubrication equipment, fuel economisers, power operated fire doors; motor tools and accessories. Specialists in coil winding and impregnating and instrument casework
26-32 Stone's Plating co. LTD, Electro plating works, 1960s

Wingate Square
This is on the site of what was Downers Lane
Downers Cottages. Street of houses destroyed in a wartime rocket attack

Sources
Aldous. London Villages
British Listed Buildings. Web site
Children’s Homes. Web site
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Clapham Elim Church. Web site
Clapham Manor Primary School. Web site
Clapham Model Boat Club. Web site
Clapham Society. Web site
Day. London Underground
Glazier. London Transport Garages
GLIAS Newsletter
Grace’s Guide. Web site
Historic England. Web site
Holy Trinity. Web site
Ideal Homes. Web site
Laurie.  Beneath the City Streets 
London Borough of Lambeth. Web site
London Gardens Online. Web site
London Russian Ballet School. Web site
National Archives. Web site
Northampton and District Organists Association. Newsletter
O’Connor. Forgotten Stations
Omnibus Theatre. Web site
Pastscape. Web site
Pub History. Web site
Pevsner and Cherry. South London
Smith. Clapham
Stell. Nonconformist Meeting Houses and Chapels in Eastern England
St. Mary’s RC Church. Web site
St.Mary’s Primary School. Web site
Trojan Owners Club. Web site
The Tuners Blog. Web site
Wheatley and Meulenkamp. Follies
Wikipedia As appropriate