Monday, 14 October 2019

Addington Palace


Post to the east Addington Interchange


Addington Village Road
Addington Police Station. This appear to have been built on the 1970s on the site of a garage
Electrical Sub station. A 33kV substation operated by South Eastern Power Network

Farnborough Avenue
Gilbert Scott School infant and primary. This became an academy in 2018. The school dates from 1950 when the Addington Village School (later also called St. Mary's) closed and staff and pupils moved here. In 2007 infants and juniors were combined.
Red Gates School.  Special community school for boys and girls with severe learning difficulties and autism

Gravel Hill
Gravel Hill Tram Stop. 1998. Between Addington Village and Coombe Lane on Croydon Tramlink. His includes a road crossing
Addington Palace. This is based around Addington Place, a 16th manor house owned by the Leigh family until the early 18th century. It was sold in 1737 to an American, Barlow Trecothick who built a new Palladian style house, designed by Robert Mylne.  His heir James Trecothick had the grounds and gardens landscaped by Lancelot Capability Brown but he had to sell in lots in 1803.  In 1807 it was sold by .Act of Parliament and bought by the Archbishops of Canterbury and was called Addington Farm. It became the official summer residence of six archbishops, later, in the Great War it became Red Cross fever hospital. In 1930, it passed to Croydon Council.  In 1953, it was leased to the Royal School of Church Music and used as their publishing company, residential college and choir school. In 1996, it was taken over by a private concern as a wedding, conference and banqueting venue, health farm and country club.
Cedar of Lebanon, The terrace of the building is dominated by a cedar of Lebanon thought to be a specimen trees associated with the period of Brown's work. The lower branches spread across the width of the terrace and are propped up with wooden stakes.
Addington Palace Golf Club. The course was laid out in 1931 by J.H.Taylor and Fred Hawtree.  The clubhouse was originally the stables to Addington Palace and The original beamed ceilings of the stables and hayloft have been retained.

Holmbury Grove
Forrestdale Centre, shops

Huntingfield Road
Addington Methodist Church

Kent Gate Way
By pass road built in 1973.
Addington Park. This land was acquired in 1930 from the owners of the Addington Palace Estate. The Park area and the Lodge formed the southern part of the park which surrounds Addington Palace, It has historic landscape and a children's playground. Tennis courts were purchased after the Second World War
South Lodge, this dates from the time of Archbishop Howley in the early 19th.

Selsdon Park Road
Forestdale Arms. Pub
John Ruskin College. This was a former school in Croydon opened in 1920 as the John Ruskin Selective Central School. In 1935 it moved to Tamworth Road, and became a grammar school. It moved to Shirley in 1955, as the John Ruskin High School but was demolished in 1991.The upper forms transferred to Selsdon using the premises of the John Newnham Secondary Selective School
John Newnham School was in Selsdon Park Road opened in 1951 as a Secondary Selective. It became a comprehensive in 1971 and was closed in 1987. The building was used for training and offices but later reopened as the John Ruskin College. John Montague Newnham who was the first chairman of the Borough's Education Committee

Sources
Addington Palace Golf Club. Web site
Anderson. The Parish of Croydon 
Great Trees of London
London Borough of Croydon. Website
Penguin, Surrey, 
Penguin. Kent
Pevsner, Surrey
Stewart.  Croydon History in Field and Street Names

Sunday, 13 October 2019

Gordon Hill

Post to the South Salmons Brook Windmill Hill
Post to the west Hog Hill
Post to the north Turkey Brook Chase Farm


Bycullah Road
Bycullah House. Named after an area of Bombay the house and estate were sold for building land for an up market estate with the entrance to the south in Windmill Hill. Steeple chasing took place here on a course between here and Windmill Hill.1860s and 1870s. Very popular.

Chase Green Avenue
Built by the owner and developer of the Chase Green Estate

Holtwhites Hill
Reservoir of Enfield UDC Waterworks. Pumping station and reservoir from the 1870s.  Water tower in 1885. In 1904 sold to the Metropolitan Water Board and since demolished. Only the reservoir remains.
185 Our Lady of Walsingham and the English Martyrs. This is on the site of St Joseph's Home which was opened by the Westminster Diocesan Children’s Society 1890. In 1964 the parish of Our Lady of Walsingham was established there until the home closed in 1980 the new church was built in 1987, The Syro-Malabar Church also uses the building.

Kirkland Drive
Holtwhites Sports and Social Club  was originally a railway club owned by London North East Railway which later becoming Great Northern Athletic Association and then British Rail Sports Association. In the Second World War the main pavilion was used as war offices until 1948. In the war twenty foot square wheeled chicken coops were kept on the cricket field and moved around. Until 1952 the club was four clerical railway staff and their families only but later drivers and porters were admitted. However it was heavily subsidised by the railway and no outsiders were allowed to join the club after 1965. British Rail eventually withdrew financial support in 1994 and the club was renamed Holtwhites Sports and Social Club. In 1997 the land was bought by developer Fairview who agreed to re-site the sports facilities while they built on the land. They did restore the bowling green but not to proper standards

Lavender Hill
Gordon Hill Station. Built in 1910 it now lies between Enfield Chase and Crews Hill Stations on the Hertford Loop Line, of the Great Northern Railway. It is built in a wide cutting spanned at the north end by a five arch road bridge. When built in 1910, it was a substantial red brick station with a full canopy and bays on either side. The up platform buildings remain, with red lampposts and seating and there is a waiting shelter by the base of the footbridge. Only three platforms are now in use.Hertford-bound trains use platform 3, London-bound trains use platform 2; and platform 1 is a terminus. This fourth platform was used by North London Railway services to/from Broad Street and became heavily overgrown and lost its track
Signal box. This closed in 1976, and was subsequently demolished. It was at the London end of the up platform
Great Northern Railway sports ground was opened at the south of the station. This was sold and built on by Fairview Homes.

The Ridgeway
Once called Potters Bar Road
Buildings of Chase Farm School.  These are now part of Chase Farm Hospital which is included in the site to the north.  What remains by the roadside in this square is the Lodge House was once the Receiving Ward for the children being admitted to the Schools, The former Probationary Ward Block, which is now the Postgraduate Medical Centre.
76 Ridgeway House pub. The original pub still stands behind a new front used as a restaurant.
71 Enfield Lawn Tennis Club. Established 1907

Rowantree Road
Bycullah Estate water works.  The cul de sac end is the site of the Bycullah Estate water works. Set up in 1879 and closed in the 1920s when it became part of the Met. Water Board

Uplands Park Road
Cavell Hospital. Private fee paying hospital.

Sources
Clunn. The Face of London
Dalling. The Enfield Book
Enfield Lawn Tennis Club.web site
Field.  London Place Names,
History of Middlesex
Holtwhite’s Sports and Social Club Web site
Lost Hospitals of London. Web site
London Railway Record
Middlesex Churches, 
Our Lady of Walsingham and English Martyrs. Web site
Pam.  A Desirable Neighbourhood
Pam. A Parish Near London
Pam. A Victorian Suburb
Pevsner and Cherry. London North
Walford. Village London

Saturday, 12 October 2019

Shepherds Bush

Post to the south Central Hammersmith


Addison Gardens
Addison Primary School. This was Addison Gardens School built by the School Board for London in the 1890s and expanded in the 1920s.  It pioneered the use of films in education, had a school orchestra, and was the site for the Ministerial inauguration of the Milk in Schools Scheme.
Railway Bridge. The bridge carries the road over the Network Rail railway line between Kensington Olympia and Shepherd's Bush. There is an OS benchmark on the brick pier at the far end of the parapet. It is a cut mark sprayed with white paint. The bridge is too long for the current lines which it crosses. It would also have crossed the Kensington and Richmond line, which veered to the west slightly north of the bridge.

Adie Road
Grove Studios. This was The Laboratory. Sculptor Henry Moore worked here 1924-1928. Plaque on the building inaugurated by his daughter.

Aldine Street
Aldine House. Office and print location which connects buildings in Aldine Place to the rear.

Batoum Gardens
Entrance to the Loris Road garden with mural of the Cork and Kerry Mountains painted by Russell Barrett

Berghem Mews
This is now a ‘stylish office village’.
London Co-op Laundry buildings. The laundry was here from the 1880s. It was replaced by an exhibition joinery business.

Blythe Road
Blythe Road was previously called Blinde Lane
Blythe House. This was an ancient mansion and in the early 19th had been the home of an émigré French royalist.  Following a period as a school for young ladies in 1867 it beaame a boys' reformatory. To the rear was a school building and a playground. This was the first Roman Catholic boys' reformatory to be set up in 1855. It was run by the Congregation of the Brothers of Mercy with some Belgian staff. They taught shoemaking and bread baking. The school moved away in 1870.  It was replaced by St Stephens School also a Roman Catholic boys' reformatory. There were many problems and it was returned to the Brothers of Mercy and eventually closed in 1887. Shepherds Bush road now runs through the western most part of the house site.
79-81 Swan Laundry. Built on the site of the reformatory playground. They appear to have taken over Blythe House and replaced it with their works.  There are now modern firms in the building,
188 Modern cylindrical properties The Round House by Michaelis Boyd Associates. Built 2016 house with eight bedrooms, slides to hidden areas and a fireman’s pole connecting the ground and first floor.
120 Old Parr’s Head. Originally this was the Duke of Edinburgh in the mid 19th. Closed in 2014 and now housing.
43 Jameson. This pub is now a ‘steak and Thai’.  It was previously called The Fox & Hounds; Freemasons Arms; and Ringmaster and ‘the Trump Arms’ sometimes and more recently.

Brook Green
This square covers the northern section only. The brook here, referred to c.1420 as ‘le Brooke’, is now covered over. The eastern mouth of Stamford Brook is said to be Parr's Ditch or Black Bull Ditch. It ran due east through Hammersmith into a natural trough which is now the park area of Brook Green. It was converted to sewer in 1876/
Brook Green Common. This was formerly manorial waste along the course of Parr’s Ditch, and the boundary between Hammersmith and Fulham from 1834. It was bought by the Metropolitan Board of Works from the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, in 1881.

Caithness Road
24 Crofton Lodge. Folly with a tower

Charecroft Way
The road is on the route of the Kensington and Richmond Railway.
The Shepherds Building. This was Miford House, Inland Revenue Offices now business units. It housed the Estate Duty Office of the Inland Revenue until the early 1990s when it moved to Nottingham.  It exactly follows the line of the railway which it was built on. It and the road date from the late 1960s.

Coal Warf Road
Ran north alongside the west of the railway line, to a coal wharf considerably to the north

Coverdale Road
The Miles Coverdale Primary School, This opened in 1916, it is a three storey red brick building.  The school was initially called Thornfield Road School and then Coverdale Road School. It was built by the London County Council. There is a row of mature trees in the back garden adjacent to the school boundary.

Faroe Road
Faroe Road Studios. This was built in 1908 for the London School Board for ‘physically defective’ children.  Post Second World War it is shown on maps as “Central Kitchen”.

Gainsborough Court
New housing on the site of Lime Grove Studios.  Named Gainsborough after the sister studios in Islington

Girdlers Road
12 In 1921 Leon Underwood Brook Green School of Art here. It offered full-time and some evening classes and included etching and printmaking. The School closed in 1938.

Goldhawk Road
The road runs west from Shepherd’s Bush Green to  Stamford Brook, becoming increasingly upmarket as it goes. It is part of the Roman road to the west but the name is from a 15th family. The trams turned it into a more urban road in the early 20th.   In the 17th plots against Cromwell's life were attempted here.
Actarc Works. Applied High Frequency Makers of induction heating equipment 1950s. This works was at the bottom of Pennard Road on an ex-laundry site.
2 The Sindercombe Social. This was once the Bush Hotel. The name is said to be that of a Leveller conspirator in the 1650s who was involved in a plot to assassinate Oliver Cromwell near here. Until 1890 an ancient thatched cottage stood nearby which had been hired and inhabited by Syndercombe in 1657. . Syndercombe arrested, tried, and condemned to death. He was sentenced to death but committed suicide. Renamed as the "White Horse" upon rebuilding in 1890, as the "Bush" in 1899, as the "Fringe and Firkin" in 1997, as "O'Neill's" in c1999, and as the "Sindercombe Social" in 2014. The Bush Theatre was originally in an upstairs room here.
43a tram depot – this was a short lived horse tram depot with a cobbled entrance through which trams left the main line in Goldhawk Road.
49 Goldhawk House built 1906. This is offices where many companies in entertainment are based. In 1914 it was headquarters of Frank Mayle and Sons building supplies merchants but also specialists in plate, sheet and safety glass. Manufacturers and processers of constructional glass products; stained glass; leaded lights; behind workshops are known as The Glasshouse.
52 Railway Arms. Built in 1922, it is now a shop.
55 The Railway Tavern. This was later known as The Bushranger and then in 2004 became a Young's pub called The Stinging Nettle. It opened in 1864 when the Metropolitan Line opened and closed in 2012, it is now a Costa Coffee.
Goldhawk Road Station. Opened in 1914 by the Metropolitan Railway on a line originally opened in 1863. It now lies between Shepherd’s Bush Market and Hammersmith, on theHammersmith and City Line and the Circle Line.
77 British Prince pub. Closed 2003
84 Shepherd and Flock Pub.  Built in 1869.

Holland Park Avenue
The road crosses Counters Creek on the edge of the roundabout and junction with Holland Road.
203 Duke of Clarence. Closed in 2001, it was eventually demolished in 2003.Venue for folk music

Holland Road
193 Holland Arms. 1866 This was an old pub on what was the Hammersmith road which was known successively as the Horse and Groom and in 1716 the White Horse Inn, Demolished for the Shepherd’s Bush roundabout.

Kensington and Richmond Railway
This ran through the area of this square. It ran north to the west of the Hammersmith and City line running out of Hammersmith Station paralleling it and Hammersmith Grove. It passed under the Hammersmith and City south of the present Goldhawk Road Station and continued north of Sulgrave Road following its curve. It continued eastwards along what is now Charecroft Way and then curved to follow north of Sinclair Rad. It joined what was the West London Extension Railway north of the present Kensington Olympia Station. The line dated from the 1860s and following agreements with other railways ran trains from Richmond to Kensington. A station on Shepherds Bush Road was opened in 1874 and closed in 1916.  It was also used by other rail companies. This declined and by 1926 this stretch had been disused for ten years. The line was thus removed and the land sold.

Lakeside Road
Previously called Wharton Road and then Rayleigh Road
108 Shepherds Bush Road Methodist Church. This building was the original church hall with the church fronting onto Shepherds Bush Road and which has since been demolished. War memorial plaque in the church

Lena Gardens
Lena Gardens Primary School. The school beaame an academy in 2014 and has now closed.  It originally opened in 1929
37 London Regional Transport Hammersmith Rolling Stock Depot. It was built by the Great Western Railway in 1905. It is now only used for general maintenance and storage of the trains which operate on the Hammersmith & City line. It was built by the Great Western Railway to be operated by the Metropolitan Railway when the joint railway was electrified in the early 20th century. Recently 13 manually-operated sets of points have been replaced and a control box that is the first of its kind on the Underground. The Maintenance Sheds have been turned into a fully automated siding with 8 tracks. A concrete slab track bed has been installed.
The Osram siding to the east of the depot building was built for the Ford Motor Co. in the Great World War for delivering road vehicles, and was later acquired for Osram by the Air Ministry during the Second World War
Back entrance to the Osram Works

Lime Grove
South end of the road was once Brooklyn Grove
Gravel pit. This covered the north end of the road on the west side until the 1890s.
Urania Cottage. This was on the east side of the road, about halfway down the current road but stood between what was once Lime over to the north and Brooklyn Grove to the south.  This was founded by Charles Dickens in the late 1840s following an approach by Angela Burdett Coutts as an alternative to existing institutions for ‘fallen’ women and wanted to provide an environment where they could learn skills. All women who spent time there were apparently required to emigrate. Dickens became heavily involved in management of the home. Closed in the 1860s.
Trunk and Portmanteau works 1890s, this appears to be in what had been Urania House –also on the site ‘The Last House” and “The Old House”
Lime Grove Studios was a film, and TV studio. It was built by the Gaumont Film Company in 1915. Many Gainsborough Pictures films were made here from the early 1930s. In 1949, it was purchased by the BBC for television broadcasts until 1991. It was demolished in 1993.
Shepherds Bush Station. This opened in 1864 on the Hammersmith and City Line. This ran then between Hammersmith and Ladbroke Grove through an area with clay pits and brickworks. It was operated by the Great Western Railway, with a broad gauge train service - the wider space between tracks can still be seen today. An 1885 fire in an arch under Shepherd’s Bush station destroyed much of the wooden station structure, which had to be rebuilt. In 1914 it was closed and demolished.  Much of the site was taken over by Gaumont for their Lime Grove Studios.
Lime Grove Baths. These were opened by the Mayor of Hammersmith E.C. Rawlings in the 1907. With a gala and aquatic display. there was both a first class and second class bath the site als0 included a Boxing Hall as well as a laundry and public Washhouse. Private baths had granolithic flooring and enamelled oak cubicles, with divisions of enamelled slate. In the 1960s Saturday afternoon TV wrestling programmes came from here.  The main bath was closed in 1980 because the roof’s inner skin was breaking away, but the second class pool remained open until the opening of a new swimming complex. The Baths were later converted to flats
London College of Fashion. The Hammersmith College of Art and Building had been founded in 1891 by Francis Hawke, as evening classes and in 1904 it was taken over by London County Council and moved to a new building in Lime Grove. The .Hammersmith School of Building and Arts and Crafts was originally he Hammersmith School of Building, later becoming the Hammersmith School of Trades. It was built by the London County Council in 1913, by the Council’s Architects Department. The rear block was the Technical Institute or School of Arts and Crafts designed also by L C C Architects Department in 1905-6. There is an original boundary wall with arched entrances. A trade school for girls was erected on the same site in 1914. A new building was opened in 1930. Hammersmith College merged with Chelsea College of Art in 1975. 1986 it became a constituent college of the London Institute, formed by the Inner London Education Authority for its art schools and specialist colleges of printing, fashion and distributive trades. In 1989 the School was renamed Chelsea College of Art & Design. I later became part of the London College of Fashion.
Mulberry. This is in the rear courtyard of the college and probably planted in 1904.

Loris Road
The community garden started in 1983. There is small woodland and a paved central area with a mosaic and a Time Capsule. There is a play area for children bad a simple eco-shed, with kitchen/office, toilet and tool storage designed by Studio E Architects and constructed by Ecolibrium Solutions.

Masbro Road,
37 Willson’s Radiator Works. They manufactured silencers. There are now flats on the site.
40 St Mary's RC Primary School. The school was established in 1850 by the Catholic Poor Committee as a teacher training school under the Brothers of Christian Instruction. The teacher training element moved to Strawberry Hill in 1925. In the 1970’s the school was moved to its Masbro Road following a fire. However, it remains in the parish of Holy Trinity, Brook Green.
42 This was the Lord Nelson pub. Closed 1997, now housing.
57 Havelock Tavern. Now a gastro pub. Built in 1869 it has a blue tiled frontage with stripped- feel inside.
87 Masbro Centre.  This is the hub of Hammersmith’s community centres run by the Urban Partnership Group. Set up in the 1990s it is now a community freehold asset and now covers five sites across Hammersmith and Shepherds Bush.  It is built in what was the Council Central Kitchen.
88 Bird in Hand, this pub is now a posh restaurant. Dating originally from the 1870s   it was rebuilt in red brick in 1929 as a large plaque tells us.  Brown tiles and decorative cement plaques.
100 Saint Matthew. Built in 1870-71 designed by Sir Arthur Blomfield, in 1870-1871. It was funded by ‘pew rents,’ and the majority of the churchgoers came from Sinclair Road where they had live-in servants. There are various art works in the church including an important altar piece. After the Great War the parish changed with the building of the Springvale Estate. In the Second Would War the church was damaged and closed. The Lady Chapel has plaques in memory of those men of the parish who gave their lives in the Great War and a plaque on the back row of the choir records the men who died in the Second World War. It has since been used as a location for TV and films.

Milson Road
The western end of the road was once Alexandra Road.
Central Kitchen. This is the buildings now in use by the Masbro Centre
Milson Road Health Centre

Minford Gardens
Originally this road ran parallel to the Kensington and Richmond railway line and houses on the north side of the road backed onto it,
St Simon. The church with its attached hall dates from 1879 designed by Sir Arthur Blomfield. It has a spire, clock tower and a small garden.  It has an organ of 1865 from Dunblane cathedral "Rebuilt by Eustace Ingram, London 1893".

Netherwood Road
17a Netherwood Autos. This garage site at the backs of houses has been home to a number of small; industrial units, including a boot maker in 1926 and a plumber at another time. Print works are shown on maps of the 1960s.

Norland Road
49 Queens Arms Pub. Demolished for the roundabout to be built.

Norland Yard
A.F,Ferguson timber stockists onsite here from the Great War until the 1940s

Pennards Road
Sunlight Laundry this became Spring Grove Laundry and closed in 2009
Actarc works Applied High Frequency Makers of induction heating equipment 1950s

Poplar Grove
1a Kingdom Hall Jehovah’s Witnesses.
1a this was built as Shepherds Bush, Fulham and District Synagogue. Ashkenazi Orthodox opened in 1924, rebuilt 1938/9, refurbished 1963, and closed 1989.

Redan Street
45 Addison Youth club Youth club offering indoor football, pool, table tennis, basketball and IT facilities. It has also been used as a nursery school ad a dance studio it originated as a mission church
Saint Matthew’s Mission Church. It was for the lower orders – servants and the poor

Richford Street
Richford Gate Primary Care Centre
85 Quantex Arc Ltd they produce single-use disposable pump technology.
87 PDD Innovation.  Established in 1980 this firm specialises in engineering and industrial design. Previous occupiers have been film and entertainment companies.
87 Walton House. Walton Sound & Film Services. They were present here in the 1970s
89 Dulux Decorator Centre. Dulux are an international paint firm, originally Australian. This is one of a chain of stores in the UK associated with Azo Nobel

Richmond Way
The Kensington and Richmond Railway crossed the road slightly north of the roundabout with new buildings on the roadsides.  There is a slight hump in the road here.  The line diverted from the west London line slightly south of the K West hotel – and this can be seen from the Addison road bridge.
Cycle Docking Station. This at the end of the road where the junction with Shepherd Bush Green is now blocked. With a walk way through to Shepherds Bush Station.  There is also the base of a very large advertising sign
1 Duke of Edinburgh. This pub closed in 2012 and has now been converted to residential use.

Rockley Road
The line of the Richmond and Kensington Railway is now under housing.

Shepherd’s Bush Common
Green. This is a triangular open space originally Fulham Manor waste and acquired by the Metropolitan Board of Works in 1872.  It was once called Gagglegoose Green.  . It is shown with this name on OS map of 1822 and there are references in the 17th to the name. It could refer to a family called Shepherd or to actual shepherds. There were farms in this area until the late 19th. The marshy land was drained in 1871and this has needed to be done again recently#
The Green was originally laid out with paths, provided with a drinking fountain at its west end, with plane trees planted around the perimeter.  Toilets at one time were included on Uxbridge Road corner, and opposite the Shepherds Bush Hotel. There was also a drinking fountain near the War Memorial opposite the cinemas.  In 1985 the perimeter was planted with evergreen shrubs and tracks laid out to provide cycle paths around the Green.
Winged Victory, War Memorial from 1922 by H. C. Fehr. It is on a stone mausoleum shaft with bronze Roll of Honour plaques on a three tiered plinth set in a railed grass and paved enclosure.
Underground toilets. Decorative railings surround a former underground lavatory with ceramic work from the early 20th, later used as a snooker hall and/or a nightclub and now closed. They stand in a railed enclosure which includes a lamp standard.
Playground. The very young have a slide, swings and sand pit with diggers. Older children have a challenging climbing frame, tyre swing, tunnel side and outdoor climbing walls as well as musical instruments to turn and press.

Shepherds Bush Green.
Roundabout – This was on a minor crossroads on Holland Park Avenue, with Holland Road and Shepherds Bush Green. The A3220 Holland Road was upgraded in the 1950s. Later the West Cross Route linked into it and in 1970 the current roundabout was opened. It was meant to be grade-separated, but the route to the south had some difficulties and was never built.
13-15 The Telegraph. This pub is now a restaurant. The original pub was 20 yards to the east and replaced was by the current building
West 12 Shopping and Leisure Centre, this originally opened in 1971 as the Shepherd’s Bush Centre as a new single storey shopping centre
Vue Cinema. This is in the shopping centre. It was then the Warner Village Shepherd’s Bush and was opened in 2001.  It was re-branded Vue in 2004.
Galaxy Cinema. This was in the new shopping centre and operated by Lew & Leslie Grade as the first in a new chain. Only this one opened. It closed in 1975 and converted into a shop.
58 The Pavilion Cinema. This opened in 1923 was designed by Frank T. Verity for Israel Davis, and made Verity’s reputation. Inside was Italian renaissance decoration. It had the second Compton 4Manual/17Rank organ built.  The organ had percussions added in 1924, and in 1931 was rebuilt with the first modern console of the Gaumont-British type on a lift.., There was a stage and four dressing rooms. There is a brick and stone frontage which won a RIBA London Street Architecture Award.  It was badly damaged in 1944 bombing and closed until 1955 having been restored by Samuel Beverley and reopened as the Gaumont Theatre.  In 1962 it became the Odeon, and in 1969, closed for reconstruction. The stalls became a Top Rank Bingo Club and the cinema itself became Odeon 1
Odeon 2.  This lies between the Shepherd’s Bush Empire Theatre and the Pavilion/Gaumont/Odeon. It was the Shepherd’s Bush Cinematograph Theatre opened in 1910. Along the side of the building was a long stone panel which had ‘Cinematograph Theatre – Continuous Performance – Seats 1/– 6d 3d’.It was partially rebuilt by John Stanley Beard and reopened in 1923 and renamed Essoldo in 1955. It closed for modernisation in 1968. It was the Classic from 1972 and finally Odeon 2 from 1973 to its closure in October 1981.  The interior was then gutted and it was converted into a large pub with an Australian theme know as ‘Walkabout’, this closed in 2013. It was the used as a site office for building workers and demolished in 2019, although the facade remained to be used as an entrance to a hotel.
56 Shepherds Bush Empire.  It opened in 1903 designed by Frank Matcham for Oswald Stoll. The frontage is Art Nouveau, plus a tower with a Baroque copula on top, which once contained a lantern and a circular metal ‘Empire’ sign... The upper circle and gallery have their own separate entrances. Inside is ornate and here are boxes at dress circle level. There are also boxes in the upper circle level topped by a semi-circular feature. All the great music hall artists appeared here in the first few weeks. American Bioscope was part of the variety programme and in 1909, a Chronomegaphone was added. Eventually it was equipped with a Western Electric sound system and Sunday film shows ran until the late 1940s. With the coming of Television the Empire closed in 1953. Soon after the BBC Television took it over and converted it. The upper parts of the building were obscured by lighting gantries, which hid Matcham’s decorations. TV cameras roamed around this area where once an audience sat. Many big hit shows were to be broadcast from here, but after 40-years, the BBC moved to White City Television Studios at Shepherd’s Bush, and the Empire Theatre was sold in 1992. New owners restored close-to its original 1903 opening and set up a programme of pop/rock concerts opening in 1994.

Shepherd's Bush Market
The market is sited on what was Railway Approach, intended as access road to station. During the war these railways arches where the market is now were used for billeting troops and stabling horses. The market dates to the early part of the 20th and opened for business in around 1914, with shops lining the railway viaduct

Shepherd's Bush Road
Once known as Brook Green Lane.
Little Brook Green. Separate part of the common west of Shepherd’s Bush Road.
186 this was Brook Green School. It has been extended for use as offices and studios in 2005.  The school was for children with physical disabilities and dated from probably 1885 and closed in 1947.
184 Former motor service depot and showroom. This was built in 1916 by H Heathcote and Sons of Manchester for the   Motor Company (England) Ltd. It had a complete reinforced concrete frame; brick clad with painted cement dressings. There is a vehicle entrances on ground floor. At either end of the building are large lifts (still operational) to take vehicles to upper floors that on the left rising onto the flat roof where vehicles were test driven. This was Ford's first industrial building in the London area and the quality of materials and design reflects the status of the motor car at this period. The depot was taken over by Citroen in 1926. It has later been used as a storage depot and has since been converted to office use by a data science company.
Standard with lantern. This is in cast iron open-work with Greek key pattern cast iron railings.  It is north of 184 and includes a rectangular brick gatehouse. They were part of the security gate to the Ford building.
Police Station. This was replaced by the Osram Building. It had been designed by Farquharson & McMorran
180 Osram Works. Osram is a German company. The Brook Green works was one of the earliest lamp factories in Britain set up in 1881 to manufacture the Lane-Fox type of carbon lamps. Fluorescent and various electronic tubes became its main product. The works survived over 100 years, with production ending in 1988. Work went n here from 1893, although it is not clear whether or not this was an entirely new factory, or if it had been the site of earlier carbon arc operations. The building was extended later, but most o t was demolished in 1988.  The factory range of 1915-16 survives. The landmark seven storey Osram Tower is topped by an octagon with a little copper dome; by John S. Quitter & Son, 1920-1. , a metal sculpture on the copper cupola depicts the movement of the atom and with "OSRAM" lettering that was once illuminated, now a Tesco supermarket and Peabody housing
Osram Court. War memorial plaque saying G.E.C. in grateful memory of the employees of this company who fell in the service of their company in the Great War 1914-18.
170-2 Brook Green Hotel. This is on the site of the Barley Mow, rebuilt in 1886 by Young's. Modernised 'gin palace', retaining features, this is a spacious pub and restaurant with a ceiling. It has a hard floor but comfortably provided with padded seats and a few sofas. The basement houses a comedy club and the    hotel provides accommodation.
Carpet Cleaning works 1890s. The works had a big chimney and caused lots of pollution, thus was on or near the Osram works
Poplar House Laundry 1890s. This was on or near the Osram works
Shepherds Bush Road Wesleyan Methodist Chapel stood on the gcorner with Netherwood Street in the late 19th and early 20th. It was later demolished and the site used for flats. All that remains is the perimeter wall of uncoursed masonry blocks. The church hall to the rear is now used as the church.
55 The Richmond. Local pub dating from the early 20th.
Grampions. Grampians flats stand on the line of the Richmond and Kensington Railway and the block’s basement facilities are in the railway cutting.  It was designed by Maurice Webb in as an Art Deco block built between 1935 and 1937. The designs for the block were exhibited at the Royal Academy in 1935.  It is ten-stories with curving shops flanking the entrance, 1935 by Collcutt & Hamp.
Kensington and Richmond Line crossed under the road. There is still a slight ‘hump’ in the road.  There are commercial premises under the bridge.
Shepherds Bush station. This stood on the west side of the road and dated from 1874. It was built by the London and South West Railway as the Richmond and Kensington Railway closed in 1916. There were two platforms with steps down to them from the road with the booking office between; there was a signal box at the end of the up platform. Most of this remained into the1950s.
Shepherds Bush Baptist Tabernacle, founded in 1907 and designed by P.W.Hawkins. It closed in 2008.

Spring Vale Terrace
Clear Cut. This is on the site of the Cranford Works Stationery which was previously the Argyle Steam Laundry. In 1867 Springvale Works carried out bleaching and dyeing with an 80 foot chimney which towered over McCullock’s bleaching grounds in Spring Vale where calico and muslins were whitened and starched
Springvale Engineering Works.  Motor works

Sulgrave Gardens
This stands on the site of the former Shepherds Bush station which fronted on Shepherds Bush Road. The entrance to the tunnel under the road is clearly visible at the back of the estate.

Sulgrave Road
Railway cottages. 18th houses on the south side of the formation Richmond and Kensington Railway.
Iron viaduct this is said to be behind the cottages and that it has been bricked up

Trussley Road
This is the site of brick bridge foundations and embankment on the Richmond and Kensington railway junction with the Metropolitan Railway.  There are few surviving relics.
Caswell Grove Works Cranes and Erections Ltd. 1950s Grove Metals

Uxbridge Road
General Auto Services garage. This was east of the Central Line Station and was one of the largest private bus companies in the 1930s.
Uxbridge Road Station. This was on the West London Railway 1869-1940. It was opened served by the London & North Western Railway and the Great Western Railway. In 1905 it passed to the Metropolitan Railway, and later London Underground's Metropolitan line. It was at the east end of Uxbridge Road on the site of what is now the Holland Park roundabout and closed because of Second World War bombing. It remained reasonably intact for some years after closure, but eventually all that remained were the street level building, bits of stairway, and grassy platform mounds. These were swept away around 1971 for road widening schemes
Shepherds Bush Underground Station. This was on the site of the present Shepherds Bush Station.  Previously a station existed almost on the same site as the present Shepherd's Bush station. It opened in 1900 and was the original western terminus of the Central London Railway with a ticket hall designed by Harry Bell Measures. The station was renamed Shepherds Bush Green in 2008
Shepherd's Bush station this opened in 2008 and lies between Willesden Junction and Kensington Olympia on London Overground, Wembley Central and Kensington Olympia on Southern Rail and White City and Holland Park on the Central Line. It is on the same site as the Uxbridge Road Station which closed in the 1940s.   Development in the area means that a new station was possible...
28 The Mail Coach Pub. This was an Inter-war red brick pub. Since demolished in 2003 for the underground station. Was previously called London.
96- 102 The Wellington Arms.  The landlord was Butty Sugruet, who was a strong man who pulled busses with his teeth.  This pub dated from the 1870s and was a Slug & Lettuce when it closed in 2006. It is now used as a takeaway chicken shop and a gaming arcade.
164 Star Cinema. This was in a Pereira Mansions which dates from 1905. The Electric Cinema opened in 26th 1907 and in 1910 alterations were carried out by Melville S. Ward for Electric Theatre Ltd. By 1918, it had been re-named Star Cinema. It closed in 1923 and became a shop.
170 Defectors Weld.  Young’s pub named for a local spy one of the "Cambridge five" Cold War spies worked nearby at the BBC and 'weld' is a joint/joining.   Previously called Edwards and was the Beaumont Arms
172-4 The Green  Pub. Opened as a Wetherspoon in 1990 having been converted from a shop.
5 Fire Station. Designed by Frank van der Weerden  1900 and in - in use from 1901-1920
7 Passmore Edwards Library.  This was designed by Maurice Bingham Adams as Passmore Edwards Free Library Hammersmith. It was built in 1895, and a foundation stone, in the wall was laid by Passmore Edwards.  In 2008 a new library was built in the Westfield London development. In 2011 the library re-opened as the new home of the Bush Theatre
Bush Theatre. This was established in 1972 as a showcase for the work of new writers.  It was initially in the Bush Hotel.
31 White Horse pub. The pub s through the small archway to the rear, but the building as a whole is a Tesco.
Silver cinema . The Silver Cinematograph Theatre was built on the site of the Albion Brewery and opened in 1914. It had a stone facade, with the name ‘Silver’ over the entrance. It was badly damaged by German bombs in 1940. It never reopened and it was demolished.
11-13 Griggs Brothers, Albion Brewery,
The Church of St Stephen and St Thomas built 1849–50, designed by architect Anthony Salvini. Rev Wilfred Wood became curate to St Stephen's, later becoming the Church of England’s first black bishop. In 1966 the vicar set up the Shepherds Bush Housing Association to help solve the problems of homelessness and poverty in the area. Today St Stephen's serves a hot meal to up to 100 homeless people every Monday.
St Stephen’s Primary School. This was part of the original village of Shepherd’s Bush and built at the same time as the Church

Wells Road
Shepherd's Bush Bus Garage. LT London Transport garage on site of old railway line. It has originally been a London Motor Omnibus Garage called Vanguard and was transferred from Vanguard Motorbus Company to LGOC in 1908.  It closed on the Great War but reopened in 1923 although previously used as a terminal stand. A new garage was built there in 1954.  Still in operation.


Sources
AIM.Web site
Children’s Homes. Web site
Barton. London’s Lost Rivers
Buildings to see in Fulham and Hammersmith 
Cinema Theatre Association. Newsletter
Cinema Treasures.  Web site
Closed Pubs. Web site
Clunn. The Face of London
District Dave. Web site
Disused Stations. Web site
Field. London Place Names
Friends of Brook Green. Web site
Glazier. London Transport Garages/
Grace’s Guide. Web site
Hammersmith and Fulham Council. Web site
Hillman & Trench, Underground London
Historic England. Web site
Ian Visits. Blog
Jackson, London’s Local Railways
Lamptech. Web site
London Borough of Hammersmith and Fulham. Web site
London Encyclopaedia
London Gardens Online. Web site
Lost Lidos. Web site.
O’Connor. Forgotten Station
Old and New London
Pevsner and Cherry, London   North West
Sabre. Web site
St.Mary’s Primary School. Web site
St.Matthew’s church. Web sire
St.Simon. Web site
URS. Web site
What pub? Web site

Wednesday, 11 September 2019

Gerrards Cross

Post to the north Orchehill
Post to the east Oakend


Amersham Road
Edith is somewhat confused by the name ‘Amersham Road” being shown on various maps as a name for a variety of roads in the area.  It seems however to be recognised manly as a section of the A413 also called ‘Chalfont St.Peter bypass’.  Presumably before the road was upgraded to a bypass it was called ‘Amersham Road’.  The bypass dates from the 1960s.
Oak End Mill. This is a complex of buildings which once stood at the end of Oak End Lane.  A saw mill is shown here on the Misbourne on maps before the Second World War, together with an unidentified rectangular body of water. Oak End Farm is also sometimes shown. A medieval mill here was Noke Mill owned by Henry Gould in 1680.

Bulstrode Way
Laid out 1907 by developers Hampton and Sons.

East Common Road
3 Hartley Court. Built as the Aged Pilgrim’s Home.  Built in 1874 by the Aged Pilgrim’s Friend Society Erected in memory of Sir William Alexander, Bart, 1874.  Took 15 old people and was endowed by Sir John Wallis Alexander. Designed by Habershon and Pite in a Tudor style. Plaques in each of the gables reading "Born again made new creatures in Christ Jesus", "Glory to God on high" and "Even to hoar hairs will I carry you". Garden wall and shelter are listed. This is now divided into five units which appear to be private houses.
Church of England School. Built on the common before 1906. It was extended on several occasions and moved to a different site in 1968. Head master was Charles Colston father of Eric who was MD of Hoover.
Colston Hall. Head of GXCA. This was originally Watercroft House and is now part of the Memorial Centre. It is used as a wedding and conference venue.
Memorial centre.  This is a local community centre providing events and meeting space. Built by John Chantry as Walters Croft House.  He was an enthusiastic hunter and had extensive stables.  Later known as Watercroft and then Gerard’s Cross Vicarage.  The croft was an encroachment on the Heath and is first referred to in 1691 when a cottage was built.  In 1723 this was sold to John Wilkins of Chalfont House and by 1830 it was owned by John Chantry.  The Old Berkeley Hunt met in front of the house.  By 1876 it was owned by Lousia Reid and she gave it to the Vicar swapping it for the Old Vicarage by Latchmoor Pond.  In 1922 the then vicar gave the stables for conversion into a village hall and a war memorial for the First World War.  In 1945 someone bought the house and it was converted into a community centre – that someone turned out to be Eric Colston, Managing Director of Hoover.  As a war memorial there is an inscription: “In loyalty to the memory of those who gave their lives in the war of 1939-45 this centre is dedicated to the fostering and furtherance in good fellowship of all arts and exercises healthful and enriching to body and mind, to the end that by the grace of Almighty God we the living may together cultivate in a spirit of true community the national heritage preserved for us and our children at so great and sacred a cost".

Elthorpe Crescent
Laid out in the gardens of Elthorpe House when it was converted into a hotel
Elthorpe Hotel. This was an early 19th house called Fernacre Cottage. It was converted into a hotel in 1923 when it was altered and extended in the Arts & Crafts style by architect Robert Muir. The grounds had gardens and orchards and a holly hedge 12 or 15 feet high. These were used as a sit for the construction of shops,
Everyman Cinema. This opened as the Picture Playhouse in 1925.  Its corner entrance has an octagonal tower, with three entrance arches. Inside were boxes along the rear wall and Grecian pillars along the side walls. There were dressing rooms and a stage as well as a cafe, a dancehall and a car park. In 1931 it described itself as a ‘Theatre de Luxe’.  In 1947 it was taken over by Southan Morris and in June 1950 it was altered. It was taken over by the Essoldo chain and renamed Essoldo in 1969 and was again renovated. Taken over by the Classic chain it was re-named Classic Cinema in 1972 and again changed with a second screen. It was later taken over by the Cannon Group, then ABC in but since 2000 it has been operated by Odeon Theatres, taken over by Everyman Cinemas in 2015 with more renovations.

Fulmer Way
Originally called Quakers Way built on the land of Marsham Farm

Gerrards Cross
Said to be named after a coach pick up point and a coachman called Gerrard.  The name is recorded in 1448 and after.  Gerrard may be the name of a local landowner.  The actual cross was probably to the west and referred to Bull Lane. The town is largely built on the site of Latchmoor Field.  This had been a common field of Chalfont St.Peter and was enclosed in 1846, the new owners being the occupants of the surrounding big houses.  It then went for development.

Gerrards Cross Common
Area of waste land known previously as Chalfont Heath.  As a common it was shared by the surrounding parishes. It extends over some 32 and is as it is now as the result of a fire which burned for three months in 1921. The first vegetation to return was heather and gorse, replaced by four areas of open grassland, woodland, mainly silver birch and oak. It is common land of the Manor of Chalfont St Peter over which owners of adjoining properties were entitled to graze animals. It is owned by the Lord of the Manor and was managed by the Manor Court until 1920. The Court rolls run from 1308 until 1936.

Lower Road
Until the 1970s Lower Road was the main A413 road to Amersham.  This had been a turnpike road.
Chalfont Pottery north of Marsham Lane junction Chalfont Pottery at Marsham Farm.  This made bricks and tiles and is thought to have originated in the late 19th although there are records of an 18th pottery and dene hole. Closed with construction of Diss Park house– site of brick kiln and pottery until about 1907
Toll House. This was built at Oak End in 1828 by the Turnpike Trust. It is not identified as being present now.
Lodge to Chalfont Park built in the 17th at the end of Marsham Lane but demolished when the by pass was built in the 1960s

Marsham Lane
An old lane which became part of a parcel of development land c.1912 of which this was the eastern boundary. 
Marsham Manor was Marsham Farm. There are some indications that this was used as a brick and tile making site.   It was bought by developer Hampton Gilks and Moon and in 1907 sold to Tibbs & Co. builders and rebuilt to the design of Stanley Hamp.  Arts and Crafts

Marsham Way
Laid out 1907 by Hampton and Sons on land from Marsham Farm. 

Mill Lane
Previously called Hollow Lane

Oak End Way
The road was a footpath until c.1912 when it was the northern boundary of a parcel of development land.  Laid out by Legender Myers in 1905 and originally called Pottery Road.
Methodist church. In 1907, a plot of land was purchased for £200 and` the first Trustees were appointed. A corrugated iron chapel was built and belonged to the High Wycombe Free Methodist Circuit, affiliated to the Wesleyan Reform Union. In 1930 the Church was purchased by the Uxbridge & Southall Wesleyan Circuit and more recently has moved to the Amersham Circuit. In 1954, the “tin” building was modernised, in 1958 the foundation stone of a new Church was laid in front of the site. The original Church building was initially retained but eventually demolished and replaced by Wesley Hall and New Fellowship Room, in 1964.
Oak End Hall and Assembly Rooms built by Percy Hopkins in 1913. This later became a furnishing showroom. It had a hall for 250 seated and a sprung dance floor.  The site now appears to be vacant.
Park Creamery and cafe on the corner of South Park designed by Percy Hopkins. Thatched building. This is now an empty plot

Packhorse Road
Cottages which once stood alongside the pub had a date stone ‘Huntman’s Hall 1796’. This was the home of the huntsman of the Old Berkeley Hunt and the kennels were also there
12 St Andrew's church. United Reform church by H. Ascroft which replaced a Congregational church built in 1922.  It is now part of a large block of shops and offices called Pilgrim House dating from the 1980s
Lloyds Bank. Corner with Bulstrode Way. Beyond this were six Railway Cottages and Stationmaster's House built in 1902. Demolished 1957/9 and replaced with shops in 1960. 
Masonic Hall, designed by Stanley Beard in 1924 . Commandeered by the RAF in the Second World War
Original boundary stones to the new parish of Gerrards Cross marked GV 1860

Station Approach
Steps to were there were once public toilets
Gerrards Cross Station. Opened in 1906 it now lies between Seer Green and Denham Golf Club stations on 1Chiltern Railways into Marylebone. It was built by the Great Western Railway and Great Central Railway Joint line and opened as Gerrards Cross for the Chalfonts.  It is in a deep cutting to allow or a very shallow maximum gradient. It was originally four-track, with two through roads and two platforms but the through roads were removed in 1989. There was a small goods yard north of the line and two signal boxes. The east box closed in 1923 and the west box was located on the Down line and remained in use until 1990 when signalling was passed to the new Marylebone Integrated Control Centre. There was also a line to Uxbridge which closed in 1939 but this was only a shuttle using rail cars going back and forward all day. In 1997 the station tunnel fell down because of Tesco. The station had its centenary in 2006 celebrated with two steam locomotives, hauling trains between Marylebone and High Wycombe.
Tunnel. A 30m section of the 300m Gerrards Cross railway tunnel collapsed in 1997 interrupting Chiltern train services to Banbury, Birmingham and elsewhere and depositing broken tunnel segment fragments and many tonnes of infill material on the track. It appears some of the concrete arches were overloaded before the space around them had been correctly infilled. This new work was being carried out to cover over the railway so as to provide a central site for the construction of a Tesco supermarket above,
The bronze 'Railway Navvy' sculpture behind the Up platform by Anthony Stones who was commissioned in 1992 by the Colne Valley Park Groundwork Trust

Station Road
Joseph Nutt's coal yard, present in the 1920s.
16 Marsham Chambers built 1933 began as a Public Hall built 1906 by William Weston. It later became a roller skating rink, then part of the County Garage but later became a garage belonging to Bailey Changed name to Gerrards Cross Car Services Ltd.    And after the Second World War became Lewis’s Garage.
19 Girl Guide headquarters. This was built in the 1960s on the site of an older Guide hut on land donated to 1st Gerrards Cross guides by Phyllis Stewart-Brown
38 Gerrards Cross Community Library
Telephone Exchange. The old exchange and system from 1935. It also uses code THGX and provides telephone and broadband services to premises in Gerrards Cross and Chalfont St. Peter,
Goring Kerr. Works here from 1956 making Metlokate an electric control device

The Woodlands
Laid out by Legender  Myers in 1905 for the Circle Lane Company on land bought from the Gurneys in 1906.

Vicarage Way`
Laid out by Hampton Gilks and Moon on the land of Marsham Farm.
St.Michaels Convent. Community of the Sisters of the Church. Convent and Retreat House.  The house was built in 1909 in the Arts and Crafts style, and was extended in the 1960s.   It was the first plot taken and built as Dinthill by E.H.Ernest Hill for John Weston.

West Common
1 Wildwood Resrtaurant. This was the Packhorse Pub. After being closed in 2008, the building reopened as a Wildwood restaurant and bar. The interior has not been changed much.  The Packhorse was built in 1707 on Great Heath Field by Thomas Pyner, a brickmaker.   In 1826 it was acquired by Wellers Brewery of Amersham and 1929 by Beskins, of Watford.  Beskins rebuilt it in 1931 to designs of J.C.E.James.
Office block built on part of the Packhorse's car park.

West Common Close
Car park – this was the site of a bowling green post Second World War

Sources
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Colne Valley Park. Web site
Gerrards Cross Methodist Church. Web sit
Historic England. Web site
Hunt & Thorpe, Gerrards Cross
Meadway Park. Web site
Pevsner. Buckinghamshire
Sabre. Web site
South Bucks District Council. Web site

Monday, 9 September 2019

Garston


Post to the south Watford North
Post to the east River Colne, Meridian Estate


Apple Tree Walk
Stanborough Primary School. This is a coeducational independent day and boarding school. It stands in 40 acres of parkland, was founded by the Seventh-day Adventist church and remains under the governance of the church. It was founded in 1919 and originally catered primarily to the children of overseas missionaries. The Primary section moved to a new facility in 1974

Cow Lane
Lea Farm. The farm stood on what is now the north side of Cow Lane.
Lea Farm Cottages
Sun Chemical Ltd.
The factory which manufactured Inks for the print trade opened in 1952 and closed down in 2006. Sun is a multi-national chemical company originating with American and French firms in the mid-19th. The factory had originally been built here for Ault and Wiborg, an American printing ink firm which had become wholly British. It was designed by Wallis Gilbert and sited opposite the Odhams Print Works who they supplied with ink.  There were special fire safety measures and storage tanks built underground.  The site was eventually sold to Barratts for some more crappy housing.

Edward Amey Close
Edward Amey was a local politician and mayor of Watford
Built on the site of Garston Infants School. The school closed in 2005.

First Avenue
Lea Farm Recreation Ground Children's playground, Outdoor gym, two tarmac tennis courts
Telephone Exchange. This Situated has the code LWGAR. It is fronted by the original redbrick building with modern extensions behind. It provides services to Bricket Wood, Leavesden Green, Meriden, Kingswood and Woodside.
Garston Spiritualist Church. The Garston Brotherhood of Spiritualists was founded in 1944 by Mr and Mrs Jack Gray. With help of friends, and a mortgage on they bought a plot of land in First Avenue and fun raised for a new building which opened in 1948. The church continues.

Fourth Avenue
The Grove ‘Academy’. This was Berrygrove Primary School. This was opened in 2005 and replaced Meriden Primary, Garston Infants and Lea Farm Junior (formerly Garston Junior) Schools.
Berrygrove Children’s Centre

Garsmouth Way
Meriden Park. This has a childrens' playground designed by children, for children and a community centre with a broad range of public activities

Garston Lane
Garston Station. Opened in 1966 it lies between Bricket Wood and Watford North on London Overground Line to Euston via Watford Junction. It consists of one unstaffed platform but in 2010 it got new signage and artwork by children from Berry Grove Primary School [

North Western Avenue
ASDA. This supermarket is in the site and building of Odhams Press. The founder of Odhams was William Odhams, born 1812 in Sherborne. He was a compositor who began his own printing business. The firm gradually moved into bulk print of periodicals. Odhams (Watford) Ltd. was established in 1935, to-do high-speed colour photogravure printing.  Building began in 1935 in a site dominated by a gas holder. One vast building was put erected plus wells, power plant, new roads, and a canteen for the workers and a car park. During the Second World War, they printed leaflets, for the Government as well as repairing aeroplanes. In 1954, work started on a massive new multi-storey building and began the use of colour in newsprint.  In 1961 they were taken over by Fleetway and the Mirror Group and n 1963 this became the International Publishing Corporation (IPC). In the mid 1960s, a modernisation programme made it possible to print colour on both sides of the paper, In the 1970s, Odhams (Watford) was still the largest gravure printing plant in the UK but new technology meant many job losses at the plant. NT. IN 1982, Robert Maxwell bought Odhams from Reed International for £1.5 million.  This included not only the factory, land, and machines, and the works was closed down, many workers transferred to Sun Printers. The remaining buildings date from 1954 built to the designs of Yates, Cook & Derbyshire. The massive clock tower it houses a tank for holding water during the printing process.
Brookside Metal Co Watford Foundry, Owned by Metal Traders.1968 Queen's Award to Industry for Export Achievement

Railway Line from Garston
The north/south railway line on which Garston Station is sited is the Abbey Line opened by the London & Birmingham Railway, from London Euston to Boxmoor in 1837.  In the area south of the station was a large complex of sidings. These were between Cow Lane and North Western Avenue. Colne Way

St.Albans Road
609 Seventh day Adventist church. The Church was part of a complex of Seventh Day Adventist buildings based in Stanborough Park mainly in the square to the west. They originally had set up a church in the town of Watford but the need for an on-site church became apparent. The church opened in 1928. An extension and galleries were added to the building in 1962. In 2015 a project to extend and refurbish was completed with an official opening ceremony performed by the Mayor of Watford
Stanborough Park, the 75-acre Cottrell estate, was purchased in 1906 by the British Union Conference of the Seventh-Day Adventists. The majority of this complex stands in the square to the west.
Stanborough Centre. Opened in 2001, this adds 4 more halls to the original church. It is mainly used as a centre for community events and health and family related issues as well as a centre for local amenity organisations.
Headquarters building of the British Union Conference of Seventh Day Adventists. This was, erected in 1961 and is now the Adventist Discovery Centre - previously called the Voice of Prophecy. H. M. S. Richards, a Seventh-day Adventist evangelist, ran a radio programme known as the Voice of Prophecy which was the start of the Adventist Bible Correspondence Schools internationally.  The Adventist Discovery Centre continues this tradition.
Peace garden. A memorial garden, on the grounds of Stanborough Park, Watford, was officially opened on the International Day of Peace, Wednesday 21 September, in remembrance of those who took a stand for their pacifist and Sabbatarian beliefs.
Stanborough Park College of Music. This is part of the facilities of the Stanborough Centre.
Langley House. NHS rehabilitation centre.
The Dome roundabout. This is on the A41 Watford Bypass, built in the 1920s, where it intersects with the A412 St Albans Road. The St Albans Road was one of the first locally to be remodelled as a bus priority route in the early 1990s. At the roundabout, supermarket are on both sides of the road
530 Garston Fire station.  Full time fire station.  It includes the Thorpe Room used for community events.
524 Lemarie Centre for Charities.  Accommodation for charities events and offices
501 Well Being Centre.  Mental health support centre
Library. Opened in 1937 s and designed by the Borough Architect W. W. Newman, L.R.I.B.A.
Odeon Cinema. This was to be called the Ritz but was bought during construction by Odeon and opened in 1937. It had a plain brick facade in brick and a cafe in the front upstairs.  The auditorium was designed by J. Owen Bond, with honeycombe plasterwork. Lighting was indirect, with coloured variations. However it never had access to first release films and was put up for sale in 1959 and closed .It became a garage and a Little Waitrose but was demolished in 1989. A block of flats was built on the site.


Sources
Cinema Treasures. Web site
Hertfordshire churches
Hertfordshire County Council. Web site
SABRE. Web site
Seventh Day Adventist Web ire
Skinner. Form and Fancy.
Sun Chemicals. Web site
Watford Council. Web site

Monday, 26 August 2019

Gants Hill


Post to the east Newbury Park
Post to the South Valentines



Ashurst Drive
Baptist Church .Church building and rear hall opened in 1929. . The name chosen for the church was 'Eastern Avenue Baptist Church' and this was changed in 1929.  Halls and kitchens were added in the 1950s and 1960s.

Beehive Lane
Ilford Synagogue. This was founded in 1936 and moved to this site in the 1970s. It serves a varied membership. It is a member of the United Synagogues.

Cranbrook Road 
Valentines High School. This school opened in 1901 as Park Higher Grade School, a coeducational secondary school, on a different site.  In 1929, a building on Cranbrook Road was opened as Ilford County High School for Girls. In 1977, the school became coeducational as Valentines High School. Since then a new sixth-form building and sports centre have been added/
509-511 London School of Management Education. Private business school.
490 Gants Hill Library. This dates from 1937-8 designed by L.E.J. Reynolds, Borough Surveyor, with H.B. Nixon, Architectural Assistant.  There is a separate entrance to the children's library at the end.
Parish hall.  This was the first church here designed by T.H.B. Scott, 1928 and later replaced.
645 King George V pub. This was built in 1953

Eastern Avenue
Eastern Avenue opened 1925 and built as a bypass arterial road.
347 Eastwood Snooker Club, hidden away round the back among the bins. This was previously Gants Hill Billiards Club behind houses
Gant’s Hill Station. Opened in it lies 14th between Redbridge and Newbury Park on the Central Line and  As part of the 1935–40 New Works Scheme the Central line was to connect to the London & North Eastern Railway's line to Epping . For this a new underground section between Leytonstome and Newbury Park was built running under Eastern Avenue. Gants Hill was one of three new stations on it.  The original station arrangements were one of the sights of London - a vast pillared hall submerged beneath and reached by subways.  It was designed by Charles Holden in 1937-8, although not built until 1940s.  The recently completed Moscow metro reputedly inspired its planning. In 1994 refurbishment by the Rogers Partnership reinstated panelled ceilings, modelled on the originals. The ticket hall is beneath the roundabout and is accessed via subways and has no street level buildings. The station also features miniature roundels on the tiles at platform level as well.
Plessey. Between Gants Hill and Leytonstone there are 5 miles of underground railway tunnels, which had just been built when the war started.  They were converted into an underground factory for the Plessey Company to make aircraft components.  Plessey were radio and television component manufacturers, and had a production line, with 2,000 workers, mostly young women, in the tunnel. In 1944 the firm had 11,000 employees. Transport inside the tunnels by electric rail motors.
Odeon Cinema. Built as the art deco Savoy and now demolished. In 1934, this was George Coles ‘first cinema for Kessex Cinemas, on a prominent corner site. There was a large stage, with five dressing rooms. A restaurant was also provided. It was taken over in 1936 by General Cinema Finance Corporation founded by J. Arthur Rank a company later to be part of Eastern Cinemas and then taken over by the Oscar Deutsch Odeon Theatres Ltd. in 1943. It was then re-named Odeon in 1949. I 1967 it was converted into a 3 screen cinema. It closed in 2002 and by was demolished by 2003. Flats and a supermarket were built on the site. There is a pavement mosaic outside one of the shops.

Gant’s Hill Crescent
Methodist church built 1928. It was opened at the expense of Joseph Rank. 
Church hall. Opened in 1935.

Gayshams Road
Named for the ancient manor of Gayshams.  In 1927 it was broken up for development. 
Gearies Primary School.  Gearies council school was opened in 1929. In 1945 it was re-organized, the seniors being formed into secondary (modern) schools. The boys’ school, originally Boys Upper School, appears to have closed in 1978.  Only the primary school remains with the Redbridge Adult Education Institute in the rest of this impressive inter war complex. A new building appears to have been constructed. The school has a garden area in which there is a monument.

Loudon Avenue
St Augustine of Canterbury (R.C.), 1953-4 by D.R. Buries; red brick and Reordered 1980 by Austin Winkley with stone furnishings.
St.Augustine’s Catholic Primary School

Martley Drive
Martley Drive Play Area. Small green space with play equipment designed for children under 8 years.

Middleton Gardens
Air shaft for the underground railway

Perth Road
This long road is one of a group of Empire names and connects the others with Eastern Avenue.
23-27 The Valentine. Closed  2017 and derelict. This was Olde Valentine. Built 1934 and half timbered.

Waremead Road
Gearies Infants School. This is part of the complex lying between this road, Gayshams Road and Gants Hill Crescent
Gearies Children’s Centre

Woodford Avenue
Joins Eastern Avenue and provided an additional link with the North Circular Road round London.
United Reformed Church formerly Congregational, designed in 1931 by Percy Brand.  Light-brown brick.  A plaque on display in the vestibule in Gants Hill United Reformed Church commemorates those who died in both world wars. Unveiled on 2nd December 1965, the memorial takes the form of a metal plaque with the dedication in white lettering.
Hall.  Adjacent to the church.
Gants Hill Majid. Muslim Centre
St.George. Built in 1931-2 in mottled brick with square tower and spire rising in two tiers intended as one of the low belfries of old Essex churches.

Sources
Clunn.  The face of London
Day. London's Underground
Hillman and Trench. Underground London
London Borough of Redbridge, Web site
London Railway Record
Pevsner and Cherry.  East London
Pevsner.  Essex
Victoria County History

Saturday, 24 August 2019

Hampton Hill


Post to the north River Crane, Fulwell


Alpha Road
Alpha Road Gardens. A former allotment site now with shrubs, trees and a play area. It is possible that this was a bomb site resulting from destruction by a landmine in November 1940.
6 Currently a garage and MOT Centre, in the 1960s this was Electronic Ades making compact control equipment

Angel Close
Hampton Hill Spiritualist Church - "New Church" .  In the late 1990s, the Church negotiated with a developer and the current church was built in 2000 on land to the rear of the Old Church. It opened in 2000.

Bayleaf Close
Sheltered housing
.
Blandford Road
Built on the site of gravel pits

Branksome Close
Housing on area of a gravel pit. This includes units for disabled people leased to Richmond upon Thames Churches Housing Trust

Burtons Road
This is on the line of an ancient track. The ditch it runs along beside the road used to mark the dividing line between Hounslow Heath and the Common – which is known as Hampton Hill.
Gibbet – this was said to stand at the end of the road.

Bushy Park Gardens
Oval estate of 1896 built around a garden which was originally a tennis court.

East Bank Road
The bank is that of the railway

Fulwell Road
81 this was Fulwell Evangelical Free church, built on the site of a gravel pit, possibly in the mid-1880s.it is now the Building Blocks Nursery
128 Epic House. Serviced offices, now closed
129 site of The Northcote Photo Works Ltd., which closed in 1971

Hampton Road
This was previously called Teddington Lane
117 Care home. Laurel Dene, NHS Care Home. The original house, called The Laurels, was the family home of the Norton Motorcycle manufacturers’. It was the home of Downes Elland Norton who patented a gearig system in 1902. He died in 1934 the house was sold to Middlesex County Council in 1943 who converted it into a Care Home. Since then modern specialist housing has been built on the site. The showplace gardens remain,
72 Roebuck.  Pub, inside includes transport-related memorabilia. The pub is in Teddington but adjacent to the border with Hampton Hill and probably dates from 1867. It was bombed in the Second World War.

High Street
80 This was the Jenny Lind Pub, built in 1839 and named after the singer.
York Laundry which later became the West End Cleaners.
90 Hampton Hill Theatre. Teddington Theatre Club was founded in 1927, it moved to its own premises, Hampton Hill Theatre, in 1998.
99 La Familia Restaurant. This was the Crown & Anchor which dated from before 1850 but was rebuilt in 1908 when the road was widened for double tram tracks. It was later renamed The Valiant Knight, then Joe’s Restaurant
110 Templeton Lodge. This dates from the 1820s with a battlemented pediment. Originally owed by John Templeton, “a finest tenor but the house was then known as Temple Lodge.
124 Central House, this has housed a number of industrial and other units.  It appears to be on the site of a 19th Methodist Church.
161 West Products (Metals) Ltd set up an Investment Castings Plant here in the 1950s.
163 a variety of industrial firms were at this address from the 1930s.  Walton Photographic in 1935. In 1939 Carmac Laboratories (1938), Ltd. making pharmaceuticals.  In 1971 Surrey, Autelco and Startronic Move Surrey Printed Circuits Ltd. and Autelco Ltd. were there.
165 site of Hampton Press printing works. Up to 1835 this was the Post Office building and then part became a printing works owned by Edwin Makepeace. Later this was owned by. W. Austin, as Hampton Press” until the 1970s.
165-187 Clarence House. Private ‘preparatory’ school for girls aged 7-11 school. Opened 2016 on the site of a previous bank.

Kings Road
Kings Works. This was the X Factory Studios Ltd before 2013

Princes Close
Area of gravel pit

South Road
Twickenham Fire Station. Built in 1958 that was a Middlesex station enlarged in 1989. It replaced an older Twickenham station prior to GLC taking over Middlesex Fire Brigadge in 1965

St James Avenue
Hampton Hill Junior School. In 1928 a mixed senior school was opened on the site of the present school with entrances in Windmill Road and St. James’s Avenue. There was an air raid shelter and school allotment. It later became a primary school.  The flat roofed parts of the school were added in the mid-1970’s to give a new staffroom, hall, kitchen and storage and in the 1980’s a library, computer suite, cookery room, music rooms, art centre and inclusion rooms. They are now federated with Carlisle Infant School when we federated in 2014.

St.James Road
St James's. This was built in 1864 by Wigginton  to try and serve the riotous labourers working in the area and  serve the scattered village on the hill above Hampton. The parish of St Mary’s gave some glebe land and a simple church, with a nave, a chancel and a small vestry room, was built and consecrated in 1863. By 1873 the population had grown and more space was needed. There were many alterations and extensions to celebrate Queen Victoria’s Golden Jubilee in 1887, the tower and spire were planned. In 2004-5 the west porch was rebuilt as a new parish office and small store room.
Church hall. This was opened in 1964. a new garage was built for the vicarage, and the old garage given to the Nursery School.

Stanley Road
Twickenham Depot – Fulwell Garage. The bus depot is currently operated by Abellio London and London United. The site was originally part of the Freake Fulwell Park Estate and was purchased by London United Tramways for a new tram depot in 1902. The garage had an entrance at Stanley Road and Wellington Road with 20 tracks under cover. In 1931 early trolleybuses moved in, in 1933 In 1933 London United Tramways were taken over by LPTB and the last trams left in 1935. Fulwell became London Transport’s main trolleybus works.and was of the last depots to convert to motor buses in 1962. In 1986/87 it was rebuilt and split across its width with the sports ground between the garage and South Road. The northern half of the garage, together with the front yard at the Wellington Road end, and a small rear yard were used for bus operation and initially used for the sale of withdrawn buses. Now both halves of the garage are in use.  The Stanley Road end is occupied by Abellio London as its Twickenham garage.  The Wellington Road end is occupied by London United as its Fulwell garage and head office

Wellington Gardens
Fulwell Station. This lines between Teddington and Shepperton Stations and opened on the Shepperton Line in 1864. It was named after the Deputy Chairman of the Thames Valley Railway Co, who lived nearby at Fulwell Park and named also for the farm which is was built on the site of. It is now operated by South West Trains. The station building is a yellow brick house with gables and round arched windows.  It was originally called Fulwell and New Hampton but changed through a resident petition in the 1860s from Fulwell and Hampton Hill.

Wellington Road:
1 Duke of Wellington Pub. This is now housing. Closed 1989 but apparently in existence before 1816
St.Frances de Sales.  Roman Catholic Church It was founded in 1920 and the original church was built in 1928. The new church was built in 1966 and consecrated on 1976.  Designed by Buries, Newton & Partners as a Large brick rectangle with slit windows with coloured glass and Campanile. Church hall to the rear.
Fulwell Golf Course. This is built on the land of Blackmoor Farm and some of Slade Farm. Slade Lodge, built as the farmhouse in 1830 is now the course manager's house. The agricultural heritage of the site is still visible as drainage ditches and mature tree lines still reflect 19th century field boundaries. Recently non-native trees have been removed. The site became an estate built in 1871 by property developer, Charles James Freake, called Fulwell Park. In 1904 the club was set up local enthusiasts with a course designed by John Henry Taylor and professionals were employed. In the Second World War the inner area was used for growing wheat and the remaining course was opened to the public. After the war Middlesex County Council reinstated the whole course. In 1981 the London Borough of Richmond upon Thames bought the freehold from the Greater London Council and in 1983 they sold some of it to Squires Garden Centre who then leased it back to the Golf Club. In 1975 it became a 9-hole public golf course, known as Twickenham Golf Course. Part of the site was used by Thamesians Rugby Football club which was transferred to David Lloyd Leisure. The 'Amida' sports facility dates from 2002 and a swimming pool added in 2011 

Wilcox Road
St.Michael and St.George built in 1913 and designed by JS Adkins. Its design stands between Gothic Revival and the Perpendicular manners in stock brick. Pulpit and lectern from St.Thomas Bethnal Green and there is a wooden reredos which is said to have come from Bavaria. It was closed for worship in 2000 and few records concerning the building of the church appear to survive.  In late 2014 at the invitation of the Bishop of Kensington and with the support of local churches, a small group from St Peter's Fulham were asked to re-establish a church community here,

Windmill Road
Wolsey House. This is on the corner with of Wolsey Road and is reputed to have been part of a farm owned by Cardinal Wolsey, and interior walls are thought to have been part of the original farm. Also maybe an underground passage from the basement to Hampton Court. Unlikely
12 Spiritualist church moved here between 1921 and 1928, and it became known as the Old Church. It had been a congregational chapel 1838 -1870, after later was a glove factory. It was formally registered as a spiritualist church in 1937 but had been used since the mid 1920s. The building and land were bought in 1957 by the church. In 2000 a new church was built at the rear. 
School. A boy’s school was built here in 1867 called Windmill School and later the Hampton Hill Junior School. The Vicar of St. James’s made a grant of land in Mill Lane for this. The Girls ‘School was in School Road
Teacher’s houses. Built at the junction with School Road in 1886.
Caretaker’s house, adjacent to the school in Windmill Road was converted into a community centre in 2009 as the Children’s Centre for Hampton Hill. It was renamed after Norman Jackson VC, a former parent of the school.


Sources
Abellio. Web site
Field. London Place Names
Fulwell Golf Club . Web site
Hampton Society. Web site
Historic England. Web site
London Borough of Richmond. Web site
London Encyclopaedia
London Railway Record
Middlesex Churches
Orton. The Birth and Growth of Hampton Hill’
Pevsner and Cherry. ‘South London
Stevenson, Middlesex
St James Church. Web site
Twickenham Fire Station. Web sit
Twickenham Local History Society. Web site
Twickenham Museum. Web site
Victoria History of the County of Middlesex
Walford. Village London

Tuesday, 4 June 2019

Swiss Cottage


Post to the west West Hampstead
Post to the north Frognal and Hampstead



Adelaide Road
Named after Queen Adelaide, wife of William IV. 
4a Swiss Cottage Leisure Centre. This is now managed by Better. The current centre dates from 2006 by Farrell’s. It was a Public Private Partnership between the Council, Barratt Homes and Dawnay Day. It has a fitness suite, a four-court sports hall; two squash courts; a climbing wall; two exercise studios and a café. There is a competition swimming pool and a teaching pool. A landscaped park was designed by Gustafson Porter with an all-weather football pitch and a doctors’ surgery. The previous centre was built 1963-4 by Basil Spence and intended as the part of a new Civic Centre.  It was built on the site of a previous congregational church. 
The UCL Academy. This is a secondary school, which opened in 2012 and sponsored by University College London .It is in a new purpose-built structure with rooms for cross-curricular general learning called Superstudios; science laboratories, and a science demonstration theatre, an engineering science suite, including workshops and labs.

Avenue Road
Swiss Cottage station.  The current station lies between Finchley Road and St.John’s Wood stations on the Jubilee Line. There were two stations here, the original opened in 1868 and Built by the Metropolitan and St.John's Wood Railway. It opened between Baker Street and Swiss Cottage and was thus the northern terminus, extended to West Hampstead in 1879.  In the 1920s the Metropolitan Railway demolished the street-level station building on the west side of Finchley Road, and replaced it with a shopping arcade. By the mid-1930s to ease this congestion, a new deep-level tunnel was built between Finchley Road station and the Bakerloo line tunnels at Baker Street and from 1939 some trains then transferred to the Bakerloo line. A new Bakerloo line station was then opened here, In 1940 Metropolitan line station closed. The station building was demolished in the 1960s and the current station is effectively the one built fir the Bakerloo trains now running as the Jubilee Line
School for the Blind. This was the London Society for Teaching the Blind to Read and for Training Them in Industrial Occupations. 1876-1930. it was on the corner with Eton Avenue, It originated in 1838 with Thomas Lucas established whose Lucas Type was a form of embossed text. In 1847 a purpose-built school in Swiss Cottage was completed. In the Second World War the evacuated to Buckinghamshire and in 1954 moved to Seal.
Sunnyside.  Large mansion which became St. Columba’s Hospital. The house was later demolished and it became the site of the Hampstead Theatre. The site is now an open space next to Swiss Cottage Library. 
St Columba's Hospital. This was Friedensheim Islington, in 1885.  It was to provide for dying men. In 1892 they moved to Sunnyside at a large mansion house and it was turned into a Home Hospital. In 1915its name was changed to St Columba's Hospital (Home of Peace for the Dying).  Terminally ill women were also admitted. In the Second World War the Hospital reserved a ward for casualties. It joined the NHS in 1948 and in 1954 moved to Spaniards Road.
Ye Olde Swiss Cottage. This is a chalet-style building, painted French mustard colour, with balconies, shutters and an Alpine look. There's a beer garden outside. It was built in 1840, known as the Swiss Tavern and was a coaching inn. When Finchley and Avenue Roads were built in 1926 they went around the pub. It’s a Sam Smiths house.  It is said to have originated as a toll keeper’s cottage for toll-gate which to nearby
88 Swiss Cottage Library. This had been remodelled by John McAslan & Partner on the basis of the Grade II building originally designed by Sir Basil Spence in 1962-64
Congregational church
. This was on the site of the library and called New College chapel. It was Founded 1853 and designed by J. T. Emmett, it had stained glass, by Alfred East.  It closed in 1941 and its stained glass is in a church at Hendon.
80 Swiss Cottage School. This is a maintained special school for learners with complex layered needs - Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulties, Severe Learning Difficulties, Moderate Learning Difficulties, Autistic Spectrum Disorders, Communication Disorders, Sensory Needs, Physical Needs, and/or Social, Emotional Mental Health Needs. It is also a Teaching School and a research centre. Current building opened in 2012 is by Penoyre & Prasad.
Hampstead Theatre Club. This was a small studio used as a theatre from 1963 to 2002 when it became the Hampstead Theatre in Eton Avenue.
John Keats and Franklin D. Roosevelt Schools.  Built 1959 and 1955-7 by the LCC job architects A. J. Lynne and W. Kretchmer for handicapped and delicate children, The Roosevelt School closed in 1993. And seems to have been replaced by Swiss Cottage School.
The Hampstead Figure by F.E. McWilliam, 1964. Abstract sculpture commissioned by Basil Spence for the green space near the library.  May since have been moved.
St Paul’s church. This was a parish church standing opposite Swiss Cottage School and dating from 1860 It. was closed and united with the parish of St Mary the Virgin, Primrose Hill in 1956.  The site is now housing.

Baynes Mews
Grand street with garages behind. 1871, also by Willett, street front of three storeys with arched windows, coloured brickwork, and a still genuine cobbled area

Belsize Avenue
This was the carriage way leading to Belsize House from the Great Road to Hampstead – now Haverstock Hill.

Belsize Lane
Winding character indicates that it is an earlier road than the surrounding 19th developments.
Belsize Farm. This was in the area of Belsize Place and fronted Belsize Lane from the 18th. As the lane here was on private land the farm maintained a toll gate to charge those passing through.
London Parcels Delivery Co 1890s, near Belsize Place
Air shafts. Behind houses at the entrance to Belsize Lane are two airshafts for the Belsize Tunnel below
120 Tavistock Clinic Centre. The Tavistock and Portman NHS Foundation Trust is a specialist mental health trust. It was originally the Tavistock institute of medical psychology founded in 1920 by Dr. Hugh Crichton-Miller. Its original location was in Tavistock Square. From the start in order to offer free treatment the clinic needed to generate income by providing training to clinical professionals.  In 1948 it became a leading clinic within the newly created NHS and remains extremely influential. In 1994 it joined with the Portman Clinic to become the Tavistock and Portman NHS Trust.
The Tavistock Centre is on the site of the Marie Curie Hospital which fronted onto Fitzjohns Avenue. This replaced a temporary wooden church which was replaced by Holy Trinity in Finchley Road.
Statue of Sigmund Freud. This is on the corner with Fitzjohns Avenue but was originally outside the Basil Spence Leisure Centre where it was unveiled 1970 by five of Freud’s grandchildren.  It was cast in plaster in Vienna by Oscar Nemon and through an international appeal to psycho analysts the money was raised for a bronze.

Belsize Park
Belsize House. Belsize was a sub manor recorded in the early 14th and Belsize House is mentioned in 1496. Means Be-assis beautifully sited The House stood at a point somewhere between the present day St Peters church and the junction of Belsize Park and Belsize Park Gardens. As an Elizabethan mansion it was owned by the Waad family who held various Crown offices, and were implicated in the Overbury scandal.  In the Civil War they were Royalists and the house was occupied by Cromwell's men.  The house was rebuilt in 1663 in the restoration style. From 1720 it became pleasure garden.  With concerts, dancing, fishing, hunting and racing but in 1722 the magistrates tried to prevent unlawful gaming and rioting.  The house was rebuilt again in 1746 and 1812. It was demolished in 1853.
69 Woodcote. The Hill Junior School. This is an upmarket ‘prep’ school. The school has been on various sites in the area but has had this building since 1916.
St.Peter’s Church. Built 1858-9 by W. Mumford in ragstone with chancel and tower-porch added by J.P. St Aubyn around 1875. It stands in a garden area and the church today runs an active musical arts programme.

Belsize Square
Belsize Square Synagogue. Built in 1958 by H. W. Reifenberg, incorporating the 1915 vicarage of the neighbouring St Peter's Church, It is an independent synagogue – neither orthodox nor reform. It derives from continental Liberal Judaism, and was founded in 1939 by refugees mainly from Germany. Services are mainly conducted in Hebrew, and its music and which are live streamed.

Belsize Terrace
This is an open space with shops surrounding tree and seating. When the estate was built developer, Willett, gave up some land to form a village green here.

Broadhurst Gardens
This area was heavily bombed in the Second World War and replacement housing, including Broadhurst Close, must reflect this.
Broadhurst Gardens Play Area. This was once called Broadhurst Copse. It appears to be a Camden Council playground on old railway land alongside the Great Central Railway line and its temporary terminus at Canfield Place.

Buckland Crescent
18 The Hall School. This upmarket ‘prep’ school originated as Belsize School, founded here in 1881.
Canfield Gardens
10a Hampstead Shtiebel. Part of the South Hampstead Synagogue
Canfield/Greencroft Open Space. This lies between Canfield and Greencroft Gardens and is an open space with trees and wildlife habitat. It includes a community allotment for vegetables and herbs.

Canfield Place
Terminus. This was the original terminus of the Great Central railway. From 1894 the Great Central Railway, originally the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincoln Railway, ran on Metropolitan tracks from Quainton Road to Canfield Road which became the terminus.
Tunnel. The railway ran through tunnels from Canfield Place in the ‘Hampstead Tunnel’ to Marylebone from 1899. This had two double track tunnels side by side, but only one was ever used. The portal of the second tunnel exists at Canfield Road but after a few yards it narrows and the end is bricked up.
Warehouses. Eleven stables were built in Canfield Place, backing on Finchley Road station, in 1884-5 by Ernest Estcourt and James Dixon,
Electric substation, this is at the end of the road on railway property
Canfield Place Signal box. This stood beyond the sub-station.

College Crescent
North court. This house had been built in 1880 for the businessman Samuel Palmer, of Huntley & Palmer Biscuits. He died in 1903, having given the house to a hospital charity.
20, Children's Hospital. The Home for Incurable Children opened in 1875 in Maida Vale. In 1904 it moved to Northcourt.  In 1919 the name changed to the Northcourt Hospital for Sick Children because more conditions were treatable. In 1928 it became the Hampstead Hospital for Children and then the Children's Hospital, Hampstead. It closed at the beginning of the Second World War and the building was requisitioned. After the War it was used as the Royal Free Hospital's Preliminary Training School for nurses and later used as a Nurses' Home. It was sold in 1995.  In 2004, it was converted into a budget hotel for back packers called Palmers Lodge
Palmer Memorial Drinking Fountain. Presented in memory of Samuel Palmer of North Court, Hampstead by his widow and family through the Metropolitan Drinking Fountain and Cattle Trough Association. 1904 This is Palmer of Huntley and Palmer's biscuits,
New College of Independent Dissenters. this institution trained ministers and opened in 1851 in a Tudor style building designed by J. T. Emmett, It was an amalgamation of three dissenting academies., It had a distinguished staff and students could study for London University degrees. It eventually became part of the theology department of London University and moved to a building in Finchley Road
Northways. For five years during the Second World War Northway’s, flats at the junction with Finchley Road, was requisitioned by the Government, and became the headquarters of Britain's submarine service.  I 1940 the Navy headed by Admiral Sir Max Horton, planned the offensive off the Norwegian coast and in the Mediterranean.  The basement was converted into an emergency operations centre, but tenants of the flats above remained. In 1945, the submarine service returned to Gosport

Compayne Gardens
Compayne Open Space, this lies between Compayne and Canfield Gardens. There is a hard surfaced tennis court area, an open grassed area with a few trees and a community garden. A number of trees and shrubs have been planted along with climbing species on trellises.

Crossfield Road
The Hall School. Posh ‘prep’school.  They are on three sites around the area and moved to this one before 1909.

Eton Avenue
54 Hampstead Chest Clinic. In the 1950s-60 this was a tuberculosis clinic.
Hampstead Theatre.  Glass building with environmentally ok auditorium. Built by Bennett Associates 2003. It began as the Hampstead Theatre Club’ in Holly Bush Vale. In 1962 they moved to a studio in Swiss Cottage and in 2003, the new 325-seat Hampstead Theatre was built. As well as the main auditorium there is a studio theatre
64 Embassy Theatre, The Embassy Theatre was opened as a repertory company in 1928 in what had been the Hampstead Conservatoire of Music. The theatre was sold to the Royal Central School of Speech and Drama in 1956 that remain there. It is now a branch of London University. There has been a new build project in the early 21st for rehearsal and performance spaces.
Hampstead Conservatoire of Music. This was a private college for music and the arts. The building had been the Eton Avenue Hall, rebuilt in 1890 with a large Willis pipe organ – this organ was transferred to St Peter's Church in Brighton in 1910.   In 1928 the building was converted into the Embassy Theatre.

Fairfax Place
Fairfax Yard. Fairfax National Gauge Factory. This was opened: in 1917 by the Ministry of Munitions. It was managed by the Wolsey Motor Co. and operated by German Prisoners of War
44 Stereoscopic Displays. Registered as luminising works using radium.

Fairfax Road
Britannia Pub. Dated from the 1860s but rebuilt on a slightly different site in the 1960s.  Now a supermarket.

Fairhazel Gardens
Fairhazel Open Space is between Fairhazel and Compayne Gardens. It is open space with perimeter trees.
8 Camden’s Hub for mental health well being. This is an old school building, also once used as a Civil Defence centre
All Souls Church of England School. This was founded in 1860 in a hay loft in Victoria Mews. It provided instruction for the poor and children of omnibus drivers and similar.   The site in Fairhazel Gardens was turned into a new school in 1871 but lack of space prevented expansion. It was closed by 1951 as part of London County Council’s post-war plans

Finchley Road 
This was built as an additional by-pass to the old road north through Hampstead. Built through the demesne of Frognal this was laid out as a turnpike road by Colonel Eyre, owner of the Eyre Estate. It is crossed by the Westbourne, and the Kilburn streams - Excavations prove that this was the furthest point south which ice age glaciers reached.  ..
Rail tunnel for the Midland Railway runs underneath the road, built by W.H. Barlow, 1865-7 and duplicated in the 1880s. It is a mile long.
Finchley Road Station. This opened in 1868, Built by the Midland Railway.  It was called ‘Finchley Road and St.John’s Wood’.  It closed in 1927 closed.
263 Micnora Leather goods factory. This was here in the 1940s and early 1950s.
Finchley Road Station.  Opened in 1879 it lies between Wembley Park and Baker Street on the Metropolitan Line and between West Hampstead and Swiss Cottage on the Jubilee Line. It was originally built by the Metropolitan District Railway and stands on the corner of Finchley Road and Canfield Gardens. In 1884 the name was changed to ‘Finchley Road (South Hampstead)’ and in 1914 it was rebuilt with the entrance part of a parade of shops. In 1939 the Bakerloo Line was extended here from Baker Street. The station was rebuilt with two island platforms - Metropolitan trains using outer tracks and Bakerloo trains the inner.   In 1979 the Bakerloo line trains became Jubilee Line
Car Park. In 1964 an automatic barrier - the first ever - was installed in the car park here.
158 The Frognal Bijou Picture Palace. This opened in 1910 as a purpose built cinema. G is in white stone, with two bay windows on the first floor level. By 1914, it had been re-named Frognal Picture Palace. In 1920/1921, it was re-named Odette’s Picture House, then later Arcadia Cinema and by 1924, it was the Casino Picture Theatre. Around 1930 it was converted to ‘talkies’, and renamed New Frognal Kinema.  It was closed in 1931. The building is new in use as a shop.
The Lighthouse. This was Holy Trinity Church.  It was originally built in 1871, to replace a temporary wooden church in Belsize Lane and the foundation stone as laid by the philanthropist Earl of Shaftesbury. It was expensive, designed by Henry Legg with deep concrete foundations under the steeple because of the Metropolitan Railway below.  In 1968 a private parliamentary bill allowed demolition of the church and a smaller one built in its place. This was built 1978 by Biscoe & St Lon in brick. There are now plans to rebuild again as part of the Lighthouse project.
Hampstead Ice skating rink. This opened in 1880 and was refused a music and dancing licence. In 1882 it was rebuilt as a clubhouse with a rink behind and it also provided lawn tennis, since it was replaced in 1887 by the municipal baths.
199 Waitrose. This was the John Barnes department store which opened in 1900. The present building was built in the 1930s by T.P.Bennett and Son and was purchased by the John Lewis partnership in 1940.
Hampstead Baths. These replaced the skating rink. The Hampstead vestry opened its own baths in Finchley Road, opposite the North Star, in 1888 in a building designed by A. W. S. Cooper and Henry Spalding. There were two swimming baths for men, one for women, and 24 private baths; washhouses were not required in that neighbourhood.  A second bath for women was added in 1891. In 1910 a Roller Skating Pavilion was opened. After the Swiss Cottage Leisure centre was opened in 1963 The Finchley Road building was used as a warehouse was burnt down in 1972 and replaced by a new building for Woolworths. It is now an Iceland supermarket
104 The North Star. This was built in 1850 as one of the first buildings to grace the new Finchley Road. It was purpose built as a pub, with embossed stars on the pillar supports. Originally there was a stone balustrade and arch at roof level which were removed as unsafe. A cast-iron balcony remains. It was a tram terminus in the 1920's. In the 1930 the Bakerloo Line (now the Jubilee) was built and the Metropolitan line was diverted, lies three feet below the cellar floor.
New College Parade. This parade of shops lies on and to the north of the site of New College and behind the site of the Children’s Hospital. In the early 19th it was the site of Abbey Farm lodge, an ‘Elizabethan residence’, built in the 1840s.
96 Odeon Cinema. This was one of the original cinemas in the Oscar Deutsch chain of Odeon Theatres Ltd which opened in 1937. It was the only original Odeon to be equipped with a theatre organ, a Compton 3Manual/8Ranks (with Melotone & Grand Piano) and illuminated console. The exterior was plain with a series of seven tall windows. This interior was ‘modernised’ in 1960 and from 1973 the Odeon it was a triple screen cinema. It was closed in 2011, for a complete modernisation with an IMAX auditorium, new seats and screens. It now has 5 screens, 4 f these are Odeon Luxe cinemas and the IMAX screen has recliner seats.

Fitzjohns Avenue
Built through the lands of the Maryon Wilsons following what was originally a track from St. John’s Wood to Hampstead via the Shepherd’s Well.  Spencer Maryon Wilson commissioned an estate plan and named roads after their estate in Great Canfield.
1 Edinburgh House. Army Reserve Centre. Two intelligence corps are currently based here.
2 Marie Curie Hospital for Cancer and Allied Diseases. Founded for the "radiological treatment of women suffering from cancer and allied diseases", the hospital opened in 1929.  Funds had been raised through a public appeal to buy 2 Fitzjohn's Avenue.  The 30-bed hospital was staffed entirely by women.  Marie Curie was of course the scientist who discovered radium. An Out-Patients Department was opened and soon after bought the adjoining building, No. 4 in 1933.  In 937 a new building for research laboratories - the Helen Chambers Laboratories - and a Nurses' Home were opened here. In 1938 it was renamed the Marie Curie Hospital for Cancer and Allied Diseases. At the outbreak of Second World War the radium was stored in the vaults of the Middlesex Hospital and the patients were transferred to country hospitals. In 1944 the buildings, except for the new wing and the shelter, were totally destroyed by a high explosive bomb, fortunately with no casualties. Radium, stored in steel cylinders, was buried beneath the building and not recovered for almost three weeks.  The hospital had an annexe at no 66 and the hospital continued there.  In 1965 it moved to Mount Vernon and it closed in 1967.  The site is now largely taken up with the Tavistock Centre fronting onto Belsize Lane.
3 Hyme House. This was the home of society portrait painter Philip de László.  The house was built in 1886; and de Laszlo and his wife, Lucy Guinness lived there 1921 - 1937.  In 1938 the Sisters of Mercy of the Holy Cross, took over this house and also 5-7 and turned it into a girls' school, which was here until 1985. It has since been a hotel and a private house, de Lazlo House
8 Portman Clinic. This is adjacent to the Tavistock Centre. The Portman Clinic was founded in 1931 with clinical services for people with problems from delinquent, criminal, or violent behaviour. Its early vice-presidents included Sigmund Freud, Carl Jung, Havelock Ellis and HG Wells. The Portman and Tavistock Clinics joined forces in 1994 to become the Tavistock and Portman NHS Trust.

Goldhurst Terrace
Maryon Wilson Green Triangle and Goldhurst Open Space lie to the rear of Fairhazel Gardens and Goldhurst Terrace. It is a community garden with sycamore woodland and ivy ground cover. There is an amenity area, an herb garden beds and a shrubbery. There is a pond has and the hedging uses native species.

Harben Road
Playground. On the north east side of the road on the estate
Air shaft. This is for the railway below and is sited on the edge of the play area.  The railway is the line into Marylebone from Canfield Place.
Hampstead School of Golf, had a sports ground on the north east side of the road in the 1930s.

Hillgrove Road
St John's Wood Fire Station. This was on part of the site of Regency Lodge. 1890s-1900s.

Loudon Road
South Hampstead Station. Opened in 1879 this lies Between Kilburn High Road and Euston on the London Overground Line to Euston . It was built by the London North West Railway and called Loudon Road station" the name changing in 1922. The original LNWR street building was replaced by one in the 1960s and a new station footbridge was constructed.

Maresfield Gardens
St. Thomas More, Roman Catholic Church built 1968-9 by Gerard Goalen. It has an elliptical plan. It is the third church on this site since 1938 when a temporary church was installed here. This was replaced in 1953 and again in 1968
20 Freud Museum.  Plaque to Sigmund Freud.  Freud only lived here a short while having fled from Vienna in 1938, his daughter Anna stay here until her death in 1982. It was her wish that the house be converted to a museum. It was opened in 1986.
South Hampstead Girls High School. The school was founded in 1876, the ninth school established by the Girls' Public Day School Trust, as the St John's Wood School. In 1887 the name changed to South Hampstead High School; and moved to a purpose-built site in Maresfield Gardens. Since the the school has expanded and new buildings added.
Holy Trinity school. This was built for Trinity Church on a site donated by the Maryon Wilsons. The school continues as a local primary school

Netherhall Gardens
4 this was once the Vicarage for Holy Trinity Church
6 British College of Osteopathic Medicine. This was founded as the British College of Naturopathy in 1936 by Stanley Leif. It has been here since 1953. It is named after Hector Frazer, who gave it to the British Naturopathic & Osteopathic Association. It housed lecture rooms, accommodation and a Clinic with treatment rooms. The House dated from 1883, designed by Batterbury and Huxley and commissioned by Thomas Davidson, whose paintings are in the Greenwich Maritime Museum. Since 1954 there have been three extensions.
8 North Bridge House. Private nursery.
10 Beatrice & Sydney Webb - home of the social scientists and political reformers with blue plaques.
5 & 12 South Hampstead High School.  Junior Department.

Winchester Road
21 The Winchester hotel. Dating from the 1890s it closed around 1970 to become the Winchester Project, for local youth.
St. Paul Church of England. Primary School, They moved to a purpose build school on a sire leased by Eton Coll. It became voluntary aided Church of England primary school in 1951. The building closed in 1972 and the school moved elsewhere.
St. John's Wood High School was opened by Girls' Public Day School Trust in 1876 in a house here, in 1882, they moved to a new building in Maresfield Gardens.

Sources
Acorn Archive, Web site
AIM. Web site
Barton, Lost Rivers of London
Better. Web site
Blue Plaque Guide
British History Online. Camden. Web site
Camden History Review
Clarke. In our Grandmother’s Footsteps
Clunn. The Face of London
Darke. The Monument Guide
Day. London Underground
Field. London Place names
GLC home sweet home
Hampstead Synagogue. Web site
Headley & Meulenkamp. Follies
Lighthouse. Web site
London Borough of Camden. Web site
London Encyclopaedia
Lost Hospitals of London. Web site
Lucas. London
O’Connor. Forgotten Stations
Pevsner and Cherry.  London North
Portman and Tavistock NHS Trust. Web site
Records of the Chelsea Speleological Society
Robbins. North London Railway
Summerson. Georgian London
Symonds. Behind Blue Plaques
Tavistock Centre. Web site
The Underground Map. Web site
Trench & Hillman. London Under London
Walford.  Hampstead to the Lea